HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Amsterdam Hostel

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 91%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 5.33USD

Important Information

**Please note:

- that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian - that if there are children younger than 16 years part of the guests you are required to book a private room. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room.

" **Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable"

PLEASE NOTE-Cancellations:
If a reservation is made for one or more individuals, the following applies with respect to the cancellation of said reservation:

-If the cancellation is made before 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest is not obliged to pay anything to Stayokay.
-For cancellation after 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest will be required to pay Stayokay 100% of the reservation price.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 88%

Facilities 86%

Location 86%

Safety 91%

Staff 86%

Value 82%

Showing 71-80 of 136 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very professional yet friendly stuff. Very clean every corner of the building.Good location(tram stop, bus stop are nearby, and pretty park is just next to the building). I was very sick when I arrived, and the stuff prepare private room for me without saying anything(I booked a dorm but they offered me free upgrade).

Disliked: It is a big building so very likely there are big groups of teenegers maybe on their school trips. so you can imagine how exciting space it would be for them...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have groups staying with us from time to time, but I'm sure could have arranged something if they caused any inconvenience during your stay. We hope you felt better soon and that you were able to enjoy the city! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: was In a very good location, bed was comfortable enough

Disliked: had to buy a pad lock for lockers when it said on hostelbooker lockers were supplied

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and liked our location in the park. As for the lockers in your room, they are free to use but you do need to bring your own lock. This is also what the website says: "Towels and padlocks for the luggage lockers can be bought at the desk (or you can bring your own of course)". Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The breakfast was great! They provide bread, ham, cereal and even fruits!

Disliked: It is a little bit costly. Eur35 for a bunk bed.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast. We understand that Amsterdam is an expensive city, but we believe that we offer a really good price for what you get when you stay with us. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location. Cleanliness.

Disliked: Rude staff, awful ambience in the only common area which resembled the waiting room of a childrens hospital. Overcrowded breakfast queue. Expensive and unwelcoming bar area which discouraged socialising and was empty for our entire visit - and we were looking forward to a night drinking and socialising at our hostel.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you liked our location and cleanliness. We are sorry to hear you didn't like the ambience in the lobby, and that our staff was rude and/or unwelcoming. We will definitely look into this, as we consider hospitality and friendliness very important in our hostel. Please send us an email if you like to elaborate these points (service@vondelpark.stayokay.com). We hope you did enjoy your time in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms old and overall decoration is to industry like.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear you liked our location. We are proud to be in the park as well. We are also happy to hear that you had high expectations of the room. We can tell you that we will renovate a large part of our rooms later this year. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I really liked the location. It's next to Voldenpark which is very beautiful.

Disliked: I don't think i disliked something.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for you great review and amazing ratings. We are very happy to hear liked everything in the hostel and our location. We hope to welcome you back some other time soon! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fantastic location in arguably the nicest park in a city full of them. Bar deals every night didnt try them myself since i was exhausted after visiting the city each day. All in all great hostel breakfast included every morning with many organic options. Showers bathrooms clean, warm rooms for sleeping.

Disliked: There wasnt a lot of conversation between fellow travelers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are very happy to hear you had such a good stay with us. We are sorry to hear that there were not a lot of people around during your stay, but we are glad to know that you loved spending time in the city! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: . Breakfast was really good. Great location. The most confortable beds I've ever slept in on a hostel.

Disliked: No internet in the rooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and beds, and of course our beautiful location in the park! We only offer wifi in the common areas to encourage people to meet fellow travelers and share stories and experiences. Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway

Liked: it was good

Disliked: the room was too small

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review and great ratings. We are very happy to hear you had a good stay with us! We are sorry to hear that your room was a little smaller than you expected. Please let us know next time, as we might have bigger rooms available! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Large, great atmosphere, great location & staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are glad to know that you had a great time with us. We hope to see you again! Frank, Stayokay Vondelpark

Check Availability