HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel The Globe

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012EH

70.4% Overall Rating

768 out of 1233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2014)

Breeanna Cave thinks…

"I loved this hostel! We stayed in a "16 person" dorm the first night and it was actually 8-bed dorms split into two rooms which was great. The second night was a private and the bathroom was nicer…"

Read all Hostel The Globe reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card. Tourist tax is already included in the price

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel The Globe Centre
34.55 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.5% 192 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
41.47 USD

Apartment 92.0% 32 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
69.11 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.4% 186 reviews
Hotel De Mallemoolen
44.23 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.8% 661 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
62.20 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
82.93 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
The Amber Apartment
96.75 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
The Greenhouse effect
62.20 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.3% 390 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.4%

Overall Rating

768 out of 1233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel The Globe'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
64.8%
Value
68.0%
Safety
68.0%
Refine your results Showing 731 of 856 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Very dirty. Bathrooms and rooms were not clean. Carpet in halls were stained everywhere. Only a few outlets in room for 8 people. Didn't get wifi above the main floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Breeanna Cave

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Breeanna would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel! We stayed in a "16 person" dorm the first night and it was actually 8-bed dorms split into two rooms which was great. The second night was a private and the bathroom was nicer than some of the bathrooms I have had in my own home. There were lockers for your stuff in the dorms but you needed your own locks. The staff was super friendly and were willing to give tips and directions to everywhere. The security was very strict on letting people up into the rooms which made me feel extremely secure. The happy hour 2 beers for 5 euros was awesome and the smoking room could use some couches but overall served its purpose. Last but not least, the location is absolutely amazing. Right in the heart of red light, smoke shops, and next to the train station. Would 100% go back.

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 March 2014

Liked: Quiet.

Disliked: Not very clean 8 bed-bunkers cramped in a small room Not at all suitable for late night arrivals

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kayleigh Buswell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

04 March 2014 Kayleigh would recommend this property

Liked: Very central, close to everything. Safe, clean. Proably the nicest hotel I've stayed in amsterdam so far.

Disliked: It was very noisy at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kate yerbury

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2014 kate would recommend this property

Liked: location is brilliant.

Disliked: The size of the showers. There really isn't any space for your clothes to stay dry while showering.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: staff was EXTREMELY RUDE and unhelful

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms and beds were warm and clean. There was not too much noise and the staff will charge your phone for you behind the counter. The door upstairs is locked to prevent any guy off the street from walking up to the dorms.

Disliked: Wifi is free but only available in the bar and smoking area, not in any of the rooms. In my room, there were no lockable lockers so I had use a locker in the corridor on the floor below. When I wanted breakfast at about 9:15am, the kitchen as it was supposed to be and after waiting for 15 mins I gave up and went somewhere else.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Antonio Goncalves

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: no common areas; just a bar and a smokers area.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa

19 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was really near to the center. just 3 minutes from the red light district.

Disliked: Basically, the room and the ppl in it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joe Allen-Baines

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 December 2013 Joe would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location literally 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam central station!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antony Lewis

With friends / other travellers

City break

20 November 2013 Antony would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Friendliness of staff. Facilities - bar, food, pool, smoking room.

Disliked: Nothing.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: staff were very rude, it also seemed fairly easy to get through the door into the hostel from the bar. our room door had no lock on it either. the property also appears to have bedbugs.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cost, atmosphere.

Disliked: Rooms could have been cleaner and in better shape.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Liliana Martinns

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2013 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: it was everything so close to the hostel, central station, red light, chinatown, Damstraat everything was just 5 to 10min walk from the hostel. The room was lovely 3 beds all clean and confortable, bathroom seem new, hot water, showr gel, shampoo, mirror. The hostel had a smoking area and bar downstairs, really good. I enjoyed a lot my staying at the globe.

Disliked: room window was bit loose but thats not even enough to make me dislike the hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Gary Brown

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 October 2013 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, really suited a lads weekend in Amsterdam with the smoker room and late night bar.

Disliked: Could do with a revamp but it is a hostel after all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Clean rooms, nice bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Schacher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, excellent location, quiet hostel. Great for a night or two, or if you're just passing through. Reasonably priced

Disliked: No atmosphere what so ever. Security of the hostel could be improved as there are no lockers in the rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived much earlier than check in time and were allowed to leave our backpacks so that we didn't have to traipse around Amsterdam with them on, which was lovely. We were happily surprised at how clean the bathroom areas were, as well as the dorms! Although there's no common room (which is a shame), there is a bar to relax in and a nice outdoor seating area (both of which have free wifi). It is in a great location, really close to everything, but set slightly away from too much hustle and bustle - we had a great time at this hostel and I would recommend it to others!

Disliked: Although we definitely enjoyed our stay at the globe, looking back there are quite a few facilities which they were lacking. At times the bar staff refused to fill water bottles and although the taps in the bathrooms were drinking water, our bottles didn't fit into the sinks! The staff could've been more welcoming, and more helpful. There were very few plugs in the dorms, and there were no locks on the dorm doors - so anyone could walk in. Despite this, I did feel completely safe staying here, and there were lockers available in the rooms - but remember to bring your own padlock!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Fry

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel, great size locker for your belongings, helpful staff and great vibes in the bar downstairs.

Disliked: The bathroom could have been a bit bigger with more showers and toilets, however, it was manageable and was very clean and modern.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jessica Bressan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013

Liked: Nothing! I stayed in this hostel with a friend as a first stop on our trip around Europe and it was not the warm welcome we were hoping for. The reception is awful as it is just a pub and there's no common room where we could go and relax. We were REFUSED a glass of water at the bar and told not to have our own drinks (a bottle of water that was in my bag) in the hostel. For a room that can bed 20 people there was only 2, maybe 3 sockets and it was horribly uncomfortable. The heat was unbearable and it was close to impossible to sleep most of the time. The beds also had bed bugs in them which left me with horrible bites all over my body and a trip to the doctor's office! The staff were disgracefully rude (exception of one kind bar man and one of the women on reception) and made us feel so unwelcome. I never once felt safe here either as there were no locks on the doors to the rooms and a lot of the lockers were broken. The showers smelled and were covered in mold. The list goes on and on but this is just the icing on the layered cake of misery that is The Globe. The only upside to the hostel is the location and it's cheapness.

Disliked: I think I made my point.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kee Sen Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Good location but noisy.

Disliked: Not so friendly staff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

bruno george teixeira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Receptionists and the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, set away from the hustle and bustle but only round the corner. Rembrandt is within walking distance too. Bathrooms were clean with good showers. Also has a nice outdoor seating area.

Disliked: Staff were very pushy and not very polite when asking for proof of ID and room number. Was made to feel slightly unwelcome. Also, one day it hit over 30C and the bar man/manager refused to refill a single, small water bottle. Customer service exists in no form here!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Its a pub, no common area, no kitchen