HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Amsterdam

Hostel

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 87%

Location 88%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 5.32USD

Important Information

**Please note:

- that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian - that if there are children younger than 16 years part of the guests you are required to book a private room. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room.

" **Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable"

PLEASE NOTE-Cancellations:
If a reservation is made for one or more individuals, the following applies with respect to the cancellation of said reservation:

-If the cancellation is made before 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest is not obliged to pay anything to Stayokay.
-For cancellation after 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest will be required to pay Stayokay 100% of the reservation price.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 85%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 87%

Location 88%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 82%

Showing 1-10 of 137 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:

Liked: Breakfast was great

Disliked: Showers are a bit dingy, toilet paper wasn't replaced for a full day by cleaning staff, common areas are lovely but not the most social, location was nice (right near museums and the pretty Vondelpark!) so it was never noisy, but it was a little remote from downtown. Very costly for what it was.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your comments,
Good to hear that you liked our location!
we are sorry that the toilet paper was not replaced, our cleaning staff should do this every day.
Have a great day!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:

Liked: Great hostel

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location is very good. Staff very kind and everything is very clean.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: There is always somebody to help you at the reception desk, people there are really kind. The card system to access all areas of the hostel is pretty cool, it made me feel safe. Wifi works pretty much well, even in the rooms. There are lockers in the rooms and in the lounge. Breakfast is really complete. It is really quite in the rooms, the neighborhood is really silent close to the park. The environment is well organized.

Disliked: Not enough electrical plug in the rooms. The elevator goes only to the third floor, (there are four floors in building A) and during some times of the day you can not use it at all. The hostel is a little far from the closest tram station.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your lovely review,
we are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and had a good time in our hostel,
hope to see you back again!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and staff :)

Disliked: Private room with 4 beds was too small.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Eveeything. Breakfast too is excellent

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your kind review! Good to know that you liked everything!!!!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good place close the staff was kind and helpful rooms were big and clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your great review, hope to see you back again!

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: They packed me breakfast for an early checkout and located close to the museums.

Disliked: It is a big chain so lacks in atmosphere and everything costs something. There is no kitchen and you are not allowed to bring food into the hostel?!?Good for a big group with an agenda. Not so good for a solo traveller.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving a review,
we are glad that we could make you an early breakfast, unfortunately we can not offer a guest kitchen due to strict food and hygiene restrictions. Kind regards

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The availablilty of private rooms as well as dormitories. Everything was clean and the layout was fun and convenient.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review,
we are very happy that you had a great stay with us!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Really clean, neat and well maintained rooms. Pretty good breakfast is also included. The staff are also helpful.

Disliked: I went to book bicycles a day before and they said to come when you need the cycles and we will give them to you. I went at 9am the next day when they start renting and they said its all gone!! In my opinion the Hostel`s too big with loads of people and that could be the reason.I also emailed the Hostel 3 days in advance to pre-pone my stay by 2 nights. They refused but gave me a number of another Stayokay hostel in Amsterdam. Their phone went unanswered and I called several times.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review,
glad to know that you liked the breakfast and our staff!!! Sorry about the bike, we do not keep bikes reserved unless you pre-book them via our own website. Sorry to hear that by the time you came they were are all rented out, but usually there will be bikes returned about every half hour. Kind regards and have a great day!

Check Availability