HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel the Globe Center Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 61%

Location 98%

Safety 75%

Staff 67%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card or debit card . Tourist tax is already included in the price

For group booking with more than 20 persons,we will have to charge total amount of the first night's accommodation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 61%

Location 98%

Safety 75%

Staff 67%

Value 70%

Showing 61-70 of 97 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I like the location, the staff was really helpful and the room is not bad.

Disliked: The lockers at room are really small, there is no WiFi at rooms, and it is difficult to climb up to the bed when you are a small person because there are no stairs from the floor to the second bed.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location- very central as close to all transport links and tourist attractions

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms and rooms got very hot at night

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: room was clean and tidy, as was the en suite, with soap and shower gel provided. room was basic, but that was all we needed. The bar downstairs was useful and did a good breakfast. a few weird locals but thats amdam for you! great location near the red light district with bars and coffee shops, cant complain really.

Disliked: no major dislikes, slightly run down but we spent very little time at the hostel (apart from the bar), so if you are looking for a place to crash, this does the job!

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Liked:- Happy hour- The rooms were nice, better than I expected from a hostel at the time.- The staff were friendly- They have a smoking room

Disliked: Disliked:- the manager scared me a little- some of the drinks in the bar are a little overpriced.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's right on red light district!

Disliked: Just basic , hard to find as not well signed

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It has a bar downstairs which looked pretty nice and reasonably priced with a smoking area. It's in a great location 5 mins from Centraal station, and once I got my bearings I could walk anywhere in central Amsterdam, it's only a 10-15 min walk from Dam Square in the centre. It felt very safe- you have to show a card at the desk to be buzzed in to the upstairs where the rooms are, and then swipe your key card to enter your room. My room had about 6 bunk beds in it and everyone I spoke to was friendly! Showers/toilet facilities all clean. They give you a sheet and blanket to sleep under, bring a towel with you. I would recommend this hostel, it's fairly cheap and has everything you need!

Disliked: Nothing, it was a fine hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Lack of general security in and around the hostel.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location, comfortable beds

Disliked: Staff weren't extremely helpful. We booked an 8 bed dorm and were put in a 10 bed.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was so close to the centre of amsterdam so there was always something new to do, the staff were fantastic and you could always find someone to speak to if there was a problem. The rooms we're clean and the bathrooms looked like new. The bar was cheap compared to most places and the food was amazing, the smoking room was great too it had the feel of an old pub with the atmosphere of a chilled out bar in town. They gave you locks for the lockers and had a safe down the stairs and you couldn't get into the hotel part without a room card which made you feel even more safe. The beds we're clean and quite comfortable.

Disliked: The stairs were quite steep but everywhere in amsterdam is like that. The room mates we had we're always asleep so we had to be really quiet whenever we were in the room.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: The beds were bad; the upper bed was too low so that you couldn't sit on the lower bed, and it was hard to climb up to the upper bed. I stayed in two different rooms and in the other one there were only small lockers where you couldn't put your big backpack in. Even though it was quite nice to stay in this hostel, since I met great people and the location was so excellent.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability