We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Vondelpark

Hostel | Zandpad 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1054 GA

87.4% Overall Rating

2106 out of 2309 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/01/2015)

Bruno Martello thinks…

"Great location, very safe with all the numerous key-swiping requirements, big lockers, clean and warm showers. Close to everything you may want to see or do in Amsterdam. Very helpful and…"

Read all Stayokay Vondelpark reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.85

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**Please note: - that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian - that if there are children younger than 16 years part of the guests you are required to book a private room. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room. " **Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable"

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
23.59 USD

Hostel 85.9% 783 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
16.16 USD

Hostel 89.7% 1521 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
51.17 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Quentin England Hotel
37.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 34 reviews
Quentin Hotel
42.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.6% 16 reviews
Hotel Blyss
33.39 USD

Hotel 3 star 76.0% 12 reviews
Budget Hostel Princess
70.02 USD

Hostel 69.6% 16 reviews
Hotel Marnix City Centre
32.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.3% 1599 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.4%

Overall Rating

2106 out of 2309 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Vondelpark'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 1455 of 1691 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 58 | 59   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, location

Disliked: Unfriendly staff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nidal Masri

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Nidal would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, if a bit out of the way. The beds were comfortable

Disliked: The shower was very awkward to turn off

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked staying here, especially because of the secure bike shed and the location right at the beautiful Vondelpark. The eight ppl bedroom with its own shower/ bathroom was clean, nice, and big enough however we were only four people staying in the room most of the time. The breakfast buffet was good as well and the staff is friendly.

Disliked: The restrooms in the lobby were really smelly!!! We payed more than for an average hostel, however, we were charged extra for quite a lot of stuff, like lockers, that should have been included for 30€ a night. The wifi didn't work well, which can always happen but the staff didn't seem to be doing anything about it and a lot of people clogged up the reception with complaints about that. So if you needed anything else you had to wait forever, and that's annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly reception

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Larissa Santos Gomes

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the staff was really helpful, and I really enjoyed the atmosphere. Perfect for those who want to stay away from the busy part of the city.

Disliked: Even though the location is really pleasant (in front of the park and everything), it is not as central as could be, which is great if you want to stay away from the busy part of the town, but not that awesome if you want to party...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mali Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012

Liked: The breakfast was fabulous, the beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean. I felt very safe and secure and I appreciate the locker being right next to my bed for easy access during the night.

Disliked: I had an issue with the wifi not working on my laptop and the staff were not hugely helpful. I was told simply to use to communal computers, but you had to pay for them! In the end, they gave me 2 free hours on the communal computers (thanks!), but it took a lot of nagging and made me feel very stressed out. Also it is not an ideal hostel for a solo traveler simply because there is an enormous volume of travelers coming and going, making it hard to get to know anyone and hard to interact with the very busy staff. I think this is the ideal hostel for a group of people coming on holiday together.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Nias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: good bar, good location, good rooms and great staff

Disliked: a bit too... large. not great character

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large and clean rooms, the beds were pretty good as well

Disliked: the atmosphere wasn't great and not the best place to meet new people, because it's so big

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, clean place. Close to park, museums, etc.

Disliked: Really large, so it can feel impersonal, but I'm sure if you're outgoing enough, you could chat up people in the common area or in your dorm room. I thought it was a bit too expensive, but I thought that about most things in Amsterdam.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfull staff, breakfast is great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, location, renting a bycycle, breakfast

Disliked: /

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Claire Ward

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 August 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was the best we'd ever had at a hostel, the rooms were large and the beds were relatively comfortable

Disliked: The staff were a bit short with us upon arrival

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gerard collins

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

27 August 2012 gerard would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Tucked away in the leafy surrounds of Amsterdam's largest public park yet easy to find and easily reached by all public transport. Despite being very busy it ran like clockwork thanks to the highly efficient and friendly staff. Security was first class without making the guest feel like an inmate. The (free) breakfast was the best we have ever experienced in a European hostel. In fact I would say without exagggeration that the quality and choice of the food on offer was probably better than you would find in a 4 star hotel (taste the brown bread if you don't believe me!) The bar service also was relaxed, friendly and good value.

Disliked: The bedroom (4bed dorm) was a bit warm and stuffy in the August heat. The windows did not open out more than a few centimetres due to the security bars.Security makes you feel good but fresh air makes you feel even better. Perhaps the otherwise excellent administration team can look at this problem and come up with a compromise solution. The delicious freshness of the breakfast contrasted starkly with the jaded drivel of the records chosen as background music. Maybe it's time they invested in a spanking new " Best of TOTP" album!! - available from all good tat shops.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethan Stoll

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 Bethan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel provides a friendly and welcoming atmosphere, with the bar as an extra area to meet new people. Staff are helpful even when the desks are busy. The breakfast was excellent as was the location. It was my second stay there and i would definitely return.

Disliked: Bethan left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Millthorpe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: The large common room, with the couches and the area with the disco ball. It was very encouraging for meeting other people or just hanging out there. The room I stayed in had 6 beds, but was very spacious. The area outside is great for smokers to meet too. The fact that you could rent bikes right there from the hostel was great too. The staff was very nice. The large and varied breakfast easily made it the best hostel on our Europe trip.

Disliked: The information that the staff had about Amsterdam was outdated. There was two times that I was given directions to businesses that had since closed down. The map given is also outdated by a year and has some information that isn't true - for example, the map, and the staff, tell you that you can get an Amsterdam museum pass at any museum, and for cheaper if you're under 25. In fact not all museums sell it, and within the last year they changed the discount to if you're under 19.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost inside Vondelpark, really near the good places in Amsterdam

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Miriam Lee

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: Just beside the VondelPark,close to public transport (accessible carryin bags..), friendly staff and great facilites (internet, laundry, "restaurant" and bar..)

Disliked: Not so clean, but in hostel range good. Ambiance okay, have been to better ones..

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sónia Manuela Luís da Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2012 Sónia Manuela Luís da would recommend this property

Liked: Mindblowing! Everything at this hostel is tought through the tiniest detail! The building, the breakfast services, the lounge, the bar, everything is amazing, very organized and top quality. Gives a feeling as if u r staying in a hotel rather than an average hostel! I hightly recommend staying at this hostel, its the best i ever been to and surely over exceeds any expectation! Really safe, helpfull staff, great ambience and perfect location.

Disliked: I would say this hostel is perfect for groups or travelers with company. Its huge even tought theres comun areas, its not very straight forward to immediatly meet and hang out with other travelers. On the other hand, theres a bar, walking tours and the dorms r pretty big, you will surely find someone nice to talk to and not feel alone if u traveling by yourself.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was literally right on Vondel Park which was fantastic. You could walk outside and right into the big beautiful park. Breakfast was a nice big buffet. The place is cleaned very well too.

Disliked: They didn't have a luggage room which was definitely a downside when you have to check out by 10:30 and have a big heavy backpack you don't want to lug around the city.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thiago Moraes da Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012

Liked: It near sightseeing places like the Heineken, Hard Rock Cafe and the Museumplein !!!

Disliked: They don't organize pub crawls and walking tours! It not so good when you're travelling alone!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin DeLisio

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

19 July 2012 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Great service, discounts at the desk and lots of great people/security. Awesome stay!

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Within walking distance of everything and I loved being so close to Vondelpark, great place to run!!

Disliked: Nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very clean and spacious. Best beds we've had so far!

Disliked: It's just a little thing but there should be an option to buy 1/2 hour slots of internet for the computers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Ewen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, really helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble.Thanks especially to the lovely guy who helped me with directions. Lots of groups of youngsters, some families, and the occasional oldie.Good location to everything.Did I say great breakfast?

Disliked: Bit hard to socialise if you are by yourself

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Declan Tuffy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2012 Declan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with a great location right next to the Vondelpark and a few minutes walk to Leidseplein. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the en-suite bathroom was nice to have, even if it was a little utilitarian. Had very few issues, would definitely recommend.

Disliked: - Need to use expensive safes downstairs as in-room lockers not that secure - Hostel wifi coverage a bit patchy. -Atmosphere a bit sterile