We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel The Globe

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012EH

74.1% Overall Rating

816 out of 1295 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/02/2015)

"Bar downstairs is open until late! you can drink & smoke down there. everything is clean the shower and toilet facilities are very good"

Read all Hostel The Globe reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card or debit card . Tourist tax is already included in the price For group booking with more than 20 persons,we will have to charge total amount of the first night's accommodation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel The Globe Centre
23.50 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.9% 200 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
33.57 USD

Hostel 92.0% 34 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
55.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 193 reviews
Hotel De Mallemoolen
29.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.5% 680 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
24.25 USD

Hostel 75.2% 3 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
67.14 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 7 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
50.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
France Hotel
39.17 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.9% 214 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.1%

Overall Rating

816 out of 1295 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel The Globe'

Atmosphere
67.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
61.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 770 of 911 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar downstairs is open until late! you can drink & smoke down there. everything is clean the shower and toilet facilities are very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the bathroom was very nice.

Disliked: The service was not very friendly.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great sports bar under the hostel + discount on food

Disliked: Not a very social atmosphere focussed on travellers (although it is a nice bar).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte walton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of the town, easy to get to from train station and great directions included in booking. Confirmation. Very clean and nice simple facilities, good atmosphere and liked how late smoking area and bae were open for guests

Disliked: charlotte left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christian Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. Right in the centre within 2 Minutes of everything.

Disliked: The staff were rude at the bar and found ways out you getting the offered deal at happy hour.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, good quality rooms and friendly, helpful staff. Perfect for a group of young people on a short break.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Charlie Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2014 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: 20% off food, smoking/sports room, private dorms and attention to security

Disliked: Sometimes staff could be a bit too precautious about who they let to the rooms, maybe more comfortable seating? Very small bathroom in private dorm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean rooms and comfortable mattresses. Excellent location will definently stay again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

claire delargy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014

Liked: ...

Disliked: Dirty, smelly, loud, our shower was clogged, there was a drain problem in the room next to ours and water leaked through the wall into our room and covered the entire floor. No lockers for our things. The bar downstairs was grimy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014

Liked: Location is really good. You get what you pay for. The bathroom was nicer than we were expecting

Disliked: We went for the 18 bed dorm and we were happy we did because the bar was pretty dead and expensive. Instead we spoke to people from our room. Only one of the big lockers for bags actually worked. I lost /someone took a bag with my Ipod and other expensive stuff and the reception staff were quite unhelpful in terms of letting me know if it was found.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2014

Liked: Basic, clean. Don't look for frills or customer service.

Disliked: The whole set up is rather petty. If they can do something for you without cost, they won't.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice atmosphere

Disliked: It was pretty basic

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Boden

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the location was amazing! right in the middle of the red light district and all the main things to do in Amsterdam. Had good facilities and the 18 person room was very large and regularly cleaned.

Disliked: you had to show the staff your card to get in rather than an electronic system so if they were busy you could be waiting a while. Also the wifi on the third floor didn't extent to the room so you ended up sitting on the stairs instead.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Connor Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 August 2014 Connor would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I had everything we needed at the hostel.

Disliked: I did not dislike anything in particular about the hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Arnould

Alone

City break

11 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice bar

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: young female receptionist (asian) luggage room isnt even a room.. just a open space between the bar door and stairs to the hotel rooms

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lot cleaner than I expected, but I guess my expectations were low. The bathrooms are decent and the room was incredibly warm during the summer. We had the window open, but that had little effect. I would not use the thick blankets, they seemed unclean. They have a good happy hour deal, a smoking room, and a pool table, so it's very lively. Overall I would say that I had a good experience and I would stay again. The location really is fantastic.

Disliked: If you need a place to stay in Europe, try couch surfing. I wish I knew about it beforehand. Also people say that hotels are actually cheaper than hostels so check those out too.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chantal Carius Estrada

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Chantal would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, the staff was really helpful and the room is not bad.

Disliked: The lockers at room are really small, there is no WiFi at rooms, and it is difficult to climb up to the bed when you are a small person because there are no stairs from the floor to the second bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location- very central as close to all transport links and tourist attractions

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms and rooms got very hot at night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Cuddy

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: room was clean and tidy, as was the en suite, with soap and shower gel provided. room was basic, but that was all we needed. The bar downstairs was useful and did a good breakfast. a few weird locals but thats amdam for you! great location near the red light district with bars and coffee shops, cant complain really.

Disliked: no major dislikes, slightly run down but we spent very little time at the hostel (apart from the bar), so if you are looking for a place to crash, this does the job!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked: - Happy hour - The rooms were nice, better than I expected from a hostel at the time. - The staff were friendly - They have a smoking room

Disliked: Disliked: - the manager scared me a little - some of the drinks in the bar are a little overpriced.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tess Wright

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Tess would recommend this property

Liked: It has a bar downstairs which looked pretty nice and reasonably priced with a smoking area. It's in a great location 5 mins from Centraal station, and once I got my bearings I could walk anywhere in central Amsterdam, it's only a 10-15 min walk from Dam Square in the centre. It felt very safe- you have to show a card at the desk to be buzzed in to the upstairs where the rooms are, and then swipe your key card to enter your room. My room had about 6 bunk beds in it and everyone I spoke to was friendly! Showers/toilet facilities all clean. They give you a sheet and blanket to sleep under, bring a towel with you. I would recommend this hostel, it's fairly cheap and has everything you need!

Disliked: Nothing, it was a fine hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's right on red light district!

Disliked: Just basic , hard to find as not well signed