HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostel the Globe Center Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 60%

Location 97%

Safety 74%

Staff 64%

Value 68%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Towels for hire

Important Information

We have a 5% service charge if you pay by credit card or debit card . Tourist tax is already included in the price

For group booking with more than 20 persons,we will have to charge total amount of the first night's accommodation.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 67%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 60%

Location 97%

Safety 74%

Staff 64%

Value 68%

Showing 11-20 of 111 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location is amazing.

Disliked: My sheets bad stains on them, the bathroom door inside my 8 person dorm room did not lock. There were only 4 lockers for 8 people in the room, so it was first come first serve. I didn't really feel super safe as it wasn't really that secure. I mean it was generally fine, but I have felt much much more secure in a hostel before. There is a bar down at the bottom that feels kind of seedy to be honest, not somewhere I actually want to hang out, and I would be kind of afraid that someone who's at the bar not staying at the hostel would be able to slip in through the doorway to the hostel area (which is literally right off the bar room). The floors in the room really needed to be vacuumed there were like crumbs or something on the floor. There is no kitchen in this place which I don't like. This place is definitely adequate for a place to stay for 1 or 2 nights, but don't expect to really enjoy yourself.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Location was spot on, close to the red light district for the bars. Not too far away from dam square and other attractions

Disliked: Rooms could do with re decorating, whole place looks a bit dated, but what do you expect, it's a hostel not a 5 star hotel. Shower in the room we stayed only dripped hot water.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good hostel, met lots of other friendly travellers. Extremely central with loads of bars and food nearby. Cool vibe downstairs in the bar. Overall good experience.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location, 24h reception, bar downstairs. Clean and nice, good to crash in for a short while

Disliked: In general the lack of atmosphere, the staff did their job with checking in but not especially friendly or anything.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was exellent, 5 mins walk from Centraal Station and the centre of Amsterdam.

Disliked: It was too hot at night because of the lack of A/C

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was okay

Disliked: Everything but the location

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The friendliness and the helpfulness of the staff.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was close to the centre, the bathroom was very neat, The room was spacy enough for 12 beds so you do not feel overcrowded. The cafe downstairs ofers food with a discount so it is quite affordable to have a meal there.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Shopping

Liked: It's close to the city and the cafes of red light district.Got close access to the train station and tram station Had everything I need within walking distance

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location in red light district, short walk from the train station and to major attractions, clean room

Disliked: Highly not recommended if you will arrive early (earlier than 9am) because their "24 hours reception" actually means a guy at the bar who couldn't care less about you. I totally understand that rooms are usually ready in the afternoon, so in most hostels they will let you leave your bags, fresh up / rest in common area when arrive early. But what I got from the bar guy when I arrived at 7am was "I open the door to let the air in" (not to have me walk in) and that I have to come back at 9am to leave my bags so I ended up walking around town with all my luggage. Although I understand the concept of working hours, kicking someone out when you have a vast empty space...and it said a lot about how helpful this place gonna be!

Check Availability