We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel The Globe

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012EH

71.2% Overall Rating

827 out of 1315 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

Michael Roberts thinks…

"I like that the staff were always around to greet you, remembered your face, the hotel bar was lively in the day and evening which made it feel lively. It was very secure and felt safe to leave my…"

Read all Hostel The Globe reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card or debit card . Tourist tax is already included in the price For group booking with more than 20 persons,we will have to charge total amount of the first night's accommodation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel The Globe Centre
21.83 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.6% 201 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
43.66 USD

Hostel 91.9% 36 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
57.85 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.5% 194 reviews
Hotel De Mallemoolen
32.75 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.7% 689 reviews
Hostel Meeting Point
19.65 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Old Quarter
34.57 USD

Hostel 78.9% 5 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
65.50 USD

Guesthouse 89.3% 12 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
49.12 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.2%

Overall Rating

827 out of 1315 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel The Globe'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
57.6%
Value
72.0%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 781 of 930 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 May 2015

Liked: Not much

Disliked: The room smelt like a ball sack as soon as we arrived

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Walls were thin and you could hear people walking around/talking at night

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Roberts

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 May 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I like that the staff were always around to greet you, remembered your face, the hotel bar was lively in the day and evening which made it feel lively. It was very secure and felt safe to leave my belongings in the building whilst I was out all day.

Disliked: The wifi wasn't strong enough throughout the building and after speaking to other hostel visitors they had the same trouble.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samuel Windecker

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2015 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: Nice lightning room, clean Bathroom, nice bar and smokers' Lounge, Terrace at a canal

Disliked: Low Waterpressure in shower

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Tomás Puente

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015

Liked: The location is very good. All the others things are not good at all. None facilities, bad WiFi. Forget WiFi in the rooms. Ver bad staff

Disliked: As I said before, most of it didn't liked me. Just the location, that is good, but that makes the place very noisy. Dirty, no place to relax except for the huge sports bar downstairs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Price and facilities were all stand out features of this hostel.

Disliked: Lighting is a bit dim in areas.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Simon Sarkisian

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2015

Liked: That it is located on top of a bar

Disliked: MANY things. Staff is pretty unfriendly and does not inform you of what they offer/rules. You just learn as you go. Rooms are pretty basic. If people in your room take up the lockers then you're forced to use ones in the hallway. There are only 2 plugs in each room and they are located on one wall, so dont bank on charging anything unless you luck out with the 1 bed next to BOTH PLUGS. Also, the bar has wifi but the rooms do not. Would not recommend anyone staying here because the prices of the rooms are too high for what they offer.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ruth Williams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: There are no cooking facilities, and the only social space is the bar downstairs which you can't eat your own food in so that made eating quite expensive. The rooms get extremely hot at night particularly on the top bunks. Lack of powerpoints in the hostel as well.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Lunn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2015 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Just 10 mins from the station very easy to find and excellent location direct in the Red Light District. We stayed in a private 5 bed dorm with shower and toilet, the room was quite large and clean with 5 single beds. The bar and food was excellent and you get a discount on the food if you stay there. Great if staying in large groups of friends and want to be close to the centre.

Disliked: The bar staff were really friendly but the women who were running the hostel didn't seem very happy and welcoming .

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fredrik Persson

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2015 Fredrik would recommend this property

Liked: This was my second time staying in this hostel. It has a very good location just 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam central station and on the edge of the red light district.

Disliked: Fredrik left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Grateful for the shower. Much better than most of the hostels I've been.

Disliked: Room was a bit dusty under the beds, and I don't believe the shower/toilet was cleaned in the four nights I was there. Sharing it with 5 other people, it needed it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar downstairs is open until late! you can drink & smoke down there. everything is clean the shower and toilet facilities are very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great and the bathroom was very nice.

Disliked: The service was not very friendly.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great sports bar under the hostel + discount on food

Disliked: Not a very social atmosphere focussed on travellers (although it is a nice bar).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlotte walton

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of the town, easy to get to from train station and great directions included in booking. Confirmation. Very clean and nice simple facilities, good atmosphere and liked how late smoking area and bae were open for guests

Disliked: charlotte left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Christian Wright

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2015 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect. Right in the centre within 2 Minutes of everything.

Disliked: The staff were rude at the bar and found ways out you getting the offered deal at happy hour.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

03 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, good quality rooms and friendly, helpful staff. Perfect for a group of young people on a short break.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Charlie Jones

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 December 2014 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: 20% off food, smoking/sports room, private dorms and attention to security

Disliked: Sometimes staff could be a bit too precautious about who they let to the rooms, maybe more comfortable seating? Very small bathroom in private dorm

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Top

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely clean rooms and comfortable mattresses. Excellent location will definently stay again!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

claire delargy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014

Liked: ...

Disliked: Dirty, smelly, loud, our shower was clogged, there was a drain problem in the room next to ours and water leaked through the wall into our room and covered the entire floor. No lockers for our things. The bar downstairs was grimy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014

Liked: Location is really good. You get what you pay for. The bathroom was nicer than we were expecting

Disliked: We went for the 18 bed dorm and we were happy we did because the bar was pretty dead and expensive. Instead we spoke to people from our room. Only one of the big lockers for bags actually worked. I lost /someone took a bag with my Ipod and other expensive stuff and the reception staff were quite unhelpful in terms of letting me know if it was found.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2014

Liked: Basic, clean. Don't look for frills or customer service.

Disliked: The whole set up is rather petty. If they can do something for you without cost, they won't.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice atmosphere

Disliked: It was pretty basic

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sarah Boden

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

13 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the location was amazing! right in the middle of the red light district and all the main things to do in Amsterdam. Had good facilities and the 18 person room was very large and regularly cleaned.

Disliked: you had to show the staff your card to get in rather than an electronic system so if they were busy you could be waiting a while. Also the wifi on the third floor didn't extent to the room so you ended up sitting on the stairs instead.