HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Amsterdam Hostel

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 4.83USD

Important Information

**Please note:

- that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room.

• Children under 12 years, is only allowed on private (family) rooms toghether with parents.
• Childeren aboven 12 years but under 18 years is allowed to stay in a shared room, but only in company of an adult
• Children under 18 years are allowed in company of an adult.

" **Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable"

PLEASE NOTE-Cancellations:
If a reservation is made for one or more individuals, the following applies with respect to the cancellation of said reservation:

-If the cancellation is made before 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest is not obliged to pay anything to Stayokay.
-For cancellation after 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest will be required to pay Stayokay 100% of the reservation price.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 83%

Location 86%

Safety 90%

Staff 83%

Value 82%

Showing 41-50 of 97 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the free breakfast!

Disliked: Internet is only accessible in public areas, leading to a lot of crowding in the lounge area. Furthermore, a rental service for larger towels would be appreciated. As it is, you can only buy a relatively small towel, which is rather inconvenient for travelers.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Easy to walk to everywhere in Amsterdam.

Disliked: The showers were awful.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: good breakfast

Disliked: no internet in the rooms, the bath is small.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Cleanliness, calm and quiet atmosphere when needed, games room and location!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Wow, thanks a lot for this great review!

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Frendly

Disliked: This is the only negative I can say about the hostel, I paid online via hostelbookers.com, the price advertised was £156.68 for 2 people for 2 nights. I paid a 12% deposit, so my total to pay should be £137.88.On arriving to the hostel the reception desk charged me £145.54, when i queried the price she said and i quote "its travelers fees". No one could give me any explanation as to what the additional charge was for.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for making the time to give us a review! Sometimes there's a difference with the price you saw online and the price you get at the desk because of the tourist tax which is not always named on the booking website. The tourist tax is €1,25.- per person per night. However, our receptionists are all aware of this. We're sorry you didn't get a better explanation and we'll check with the person who checked you in. We hope to see you back some day!

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Stayokay was very clean and well kept. I felt safe leaving my belongings there and the beds were very comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning too.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lovely hostel with a far bigger room than I had expected. The hostel had a friendly atmosphere, and even though it's slightly more expensive than a few other hostels the location was ideal, very easy to reach the centres of Amsterdam, busy nightlife 2-3 mins walking distance from the hostel yet I was never kept awake or annoyed by noisy clubbers. Plus the hostel were very understanding when two of the four people I had dropped out, and swapped the beds for boarders only costing me the dropouts cost of accommodation.

Disliked: It's hard to think of anything

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lovely hostel, lovely staff! A bit overpriced compared to other hostels but the safety and security was worth a bit of extra money

Disliked: Not enough plug sockets in the 20 bed female dorm, but to make up for it you could give your phone in at reception to charge!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the building itself, the park facing to the hostel, teh huge room I stayed

Disliked: no wifi in the room on the 4th floor, smaller common space on the ground floor compared to the accomodating capacity

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your time and we hope to see you back someday: at the end of this year we'll have wifi available in all the rooms..

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Clean friendly and in a good location

Disliked: Wifi in the rooms might be good?

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability