We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Vondelpark

Hostel | Zandpad 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1054 GA

82.7% Overall Rating

2084 out of 2285 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"Stayokay was very clean and well kept. I felt safe leaving my belongings there and the beds were very comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning too."

Read all Stayokay Vondelpark reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You. City tax is not included, please pay upon arrival, €1.25 per person per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
20.11 USD

Hostel 85.7% 779 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
18.98 USD

Hostel 85.1% 1483 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
33.52 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Quentin England Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Quentin Hotel
30.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 14 reviews
Hotel Blyss
23.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hotel Princess
7.59 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Marnix City Centre
22.77 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.5% 1598 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

2084 out of 2285 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Vondelpark'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
83.2%
Value
70.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1441 of 1666 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 57 | 58   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Lennox

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The chef's choice nightly meal was excellent value and the bar staff were very friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: Unfortunately the guy that checked us in was rather unfriendly but he was the only thorn in an otherwise very hospitable experience. The bathroom needs a shower curtain as water sprays everywhere and is then trudge through the room. A shame wifi doesn't reach to the bedrooms (only in lobby)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is just like a hotel but with shared bedrooms. Nice and clean, good staff, good services.

Disliked: When it get large groups of people, specially students, the place is a but crowded and noise, but is not a problem if you dont care.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, not entirely in the centre but so close for walking.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, very friendly staff and a delicious breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jim whyte

Alone

City break

17 October 2012 jim would recommend this property

Liked: location with vondelpark just a few yards away

Disliked: jim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Mateus Ferreira de Oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2012 Rodrigo Mateus would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Best hostel in europe.

Disliked: I liked everything.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sankalp Jain

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 October 2012 Sankalp would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere,clean rooms and bathrooms, walking distance to canal cruise, Leidesplein party area,flower market,Hard Rock Cafe!Breakfast was good too.

Disliked: Check out time could have been a little later!10.30 was a bit too early after a late party night!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kapil Mehrotra

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2012 Kapil would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really helpful plus the location is also quite decent.. they organise free walking tours and Red light district tours, pub crawls etc so you will not have to look anywhere else for help.

Disliked: Its own bar was a little sad..but then you dont expect too many peple visiting Amsterdam to stay in the bar of the hostel..!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good service

Disliked: distance from central station.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Matteo Zanotti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping

01 October 2012 Matteo would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpfully staff! The free breakfast!

Disliked: The WiFi doesn't work very well and there no in the room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We enjoyed ourselves immensely

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife

24 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, location

Disliked: Unfriendly staff

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nidal Masri

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 Nidal would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, if a bit out of the way. The beds were comfortable

Disliked: The shower was very awkward to turn off

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked staying here, especially because of the secure bike shed and the location right at the beautiful Vondelpark. The eight ppl bedroom with its own shower/ bathroom was clean, nice, and big enough however we were only four people staying in the room most of the time. The breakfast buffet was good as well and the staff is friendly.

Disliked: The restrooms in the lobby were really smelly!!! We payed more than for an average hostel, however, we were charged extra for quite a lot of stuff, like lockers, that should have been included for 30€ a night. The wifi didn't work well, which can always happen but the staff didn't seem to be doing anything about it and a lot of people clogged up the reception with complaints about that. So if you needed anything else you had to wait forever, and that's annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly reception

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Larissa Santos Gomes

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2012 Larissa would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, the staff was really helpful, and I really enjoyed the atmosphere. Perfect for those who want to stay away from the busy part of the city.

Disliked: Even though the location is really pleasant (in front of the park and everything), it is not as central as could be, which is great if you want to stay away from the busy part of the town, but not that awesome if you want to party...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mali Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2012

Liked: The breakfast was fabulous, the beds were very comfortable and everything was very clean. I felt very safe and secure and I appreciate the locker being right next to my bed for easy access during the night.

Disliked: I had an issue with the wifi not working on my laptop and the staff were not hugely helpful. I was told simply to use to communal computers, but you had to pay for them! In the end, they gave me 2 free hours on the communal computers (thanks!), but it took a lot of nagging and made me feel very stressed out. Also it is not an ideal hostel for a solo traveler simply because there is an enormous volume of travelers coming and going, making it hard to get to know anyone and hard to interact with the very busy staff. I think this is the ideal hostel for a group of people coming on holiday together.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richard Nias

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: good bar, good location, good rooms and great staff

Disliked: a bit too... large. not great character

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: large and clean rooms, the beds were pretty good as well

Disliked: the atmosphere wasn't great and not the best place to meet new people, because it's so big

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice, clean place. Close to park, museums, etc.

Disliked: Really large, so it can feel impersonal, but I'm sure if you're outgoing enough, you could chat up people in the common area or in your dorm room. I thought it was a bit too expensive, but I thought that about most things in Amsterdam.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very helpfull staff, breakfast is great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff, location, renting a bycycle, breakfast

Disliked: /

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Claire Ward

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 August 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was the best we'd ever had at a hostel, the rooms were large and the beds were relatively comfortable

Disliked: The staff were a bit short with us upon arrival

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gerard collins

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday

27 August 2012 gerard would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location. Tucked away in the leafy surrounds of Amsterdam's largest public park yet easy to find and easily reached by all public transport. Despite being very busy it ran like clockwork thanks to the highly efficient and friendly staff. Security was first class without making the guest feel like an inmate. The (free) breakfast was the best we have ever experienced in a European hostel. In fact I would say without exagggeration that the quality and choice of the food on offer was probably better than you would find in a 4 star hotel (taste the brown bread if you don't believe me!) The bar service also was relaxed, friendly and good value.

Disliked: The bedroom (4bed dorm) was a bit warm and stuffy in the August heat. The windows did not open out more than a few centimetres due to the security bars.Security makes you feel good but fresh air makes you feel even better. Perhaps the otherwise excellent administration team can look at this problem and come up with a compromise solution. The delicious freshness of the breakfast contrasted starkly with the jaded drivel of the records chosen as background music. Maybe it's time they invested in a spanking new " Best of TOTP" album!! - available from all good tat shops.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bethan Stoll

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 Bethan would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel provides a friendly and welcoming atmosphere, with the bar as an extra area to meet new people. Staff are helpful even when the desks are busy. The breakfast was excellent as was the location. It was my second stay there and i would definitely return.

Disliked: Bethan left no negative feedback.