HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel the Globe Center Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 61%

Location 98%

Safety 75%

Staff 67%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card or debit card . Tourist tax is already included in the price

For group booking with more than 20 persons,we will have to charge total amount of the first night's accommodation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 68%

Facilities 61%

Location 98%

Safety 75%

Staff 67%

Value 70%

Showing 51-60 of 98 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is really good. You get what you pay for. The bathroom was nicer than we were expecting

Disliked: We went for the 18 bed dorm and we were happy we did because the bar was pretty dead and expensive. Instead we spoke to people from our room. Only one of the big lockers for bags actually worked. I lost /someone took a bag with my Ipod and other expensive stuff and the reception staff were quite unhelpful in terms of letting me know if it was found.

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Basic, clean. Don't look for frills or customer service.

Disliked: The whole set up is rather petty. If they can do something for you without cost, they won't.

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: ...

Disliked: Dirty, smelly, loud, our shower was clogged, there was a drain problem in the room next to ours and water leaked through the wall into our room and covered the entire floor. No lockers for our things. The bar downstairs was grimy

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was a nice atmosphere

Disliked: It was pretty basic

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: I liked the atmosphere and the location was amazing! right in the middle of the red light district and all the main things to do in Amsterdam. Had good facilities and the 18 person room was very large and regularly cleaned.

Disliked: you had to show the staff your card to get in rather than an electronic system so if they were busy you could be waiting a while. Also the wifi on the third floor didn't extent to the room so you ended up sitting on the stairs instead.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: location

Disliked: young female receptionist (asian)luggage room isnt even a room.. just a open space between the bar door and stairs to the hotel rooms


The property's response is

Respected concern,
We never mention about having a room for luggage, we clearly say to each and e very hotel/hostel guest that we dont have any specific place for luggage after checkout but if you want you can leave indoor which is permitted only for hotel guest to enter and is on your own risk.
so we never used the words room. we are sorry that you misunderstood.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: My friends and I had everything we needed at the hostel.

Disliked: I did not dislike anything in particular about the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location, nice bar

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a lot cleaner than I expected, but I guess my expectations were low. The bathrooms are decent and the room was incredibly warm during the summer. We had the window open, but that had little effect. I would not use the thick blankets, they seemed unclean. They have a good happy hour deal, a smoking room, and a pool table, so it's very lively. Overall I would say that I had a good experience and I would stay again. The location really is fantastic.

Disliked: If you need a place to stay in Europe, try couch surfing. I wish I knew about it beforehand. Also people say that hotels are actually cheaper than hostels so check those out too.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: Location

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability