HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel the Globe Center Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 60%

Location 97%

Safety 74%

Staff 64%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card or debit card . Tourist tax is already included in the price

For group booking with more than 20 persons,we will have to charge total amount of the first night's accommodation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 60%

Location 97%

Safety 74%

Staff 64%

Value 68%

Showing 1-10 of 110 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 May 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: It is an excellent location with nice view from the windows.

Disliked: The inside of the property is quite old-in need of a refurbishment. There were no lockers and the light in the shower-toilet was so lowlight that you could barely see when the door was close.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: the location

Disliked: the 5% fee for using your card to pay for the room! i ended up paying another 40 euros when checking in. This should be mentioned when you are booking.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Age Range:
18-24

Liked: The bathrooms. I have never seen such a clean and tidy bathrooms-showers in a hostel.

Disliked: The room temperature. In the nights it was so hot inside the room (10 guests living) that we had to open the windows (small windows) to refresh the air. That could be a big problem in summer. Also, the beds were quite small and hard.

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: Only the location.

Disliked: Broken bed, Dirty room,Tight toilet,Walk up the stairs

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location and friendly staff. Good all round service

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very close and convenient. Perfect location

Disliked: If the kitchen could open before 9am that would be great

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: smoking room/sports bar was really good, staff were helpful, nailed the basics and the location is brilliant

Disliked: really bare rooms, no tv, for 40 euros a night could have got a lot more for our money

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location was excellent. Room was clean and tidy. A locker available for each bed. Bathroom was clean. Bedding was clean. We paid £48 per person for 2 midweek nights. This is not a 5* place it is a hostel in the red light district. From our experience the bad reviews are people who expect too much for a low cost bed. Reception and bar staff could have been friendlier but overall had no real issues with the hostel.

Disliked: Staff could have been friendlier.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The happy hour deal was pretty good.

Disliked: A bit danky. The atmosphere was very good.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is amazing.

Disliked: My sheets bad stains on them, the bathroom door inside my 8 person dorm room did not lock. There were only 4 lockers for 8 people in the room, so it was first come first serve. I didn't really feel super safe as it wasn't really that secure. I mean it was generally fine, but I have felt much much more secure in a hostel before. There is a bar down at the bottom that feels kind of seedy to be honest, not somewhere I actually want to hang out, and I would be kind of afraid that someone who's at the bar not staying at the hostel would be able to slip in through the doorway to the hostel area (which is literally right off the bar room). The floors in the room really needed to be vacuumed there were like crumbs or something on the floor. There is no kitchen in this place which I don't like. This place is definitely adequate for a place to stay for 1 or 2 nights, but don't expect to really enjoy yourself.

Check Availability