We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel The Globe

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012EH

72.6% Overall Rating

820 out of 1304 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2015)

Adam Lunn thinks…

"Just 10 mins from the station very easy to find and excellent location direct in the Red Light District. We stayed in a private 5 bed dorm with shower and toilet, the room was quite large and clean…"

Read all Hostel The Globe reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card or debit card . Tourist tax is already included in the price For group booking with more than 20 persons,we will have to charge total amount of the first night's accommodation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel The Globe Centre
26.96 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.6% 201 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
43.13 USD

Hostel 92.0% 34 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
57.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 193 reviews
Hotel De Mallemoolen
38.82 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.0% 683 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
44.48 USD

Hostel 75.7% 4 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
64.70 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 8 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
48.52 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews
France Hotel
37.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.9% 214 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.6%

Overall Rating

820 out of 1304 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel The Globe'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
61.6%
Value
72.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 775 of 920 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Simon Sarkisian

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2015

Liked: That it is located on top of a bar

Disliked: MANY things. Staff is pretty unfriendly and does not inform you of what they offer/rules. You just learn as you go. Rooms are pretty basic. If people in your room take up the lockers then you're forced to use ones in the hallway. There are only 2 plugs in each room and they are located on one wall, so dont bank on charging anything unless you luck out with the 1 bed next to BOTH PLUGS. Also, the bar has wifi but the rooms do not. Would not recommend anyone staying here because the prices of the rooms are too high for what they offer.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ruth Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: There are no cooking facilities, and the only social space is the bar downstairs which you can't eat your own food in so that made eating quite expensive. The rooms get extremely hot at night particularly on the top bunks. Lack of powerpoints in the hostel as well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Lunn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Just 10 mins from the station very easy to find and excellent location direct in the Red Light District. We stayed in a private 5 bed dorm with shower and toilet, the room was quite large and clean with 5 single beds. The bar and food was excellent and you get a discount on the food if you stay there. Great if staying in large groups of friends and want to be close to the centre.

Disliked: The bar staff were really friendly but the women who were running the hostel didn't seem very happy and welcoming .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fredrik Persson

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second time staying in this hostel. It has a very good location just 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam central station and on the edge of the red light district.

Disliked: Fredrik left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Grateful for the shower. Much better than most of the hostels I've been.

Disliked: Room was a bit dusty under the beds, and I don't believe the shower/toilet was cleaned in the four nights I was there. Sharing it with 5 other people, it needed it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar downstairs is open until late! you can drink & smoke down there. everything is clean the shower and toilet facilities are very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the bathroom was very nice.

Disliked: The service was not very friendly.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great sports bar under the hostel + discount on food

Disliked: Not a very social atmosphere focussed on travellers (although it is a nice bar).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte walton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of the town, easy to get to from train station and great directions included in booking. Confirmation. Very clean and nice simple facilities, good atmosphere and liked how late smoking area and bae were open for guests

Disliked: charlotte left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christian Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. Right in the centre within 2 Minutes of everything.

Disliked: The staff were rude at the bar and found ways out you getting the offered deal at happy hour.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, good quality rooms and friendly, helpful staff. Perfect for a group of young people on a short break.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Charlie Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2014 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: 20% off food, smoking/sports room, private dorms and attention to security

Disliked: Sometimes staff could be a bit too precautious about who they let to the rooms, maybe more comfortable seating? Very small bathroom in private dorm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean rooms and comfortable mattresses. Excellent location will definently stay again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

claire delargy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014

Liked: ...

Disliked: Dirty, smelly, loud, our shower was clogged, there was a drain problem in the room next to ours and water leaked through the wall into our room and covered the entire floor. No lockers for our things. The bar downstairs was grimy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014

Liked: Location is really good. You get what you pay for. The bathroom was nicer than we were expecting

Disliked: We went for the 18 bed dorm and we were happy we did because the bar was pretty dead and expensive. Instead we spoke to people from our room. Only one of the big lockers for bags actually worked. I lost /someone took a bag with my Ipod and other expensive stuff and the reception staff were quite unhelpful in terms of letting me know if it was found.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2014

Liked: Basic, clean. Don't look for frills or customer service.

Disliked: The whole set up is rather petty. If they can do something for you without cost, they won't.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice atmosphere

Disliked: It was pretty basic

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Boden

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the location was amazing! right in the middle of the red light district and all the main things to do in Amsterdam. Had good facilities and the 18 person room was very large and regularly cleaned.

Disliked: you had to show the staff your card to get in rather than an electronic system so if they were busy you could be waiting a while. Also the wifi on the third floor didn't extent to the room so you ended up sitting on the stairs instead.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Connor Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 August 2014 Connor would recommend this property

Liked: My friends and I had everything we needed at the hostel.

Disliked: I did not dislike anything in particular about the hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Arnould

Alone

City break

11 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice bar

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: young female receptionist (asian) luggage room isnt even a room.. just a open space between the bar door and stairs to the hotel rooms

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lot cleaner than I expected, but I guess my expectations were low. The bathrooms are decent and the room was incredibly warm during the summer. We had the window open, but that had little effect. I would not use the thick blankets, they seemed unclean. They have a good happy hour deal, a smoking room, and a pool table, so it's very lively. Overall I would say that I had a good experience and I would stay again. The location really is fantastic.

Disliked: If you need a place to stay in Europe, try couch surfing. I wish I knew about it beforehand. Also people say that hotels are actually cheaper than hostels so check those out too.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chantal Carius Estrada

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Chantal would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, the staff was really helpful and the room is not bad.

Disliked: The lockers at room are really small, there is no WiFi at rooms, and it is difficult to climb up to the bed when you are a small person because there are no stairs from the floor to the second bed.