HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel the Globe Center Amsterdam

Hostel

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 64%

Location 95%

Safety 78%

Staff 70%

Value 70%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card or debit card . Tourist tax is already included in the price

For group booking with more than 20 persons,we will have to charge total amount of the first night's accommodation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 71%

Cleanliness 69%

Facilities 64%

Location 95%

Safety 78%

Staff 70%

Value 70%

Showing 31-40 of 125 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: That it is located on top of a bar

Disliked: MANY things. Staff is pretty unfriendly and does not inform you of what they offer/rules. You just learn as you go. Rooms are pretty basic. If people in your room take up the lockers then you're forced to use ones in the hallway. There are only 2 plugs in each room and they are located on one wall, so dont bank on charging anything unless you luck out with the 1 bed next to BOTH PLUGS. Also, the bar has wifi but the rooms do not. Would not recommend anyone staying here because the prices of the rooms are too high for what they offer.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Just 10 mins from the station very easy to find and excellent location direct in the Red Light District. We stayed in a private 5 bed dorm with shower and toilet, the room was quite large and clean with 5 single beds. The bar and food was excellent and you get a discount on the food if you stay there. Great if staying in large groups of friends and want to be close to the centre.

Disliked: The bar staff were really friendly but the women who were running the hostel didn't seem very happy and welcoming .

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: There are no cooking facilities, and the only social space is the bar downstairs which you can't eat your own food in so that made eating quite expensive. The rooms get extremely hot at night particularly on the top bunks. Lack of powerpoints in the hostel as well.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was my second time staying in this hostel. It has a very good location just 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam central station and on the edge of the red light district.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Grateful for the shower. Much better than most of the hostels I've been.

Disliked: Room was a bit dusty under the beds, and I don't believe the shower/toilet was cleaned in the four nights I was there. Sharing it with 5 other people, it needed it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Bar downstairs is open until late! you can drink & smoke down there. everything is clean the shower and toilet facilities are very good

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was great and the bathroom was very nice.

Disliked: The service was not very friendly.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great sports bar under the hostel + discount on food

Disliked: Not a very social atmosphere focussed on travellers (although it is a nice bar).

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Right in the centre of the town, easy to get to from train station and great directions included in booking. Confirmation. Very clean and nice simple facilities, good atmosphere and liked how late smoking area and bae were open for guests

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location was perfect. Right in the centre within 2Minutes of everything.

Disliked: The staff were rude at the bar and found ways out you getting the offered deal at happy hour.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Dear guest, your were late for the happy hour time, how can you still get the happy hour deal? The rule is for every guest, not because we were rude. Hope you understand well. Sorry for any inconvenience.

Check Availability