HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Amsterdam Hostel

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 5.40USD

Important Information

**Please note:

- that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian - that if there are children younger than 16 years part of the guests you are required to book a private room. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room.

" **Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable"

PLEASE NOTE-Cancellations:
If a reservation is made for one or more individuals, the following applies with respect to the cancellation of said reservation:

-If the cancellation is made before 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest is not obliged to pay anything to Stayokay.
-For cancellation after 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest will be required to pay Stayokay 100% of the reservation price.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 82%

Showing 81-90 of 133 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The bar staff in particular were very friendly, the girl that worked there recommended some amazing places to go at night and was always really happy. The wifi and lounge area was really relaxed and the bar had a great happy hour. Loved out stay here, breakfast was surprisingly good for free too!

Disliked: I was charged 9 euros more than my confirmation email told me I had left to pay for the stay. Not sure if this was because of the currency difference or whatever other reason but there was a large queue forming behind so I didn't feel I could question it at the time.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review and ratings! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our bar and other facilities! We are sorry to hear about the difference in price, but I'm sure we could have worked something out. If you'd like us to look into it, please send an email to service@vondelpark.stayokay.com. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Bathroom could be cleaner

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for you review and ratings! We are glad to hear you loved your stay with us. We're sorry about the bathrooms. They should be cleaned every day, so we will definitely look into this so it will not happen again. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice central location, friendly, helpful staff and good atmosphere.

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked our facilities! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Shopping

Liked: Very organised and practical.

Disliked: Internet connection.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings! We are happy you enjoyed your stay. We are aware of the fact that the internet can be slow sometimes when a lot of people are only. We are working on this. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Huge hostel with a good free breakfast and also very clean. Good option in Amsterdam! It's a hostel with lots of family.

Disliked: Wifi only in the hostel reception! Bed and pillow are uncomfortable (for 2-3 nights ok, more than that would be a problem for me). Regarding the shower I can say that little water comes out of it. The locker is very small, a small backpack will be hard to be accommodated.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you liked the breakfast and the cleanliness of our hostel. Wifi is indeed only available in the common area and in the bar. We believe that this encourages people to meet fellow travelers and share their experiences. We haven't heard many complains about our beds or pillows so I'm sure we could have arranged an other pillow or mattress for you. We hope you had a great time in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The general atmosphere of the hostel was very welcoming and warm.

Disliked: The shower was lacking in power, but the water was always warm.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you felt welcome and warm in our hostel. The showers usually have enough power, however they sometimes lack in power when many people are using the showers at the same time. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean. I love the orange color. Breakfast is really nice.

Disliked: We have four girls in one room. But only have three sockets. not very handy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear you liked our breakfast and our facilities! We are aware of the limited availability of outlets in the room. Therefore, we offer to charge electronic devices for free at the reception. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The breakfast is really good!

Disliked: Our bedroom seemed a little bit old.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review and ratings! We are happy to hear that you loved our breakfast. As for your comment about our rooms, we are glad to hear that you have high expectations of the hostel. We are planning on renovating a large number of rooms this coming year. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was in a really good location and walking places really wasn't far. It felt really safe as well. The breakfast was also really good!

Disliked: The shower, only because I'm use to mine!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear you like our location and breakfast! I understand your comment about the showers, but I'm sure the ones in the hostel are a close second! ;) Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere and the staff

Disliked: WiFi was available only in the hall

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear you liked your stay here. WiFi is only available in the common area because we want to encourage people to meet fellow travelers and share stories and experiences. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Check Availability