HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Vondelpark

Hostel | Zandpad 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1054 GA

83.1% Overall Rating

2083 out of 2284 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"Stayokay was very clean and well kept. I felt safe leaving my belongings there and the beds were very comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning too."

Read all Stayokay Vondelpark reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You. City tax is not included, please pay upon arrival, €1.25 per person per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
23.91 USD

Hostel 85.6% 777 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
27.83 USD

Hostel 82.9% 1476 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
43.96 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Quentin England Hotel
43.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Quentin Hotel
56.51 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 14 reviews
Hotel Blyss
39.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hotel Princess
10.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Marnix City Centre
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.5% 1598 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

2083 out of 2284 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Vondelpark'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1441 of 1665 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 57 | 58   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Pope

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: I liked how nice it was kept amd how it was easily accessinle to the tram system

Disliked: The wfi

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location next to Vondelpark and very close to Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum; lots of food choices nearby; large storage lockers in the rooms where you can lock up your stuff (if you have a padlock - or they can sell you one if you want); the lady at the desk gave me a discounted rate when I added a third night (normally would've been a more expensive 'weekend rate' because it was for a Friday night).

Disliked: Slightly disappointed that I was given top bunk and had to make the bed... Would've liked to be asked for bunk preference (top/bottom), because there was no one below me for two nights!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Matthew Carruth

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was filling with a variety of deli meats and cheese available. And the showers were of good quality and separate from the toilet so as to not create too big a morning usage problem

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Efficient and helpful, decent breakfast compared to other hostels

Disliked: Didn'tlike how the only showers were in the room itself, and

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Eric Seufert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Great facilities, nice location, very friendly and helpful staff, clean

Disliked: The hostel did feel a bit impersonal, being so large, and most of the people staying there seemed to be families and older groups -- more extreme budget travelers than backpackers. This gives the hostel a little bit of a bland, cheap hotel atmosphere, rather than the friendly, young and hip traveler atmosphere many backpackers seek. The hostel also charged for things that most places include in the price of the stay, such as towels (€4.50 to rent a towel!).

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good staff service, very well located, generous breakfast.

Disliked: The cost is expensive as a youth hostel

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ensuite toilet

Disliked: few mirrors and sinks, few plug points

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Massimo Jaconelli

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 March 2013 Massimo would recommend this property

Liked: The cleanliness and its location right next to the park

Disliked: I honestly can't fault this hostel

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Bike renting in the hostel. Nice structure and breakfast. Room medium.

Disliked: No hostel atmosphere at all ! Very disapointing ! Staff don't get much close with the customers. Too large lounge, nobody gets together and meet.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Erik Heitz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: They let us check-in and had our private room ready right at 7:30am. That was wonderful since we took an overnight charter bus and were both very tired when we arrived. Breakfast is free. The front desk is very helpful-- they printed things for me at no charge (tickets to Anne Frank house)

Disliked: Location is a bit far from the center. They didn't supply towels or even any kind of soap in the room. Breakfast was rather limited, and the hard boiled eggs were soft and cold. WIFI was only in the lobby.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jamie Carroll

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2013 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Its a great modern hostel with very large rooms and big open chill out area as well as a cool well priced small bar. Breakfasts are fantastic

Disliked: Quite difficult to find the first time.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is quite good, the staff friendly, you can book a lot of trips like canal cruises or bike rides cheaper at the hostel and the breakfast is amazing

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francisco Escobar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 Francisco would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels i`ve ever been

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and very friendly staff! The hostel is located near a nightlife area with many bars, restaurants and shops, and the Vondelpark next to the hostel is beautiful as well.

Disliked: The rooms were not as clean as we expected. On our arrival day, here was a lot of dust on the floor, expecially under the beds, and also in the bathroom.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great service, sufficient breakfast for a hostel

Disliked: FLoors quite unclean

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

08 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A

Disliked: Ni internet in rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Professionally run hostel. Very nice breakfast. They even had gluten-free and soy products available at the breakfast buffet. Bar staff was very accommodating.

Disliked: The covered walkway leading from the main building to where our rooms were was so frigid (since you are basically walking outside) it could have been the cause for me catching a cold. There were no toiletries in the rooms, not even a bar of soap.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

20 November 2012

Liked: Breakfast

Disliked: Filled with high school kids on school trips. Hostel is to big and impersonal to meet anyone . Showers are terrible not a good hostel for solo travel . Better in a party. Hostel at least you will meet people

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Love this place! The bar is cheap, the people who work here are really nice and service minded. The breakfest is great, lots of options and i just love the coffee machine. Overall, the hostel is clean and definetly worth the money. It gets quite after 10 in the evening (and people seem to respect this rule) which is awesome.

Disliked: NOTHING.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ezabella Copeland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2012 Ezabella would recommend this property

Liked: It's hard to say what I liked about this property because I don't know where to start, this is easily the best hostel I have ever stayed in. To name a few of my favorite things: - The staff are so welcoming and helpful, you will recieve the most incredible customer service here, I've never experienced anything like it in other places I have stayed. - The bar is cheap and has a 'chiefs choice' for dinner, a (huge) meal and a drink for only 7.50. - They have some great facilities- free wifi, computer use, a games room, bike hire, several vending machines, free brochures and info & a free walking tour. - The bedrooms are spacious and clean and you are given clean linen (sealed in plastic) to make your bed with. - The lobby is huge with heaps of couches, tables and a TV. - The free breakfast would have to be my favorite though, there were so many options for me (I'm gluten free) there was fruit and rice cakes with meat and cheese and free coffee (the vending machine kind with options for cappuccinos etc) and a big range of free teas to chose from. Also the breakfast room was huge and no matter how many guest there were (it is a big property) there was always somewhere to sit. -The park next door (Vondlepark) is incredibly beautiful. -It is also walking distance to restaurants,cinemas and tram stops. I was so sad to leave!

Disliked: Ezabella left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lov it

Disliked: Cool

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Simanjuntak

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 November 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: awesome location, clean rooms, lovely staffs..

Disliked: if only the wifi made it to the rooms instead of the public area only..

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

31 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a modern property.

Disliked: My room did not have a private shower in my room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 October 2012

Liked: Near a park, was safe and secure.

Disliked: Place did not have once ounce of community. Was completely sterile and expensive for drinks etc. Not a place if you want to meet people, felt like you are at a school camp. I would try and stay somewhere else whenever possible.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Limpio seguro ubicacion desayuno!

Disliked: Es un hostel grande, mas un hotel que un hostel mas caidos. Buena opcion si solo buscas ir a dormir y caminar.