We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostel The Globe

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012EH

72.2% Overall Rating

827 out of 1314 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/05/2015)

Michael Roberts thinks…

"I like that the staff were always around to greet you, remembered your face, the hotel bar was lively in the day and evening which made it feel lively. It was very secure and felt safe to leave my…"

Read all Hostel The Globe reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card or debit card . Tourist tax is already included in the price For group booking with more than 20 persons,we will have to charge total amount of the first night's accommodation.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hotel The Globe Centre
22.01 USD

Hotel 1 star 80.6% 201 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs / Red Light B&B
44.03 USD

Hostel 91.9% 36 reviews
Hotel De Koopermoolen
58.34 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.5% 194 reviews
Hotel De Mallemoolen
33.02 USD

Hotel 1 star 84.2% 687 reviews
Hostel Meeting Point
19.81 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Old Quarter
39.90 USD

Hostel 78.9% 5 reviews
Lazy Monkeys Guesthouse
66.04 USD

Guesthouse 88.6% 11 reviews
The Greenhouse effect
49.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.4% 400 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.2%

Overall Rating

827 out of 1314 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostel The Globe'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
58.4%
Value
73.6%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 780 of 929 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Arnould

Alone

City break

11 August 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice bar

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: young female receptionist (asian) luggage room isnt even a room.. just a open space between the bar door and stairs to the hotel rooms

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Wang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was a lot cleaner than I expected, but I guess my expectations were low. The bathrooms are decent and the room was incredibly warm during the summer. We had the window open, but that had little effect. I would not use the thick blankets, they seemed unclean. They have a good happy hour deal, a smoking room, and a pool table, so it's very lively. Overall I would say that I had a good experience and I would stay again. The location really is fantastic.

Disliked: If you need a place to stay in Europe, try couch surfing. I wish I knew about it beforehand. Also people say that hotels are actually cheaper than hostels so check those out too.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Chantal Carius Estrada

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 July 2014 Chantal would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, the staff was really helpful and the room is not bad.

Disliked: The lockers at room are really small, there is no WiFi at rooms, and it is difficult to climb up to the bed when you are a small person because there are no stairs from the floor to the second bed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location- very central as close to all transport links and tourist attractions

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms and rooms got very hot at night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Adam Cuddy

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: room was clean and tidy, as was the en suite, with soap and shower gel provided. room was basic, but that was all we needed. The bar downstairs was useful and did a good breakfast. a few weird locals but thats amdam for you! great location near the red light district with bars and coffee shops, cant complain really.

Disliked: no major dislikes, slightly run down but we spent very little time at the hostel (apart from the bar), so if you are looking for a place to crash, this does the job!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked: - Happy hour - The rooms were nice, better than I expected from a hostel at the time. - The staff were friendly - They have a smoking room

Disliked: Disliked: - the manager scared me a little - some of the drinks in the bar are a little overpriced.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tess Wright

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Tess would recommend this property

Liked: It has a bar downstairs which looked pretty nice and reasonably priced with a smoking area. It's in a great location 5 mins from Centraal station, and once I got my bearings I could walk anywhere in central Amsterdam, it's only a 10-15 min walk from Dam Square in the centre. It felt very safe- you have to show a card at the desk to be buzzed in to the upstairs where the rooms are, and then swipe your key card to enter your room. My room had about 6 bunk beds in it and everyone I spoke to was friendly! Showers/toilet facilities all clean. They give you a sheet and blanket to sleep under, bring a towel with you. I would recommend this hostel, it's fairly cheap and has everything you need!

Disliked: Nothing, it was a fine hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's right on red light district!

Disliked: Just basic , hard to find as not well signed

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Josh Howells

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2014

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Lack of general security in and around the hostel.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

adam hickson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014

Liked: pretty central to the red light district, a very fun area.

Disliked: no common room or kitchen, only the bar. beers were fairly expensive for a hostel... 5.20 euro for a pint

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was so close to the centre of amsterdam so there was always something new to do, the staff were fantastic and you could always find someone to speak to if there was a problem. The rooms we're clean and the bathrooms looked like new. The bar was cheap compared to most places and the food was amazing, the smoking room was great too it had the feel of an old pub with the atmosphere of a chilled out bar in town. They gave you locks for the lockers and had a safe down the stairs and you couldn't get into the hotel part without a room card which made you feel even more safe. The beds we're clean and quite comfortable.

Disliked: The stairs were quite steep but everywhere in amsterdam is like that. The room mates we had we're always asleep so we had to be really quiet whenever we were in the room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, comfortable beds

Disliked: Staff weren't extremely helpful. We booked an 8 bed dorm and were put in a 10 bed.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: The beds were bad; the upper bed was too low so that you couldn't sit on the lower bed, and it was hard to climb up to the upper bed. I stayed in two different rooms and in the other one there were only small lockers where you couldn't put your big backpack in. Even though it was quite nice to stay in this hostel, since I met great people and the location was so excellent.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

13 June 2014

Liked: Location is great. 8 bed private room was nice and clean with good shower

Disliked: System for entry to the hostel rooms is ridiculous. Having to show your cards every time for entry is annoying.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location, avoid most of the noise from the Main Street. Do a good hungover breakfast.

Disliked: Only one outlet in the room, shower pressure wasn't great half the time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was amazing, hostel and bedding very clean

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Good atmosphere in the bar.

Disliked: The staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyson Moffat

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2014 Alyson would recommend this property

Liked: location, size of rooms and clean bathrooms.

Disliked: people had been smoking in the rooms so it smelt pretty bad. and the locals who hang in the bar down stairs were fairly rude

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Paul Neat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2014

Liked: The location is worth noting as it is a short walk from Amsterdam Centraal train station and overlooks the canal.

Disliked: No WiFi in the rooms, no plug sockets near the beds and not enough for a room full of 10 people or more. Also, prices in the bar downstairs were excessive. 2.50 for a can of Fanta!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Gabriel Sales Vezali

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Gabriel would recommend this property

Liked: The location was absolutely the best, and the Hostel has a pub as well, which is awesome for me.

Disliked: I'd say half of the staff I knew looked liked they hated their job, furthermore, they weren't really friendly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elizabeth Begg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The showers are super nice and there's free towls:)

Disliked: No kitchen.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: FBI

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Very dirty. Bathrooms and rooms were not clean. Carpet in halls were stained everywhere. Only a few outlets in room for 8 people. Didn't get wifi above the main floor.