HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel The Globe

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012EH

78.6% Overall Rating

794 out of 1265 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

Emily Wang thinks…

"It was a lot cleaner than I expected, but I guess my expectations were low. The bathrooms are decent and the room was incredibly warm during the summer. We had the window open, but that had little…"

Read all Hostel The Globe reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card. Tourist tax is already included in the price

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel The Globe Centre
40.19 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.3% 198 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
53.59 USD

Hostel 92.1% 33 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
66.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 191 reviews
Hotel De Mallemoolen
40.19 USD

Hotel 1 star 85.4% 674 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
46.89 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
80.39 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 5 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
60.29 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 397 reviews
France Hotel
46.89 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 207 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.6%

Overall Rating

794 out of 1265 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel The Globe'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
64.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 753 of 885 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Enrico Nicola Armelloni

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 January 2013 Enrico Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the central position in the city, the cleanliness of the room.

Disliked: You can't smoke in the rooms, but there's a nice smoking room in the hostel

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Scott H

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything! Train station is less than a 5 min walk. Located at one end of the Red Light District so it is quiet and not a lot of people wandering around that area.

Disliked: There lockers are brutal. I couldnt even get a locker. So my bag was a bit vulnerable.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Luc Nyffenegger

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013

Liked: The owners were very friendly

Disliked: The rooms were very smal and smelled not so good

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Peter Chapman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2013 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great price and location

Disliked: The bartender is also the person who buzzes you in to the hostel, which was a bit annoying, and there was no wifi in the rooms, only the bar area.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

stephanie tunggal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2013 stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: cheap.

Disliked: just realized that the location is in the red light district of amsterdam, so I was trying to find the hostel by walking with my luggage, and terrified because an african man trying to approach me. The hostel reception seemed odd at first because it was in the bar, so for a girl like me it's definitely not a good impression. Don't stay here if you don't have a guy or bunch of people to come with.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

James Court

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Love this place ! Stayed in the 20 bed dorm and despite there being a full dorm the layout is great so you have your own little section, the only time the have to see the others staying there is if your getting luggage out of your locker, also had a great view out of the 2 windows in our section which looked over canal!! The location of this property is absolutely fantastic !! Literally 1 minute from central station, 30 seconds from the red light district And about 10 mins from dam square. Yet it seems to be situated in a calmer street of amsterdam. Any comments saying about the food/drinks being overpriced is silly, amsterdam seems to be a very expensive city anyway and the food was reasonably priced and happy hour was great which was at 3-4 and 8-9. The food was also much better than I expected; excellent fry ups !!! The smoking room was also great here although the ventilation could maybe be a bit better :) oh and the toilets/showers were very modern and decent sized. Overall I think this place is perfeft whether you just want a bed to sleep in or just chill in the bar. Thank you hotel the globe !!!

Disliked: Nothing.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here NYE, happy hour is good and on twice a day!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

You Er Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013

Liked: Bad atmosphere, bad staff

Disliked: Unfriendly staff. bad atmosohere

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Izlan Yusof

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Izlan would recommend this property

Liked: location!

Disliked: a bit pricey!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the main train station, and it is in the heart of the red light district. It is a convienient walk.

Disliked: For 13 US dollars, I got a very good experience. The only complaint is ONE staff member, the day staff and early am staff are very friendly.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jin Siang LIAO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Jin Siang would recommend this property

Liked: the room is warm, heater is quit good

Disliked: door can not be locked

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

14 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice bar area. good cooked foodroom with no view

Disliked: room with no view

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this hostel is its location! It's also very clean and is nicely furnished with a lot of character a good bar and smoking area. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is very relaxed! Ideal for groups of young people! Very good price for the hostel!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

06 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 24 hours service, smoking area, redlight district location, sport channels,

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2012

Liked: Location is ok, but there are hostels everywhere.

Disliked: Bed bugs, they said they would fix the problem, I woke up with a bug crawling on my mattress and bumps all over my hands, feet and a few on my stomach. I now have to wash all my clothes I brought, staff was very unhelpful with the whole situation. The place is dirty, smells disgusting, sketchy characters, the bar is awful. If you want to have bed bug bits for a week or two, and itch like crazy stay at this hostile. This is the first review I have every written for a hotel or hostel, I felt obligated, because it ruined my trip for me.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Iveta Chárová

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2012 Iveta would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the main touristic points, but still in relatively quiet area.. room and facilities were clean, everything what was in offer were available, nice bar downstairs and tasty breakfast.

Disliked: The only minus can be that the breakfast is not included, but the value is still perfect for price like that. I can say that we were really satisfied customers ;)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hugo Thomas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2012 Hugo would recommend this property

Liked: Smoking room with two TV's showing the football

Disliked: 10 people in one room

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and quite cheap.

Disliked: Not very clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Gavin Brien

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

06 November 2012 Gavin would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the Globe is superb. On top of this, the sports bar is a great aspect to the hostel as it serves as a great meeting place for a night out and also shows a good array of football games. The food is also of a very good standard

Disliked: Not a lot to dislike. It is a hostel in the middle of Amsterdam and is great value for money

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mustafa Eraslan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 November 2012 Mustafa would recommend this property

Liked: Amsterdam Centraal istasyonuna en yakın hostellerden biri.

Disliked: 10 kişilik oda biraz dar. Hareket etmek bazen zor oluyor.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, couldn't be more central really. Clean bathrooms, good showers, clean rooms. Friendly staff, very cheap for Amsterdam £10 pppnight on sunday!

Disliked: No kitchen/ cooking facilities which is a bit rubbish really as Amsterdam is expensive so it would be better to cook your own food. Also there is no common room. But there is the bar downstairs where you can chill out without being forced to buy anything so ts alright :)

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

OMER FARUK SARI

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals

24 October 2012

Liked: Not for staying even for a short time. İt is only Good for homeless people. Unprofessional administration, dirty rooms and lack of space. After we check in we just hang out and when we back we saw someone in our room. The staff told that he is Looking for his beleongings and he trust him but god knows whether he looked for valuable things or not?

Disliked: Everything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location.

Disliked: Actually nothing specific maybe the fact that they don`t have the computers anywhere.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nadeem Bari

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 October 2012 Nadeem would recommend this property

Liked: Its good.. Always seems full...

Disliked: Too much restrictions..

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

radek brezina

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Visiting friends or family

30 September 2012 radek would recommend this property

Liked: good location from the central station and the city, nice bar downstairs

Disliked: radek left no negative feedback.