We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lucky Lake Hostel

Hostel | Vinkenkade 75, VINKEVEEN, Amsterdam, Netherlands 3645

91.2% Overall Rating

213 out of 245 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/08/2014)

Christiana Karatzas thinks…

"Lovely place by the lake, very clean and organised , the lake is awesome , not very far away from city center but yet you feel like its miles away! Loved it !! Coming back next year ☺️"

Read all Lucky Lake Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.53

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Families: The minimum age for all guests is 17 years old. Cancellation policy: In the event of a cancellation less than 48 hours prior to your arrival day, your card will be charged for the first night accommodation total as well as a 3,5% surcharge for administration costs. In case of a NO SHOW your credit card will be charged 100% of the total costs plus a 3,5% surcharge for administration costs. To avoid miscommunication we do not accept cancellations by phone.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Hostelle Female Hostel
15.18 USD

Hostel 89.4% 276 reviews
Amigo Budget Hostel Amsterdam
12.64 USD

Hostel 70.3% 480 reviews
Hotel Flipper
26.76 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.6% 333 reviews
Hotel Oosterpark
25.29 USD

Hostel 65.8% 78 reviews
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
25.09 USD

Hostel 84.3% 713 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Sarphati
12.64 USD

Hostel 65.1% 212 reviews
Hotel Max
28.15 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Bicycle Hotel
23.19 USD

Hotel 0.5 star 84.1% 427 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.2%

Overall Rating

213 out of 245 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lucky Lake Hostel'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
90.4%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 149 of 165 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christiana Karatzas

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2014 Christiana would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place by the lake, very clean and organised , the lake is awesome , not very far away from city center but yet you feel like its miles away! Loved it !! Coming back next year ☺️

Disliked: Christiana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

28 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant relaxed friendly environment

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Tara Weir

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Great, great hostel. A nice escape from the chaos of the city. Really good spot to relax and hang out.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela King

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Funky caravans

Disliked: Didnt dislike anything was fab

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daisuke Kobayashi

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2013 Daisuke would recommend this property

Liked: Quite good

Disliked: A little bit far from city center.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Open space, close to Amsterdam, very relaxing atmosphere with great people from all around the world.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Flor Caballero

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

10 July 2013 Flor would recommend this property

Liked: The welcoming ducks :)

Disliked: All good here :)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Petar Jercic

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Petar would recommend this property

Liked: The small camper rooms

Disliked: A bit outside of town

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Briana Williams

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Briana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the services they offer (bikes, hot food, food to cook)

Disliked: Briana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jimena Rincon

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 May 2013 Jimena would recommend this property

Liked: It was an amazing time at this hostel, it has a great atmosphere, it feels like a little paradise just some minutes away from the crowded city center of Amsterdam... I would really recommend this hostel to the people who want to live Amsterdam differently and with a bit more contact with nature and the super friendly locals.

Disliked: Jimena left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So much to like about this place! Has a great deal of charm and character. Is just far enough away from the hustle an bustle of Amsterdam to retreat back to after a day out. Unique aesthetic. Friendly, helpful young staff and great atmosphere.

Disliked: Not much to dislike really...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing set up. dont worry about the distance from town, if the weathers sunny you wont want to leave the lake

Disliked: dependant on weather

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerry Dawson

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break

11 August 2012 Kerry would recommend this property

Liked: This was an awesome place to stay. Exactly as the photos suggest...including the random animal status! The caravans are clean and comfortable, toilet facilities are immaculate and the kitchen is clean and very well equip. The breakfast is amazing, in both quality and variety, and free tea and coffee are available all day. The shop is very reasonably priced and also sells hot food till 11pm. The hostel is in a beautiful setting and I highly recommend hiring a kayak to explore the lake and canals and bike ride into Abcoude; both are cheap as chips to hire from the hostel. It only takes about 20mins to get into Amsterdam; the hostel shuttle is 1 euro each way and the tram is about 2.70. I found public transport in Holland to be amazingly punctual and frequent, and commuters were always happy to help! Holendrecht is a train and metro station so the airport and other city's are also easily accessible from the hostel. The hostel is cheap and great value for money, the staff are really friendly and helpful which helps to create a really relaxed, friendly atmosphere. I met some great people and had a brilliant time here ... you can't fault this place!

Disliked: Kerry left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

raffaella tara

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 June 2012 raffaella would recommend this property

Liked: orignal,simple and close to amsterdam but far enough to forgett the turist bustle

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, heaters and extra blankets were offered for free as it was a bit cold at night. Waking up to the sound of birds was a great break from the noisy city. Good breakfast. It's not in the city center but they have a good shuttle service.

Disliked: Be carefull, the showers are a bit slippery

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff very knowledgable about the area and culture. Loved the atmosphere and ever evolving nature of the place. Very sustainable.

Disliked: Internet is not set up well, wireless was non existant as is was never working

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jiayun Zou

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

01 May 2012 Jiayun would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant ideas in every aspects, people can make pancakes as breakfast, wifi, computer equipped, bathrooms are clean

Disliked: The shuttle bus runs hourly and only has 8 seats

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Chi Mai Hoang

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Chi Mai would recommend this property

Liked: The environment is friendly, also the staff. A little bit far from Center but they have a Bus take you to Metro every time.

Disliked: A little cold

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were fantastic, and there was a rlaxd and friendly vibe. the hostel had a fantastic amount of things to do, a good shuttle service and very friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011

Liked: When we booked the hostel, we were aware that it was not close to the city. It was never an problem for us. But, getting there, we faced some issues like cleanliness and security, leaving the hostel before the first night. Is is important, from our perspective, to make it clear that the hostel is in the countryside without security for all rooms/trailers.

Disliked: > There were no bathrooms inside the trailers > There was no light inside the trailers

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very chilled hostel in a unique location. Friendly staff Clean The cinema was cool, as were the caravans.

Disliked: The shuttle service that takes you to the local train station needed to be a bit more regular at peak periods. This problem was compounded by the fact that the metro service into Amsterdam was not fully running due to tunnel maintenance, meaning it took even longer to get into Amsterdam. The fact that the cooking area was also the smoking area wasn't particularly pleasant.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Moores

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2011 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The entire vibe was just astoundingly mellow and friendly - colourful cabins, even more colourful hippo sculptures, hammocks a'plenty. It was like the best possible kind of camping I can imagine.

Disliked: Nothing really - we weren't there long enough to notice a single thing we didn't love.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

frances Olsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

22 July 2011 frances would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were awesome, and it was nice to be out of the hustle and bustle a little bit, with the lake and surrounding greenery. The caravans were cute, the breakfast was pretty good and the showers/bathrooms really clean. A unique experience.

Disliked: It gets expensive getting in and out from Amsterdam each day with the train and then shuttle. And it's pretty pricey to do washing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ásdís gunnarsdóttir

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2011 Ásdís would recommend this property

Liked: BEST HOSTEL EVER! this is with out a doubt the best hostel I have stayed at!, staff was awesome, the location a little out of town but honestly I went to central amsterdam every day and it was no problem. the surroundings are beautiful and the small town near lucky lake (abcoude) is very cute. LOVE IT

Disliked: NOTHING AT ALL

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it. Staff was really friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about what we (1st time in Amsterdam N from NYC) wanted to see and try. HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.

Disliked: The only complaint i have ( and a not so bad one) is the fact that i wasnt aware that the train stops running at around 10pm which as a new yorker and first time in europe, was not aware of. A cab to Lucky Lake from the Central Station was 35euro, which isn't bad, from what i was told. BUT STILL.