We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Vondelpark

Hostel | Zandpad 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1054 GA

82.7% Overall Rating

2084 out of 2285 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"Stayokay was very clean and well kept. I felt safe leaving my belongings there and the beds were very comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning too."

Read all Stayokay Vondelpark reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You. City tax is not included, please pay upon arrival, €1.25 per person per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
16.32 USD

Hostel 85.7% 779 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
21.51 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1483 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
31.31 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Quentin Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 14 reviews
Hotel Blyss
26.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hotel Princess
6.33 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Marnix City Centre
18.98 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.5% 1598 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

2084 out of 2285 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Vondelpark'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
70.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1441 of 1666 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 57 | 58   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Arran Williams

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 September 2014 Arran would recommend this property

Liked: Frendly

Disliked: This is the only negative I can say about the hostel, I paid online via hostelbookers.com, the price advertised was £156.68 for 2 people for 2 nights. I paid a 12% deposit, so my total to pay should be £137.88. On arriving to the hostel the reception desk charged me £145.54, when i queried the price she said and i quote "its travelers fees". No one could give me any explanation as to what the additional charge was for.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, calm and quiet atmosphere when needed, games room and location!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayokay was very clean and well kept. I felt safe leaving my belongings there and the beds were very comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the building itself, the park facing to the hostel, teh huge room I stayed

Disliked: no wifi in the room on the 4th floor, smaller common space on the ground floor compared to the accomodating capacity

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel with a far bigger room than I had expected. The hostel had a friendly atmosphere, and even though it's slightly more expensive than a few other hostels the location was ideal, very easy to reach the centres of Amsterdam, busy nightlife 2-3 mins walking distance from the hostel yet I was never kept awake or annoyed by noisy clubbers. Plus the hostel were very understanding when two of the four people I had dropped out, and swapped the beds for boarders only costing me the dropouts cost of accommodation.

Disliked: It's hard to think of anything

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely hostel, lovely staff! A bit overpriced compared to other hostels but the safety and security was worth a bit of extra money

Disliked: Not enough plug sockets in the 20 bed female dorm, but to make up for it you could give your phone in at reception to charge!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean friendly and in a good location

Disliked: Wifi in the rooms might be good?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sophie Sherlock

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty modern with good services. Easy to book tours etc at reception with a discount. Really good buffet breakfast.

Disliked: Wifi only available in the common area.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014

Liked: Lots of facilities and right next to a beautiful park

Disliked: It was very noisy and we didn't get much sleep

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kyle Bennett

With friends / other travellers

City break

15 August 2014 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: It's away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam- but not too far away. Next to a park, a few minutes walk from restaurants and cafés, cheap for the area and free breakfast.

Disliked: Kyle left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sarah Groth

Alone

Partying / nightlife

15 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the breakfast was amazing, beyond most hostel breakfasts let alone a hostel breakfast

Disliked: The NO internet at all and how expensive it was for what you got

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Brittney Lemon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Brittney would recommend this property

Liked: Bed had clean sheets. Private bathroom. Good location. Room cleaning daily. Storage in rooms. Could book and buy many tickets right at the hostel. They will call and book you reservations, taxis, etc.

Disliked: The private shower was really awkward, like a gym locker room.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location right next to Vondelpark, felt quiet and safe. The free breakfast was also lovely!

Disliked: Our tiny tiny room! Me and my friend could barely move! The building is also very ugly, the one pictured seems to be the hotel next door?! Therefore it was not good value for money. Wifi only worked in the communal area which was a bit cheeky of them too.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Shawna Weston

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2014 Shawna would recommend this property

Liked: Sheets come in vacuum sealed plastic bags, there's a locker for every bed and the room is divided up so it doesn't feel as big as it is (20 person dorm, but divided into areas of 4-6 beds)

Disliked: There's a lack of atmosphere. The common areas are the only place to get wi-fi so everyone is just on their phones. Also, the bathrooms weren't very clean and you had to pay for luggage storage.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty central location, lovely staff, great breakfast.

Disliked: The price, but for amsterdam it's not bad. Also, the key cards were a little temperamental.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alex Ben-Nathan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: It was safe

Disliked: Nowhere to cook and it's very expensive to eat in Amsterdam so it's even more annoying Pay for lockers that don't give change No wifi in the rooms They don't actually do a free tour they just take you to one

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was realt great! My stay was thoroughly enjoyable:)

Disliked: Nothing really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Price

As a family with children

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed vibe , good location and good atmosphere

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Brodie

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 June 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: We were moved to a four person room instead of a private room so we had a lot of extra space to put our stuff! We really liked our room and the common areas. The breakfast was great and so was the bar. We were also really impressed with how safe the locker room was. We left our stuff there so we could look around before we left and it was lovely! I would highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: It was a little bit far from the cool attractions but otherwise good

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stay ok were able to accomodate a large party all together. This ment we were bale to enjoy the hen do all together with out being seperated or having random people in the room

Disliked: Breakfast finishing early at 9:30

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, comfortable beds and in a great location!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location (really close to the tram line, Van Gogh Museum, Iamsterdam letters), good atmosphere and lounges, nice breakfast, clean rooms, really helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Tattershall

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent restaurant - good selection of cheaqp meals delivered very quickly. Particuarly enjoyed the 'Chef's choice' offer; a meal and a drink for 7.50. The breakfasts are also really good; the food isn't excellent but everything is nice and there's lots of it.

Disliked: The window in our room only opens ~10cm, which means that the room was too hot and stuffy to stay in for long during the mornings, when the sun came right in through the windows.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice continental breakfast included. Email sent with directions prior to our arrival. All bed linens clean & in a sealed plastic bag.

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms, only in common areas

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff! Excellent rooms!

Disliked: Keep the cash open 24/7. Don't like leaving my passport at the desk. You need to have wifi in the rooms. Also the wifi needs to be better.

The property's response is...