HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel The Globe

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012EH

69.8% Overall Rating

805 out of 1283 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

"Lovely clean rooms and comfortable mattresses. Excellent location will definently stay again!"

Read all Hostel The Globe reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card. Tourist tax is already included in the price

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel The Globe Centre
29.10 USD

Hotel 1 star 79.8% 199 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
37.95 USD

Hostel 92.0% 34 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
63.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 192 reviews
Hotel De Mallemoolen
35.42 USD

Hotel 1 star 83.1% 679 reviews
Hotel Old Quarter
39.53 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
75.90 USD

Guesthouse 88.2% 7 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
56.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.0% 398 reviews
France Hotel
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.1% 207 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.8%

Overall Rating

805 out of 1283 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel The Globe'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
57.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 763 of 900 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived much earlier than check in time and were allowed to leave our backpacks so that we didn't have to traipse around Amsterdam with them on, which was lovely. We were happily surprised at how clean the bathroom areas were, as well as the dorms! Although there's no common room (which is a shame), there is a bar to relax in and a nice outdoor seating area (both of which have free wifi). It is in a great location, really close to everything, but set slightly away from too much hustle and bustle - we had a great time at this hostel and I would recommend it to others!

Disliked: Although we definitely enjoyed our stay at the globe, looking back there are quite a few facilities which they were lacking. At times the bar staff refused to fill water bottles and although the taps in the bathrooms were drinking water, our bottles didn't fit into the sinks! The staff could've been more welcoming, and more helpful. There were very few plugs in the dorms, and there were no locks on the dorm doors - so anyone could walk in. Despite this, I did feel completely safe staying here, and there were lockers available in the rooms - but remember to bring your own padlock!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucy Fry

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel, great size locker for your belongings, helpful staff and great vibes in the bar downstairs.

Disliked: The bathroom could have been a bit bigger with more showers and toilets, however, it was manageable and was very clean and modern.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jessica Bressan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013

Liked: Nothing! I stayed in this hostel with a friend as a first stop on our trip around Europe and it was not the warm welcome we were hoping for. The reception is awful as it is just a pub and there's no common room where we could go and relax. We were REFUSED a glass of water at the bar and told not to have our own drinks (a bottle of water that was in my bag) in the hostel. For a room that can bed 20 people there was only 2, maybe 3 sockets and it was horribly uncomfortable. The heat was unbearable and it was close to impossible to sleep most of the time. The beds also had bed bugs in them which left me with horrible bites all over my body and a trip to the doctor's office! The staff were disgracefully rude (exception of one kind bar man and one of the women on reception) and made us feel so unwelcome. I never once felt safe here either as there were no locks on the doors to the rooms and a lot of the lockers were broken. The showers smelled and were covered in mold. The list goes on and on but this is just the icing on the layered cake of misery that is The Globe. The only upside to the hostel is the location and it's cheapness.

Disliked: I think I made my point.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Kee Sen Wong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013

Liked: Good location but noisy.

Disliked: Not so friendly staff.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

bruno george teixeira

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Receptionists and the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, set away from the hustle and bustle but only round the corner. Rembrandt is within walking distance too. Bathrooms were clean with good showers. Also has a nice outdoor seating area.

Disliked: Staff were very pushy and not very polite when asking for proof of ID and room number. Was made to feel slightly unwelcome. Also, one day it hit over 30C and the bar man/manager refused to refill a single, small water bottle. Customer service exists in no form here!

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2013

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Its a pub, no common area, no kitchen

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2013

Liked: Location was the only good thing.

Disliked: I couldn't believe the rudeness of all the staff- were not helpful at all. The hostel rooms have no keys only a main entrance to all of the rooms so anyone could access your room. The hostel showers are disgusting - mould festering on the ceiling which accompanied the mouldy look on te staffs face. Worst hostel I have ever been in and to say I'm An experienced traveller is an inderstatement. I'm sitting in the lobby as I type this and I just can't wait to get out of here. To add to this - there's only one plug for 20 beds so good luck charging electronocs.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location good. Clean rooms.

Disliked: The beds are a little short. The room door and bathroom door made a loud creaking noise, which woke everyone during the night, those hinges should be greased.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms dont have internet

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 July 2013

Liked: Close location to the train station

Disliked: It's too loud. You can only get wi-fi at the bar. Staff can be a little bit more friendly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LUIS PABLO SANCHEZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 LUIS PABLO would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, big rooms, would stay here again without any doubt. View to the channels, en suite bathroom.

Disliked: Too little plugs in the room.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Christopher Norris

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2013

Liked: Excellent central location in the Red-Light District.

Disliked: No kitchen or access to hot water. The staff were unhelpful, and apparently just wanted our money. No working lock on the door. No working phone. Overall: A good place if you just need somewhere to sleep, and intend to eat out frequently.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean in general, excellent location

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Smoking/toking lounge. Clean rooms, toilets and showers. Good value. Ice-cold Irn Bru!

Disliked: Squeaky bedroom door.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: staff..

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Fernando Martin Lerda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

25 May 2013

Liked: Excellent location, thats the strong point of the hostel, some good bathrooms and a sportsbar downstairs.

Disliked: You have to ask at the reception that open the door, the beds are not so good and the bedrooms are cold. The bar closes early and you only have wifi at this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William James

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2013 William would recommend this property

Liked: I've never stayed in a hostel before but this place far exceeded my expectations and opinions of them. I had a great time with my stay here. I found it to be a fun and very sociable place. The facilities where great! Bedrooms more than sufficient, with clean facilities for showering etc. I would highly recommend this place and would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: There's not much to dislike. Unless your looking for a 5 star hotel!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location very close to the station and other main parts of town

Disliked: Very loud, you can hear all other people.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Relaxation/spa

04 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great smoking area and eating areas separate from one another

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2013

Liked: It has a great location, right in the heart of the Amsterdam Centrum. Quite decent lockers and had to show a card to get in and buzz in as well at night, so felt quite secure. A decent bar right downstairs, sports on the tube but the beer was a bit pricy. Staff were nice enough.

Disliked: Small bathrooms with tiny showers but clean enough. No breakfast, kitchen or common room so if you're looking for a cozy feeling, don't come here. It's quite a large hostel with pretty much just beds and bathrooms that aren't worth the price.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, value for money and room was clean with no major complaints. The food was also surprisingly good.

Disliked: Shower water made the whole bathroom floor wet each time.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

suntorn chailert

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 suntorn would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the train station which is easy to access

Disliked: Noisy

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Good smoking room open until late.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jani Helin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2013

Liked: The employee was very helpful and friendly

Disliked: The bed had only a blanket and the room was little bit cold. Though battery was red hot. Very unsecure, other visitors can come to your room at any time as you can't lock door to your room. Lots of noise; church ringing it's bells almoast next door on opposite side of bridge. Could also hear conversations clearly when people spoke outside on the street. Also the bar downstairs was easily heard. Wi-fi only in the bar downstairs.