HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Vondelpark

Hostel | Zandpad 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1054 GA

87.1% Overall Rating

2073 out of 2274 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

Sophie Sherlock thinks…

"Pretty modern with good services. Easy to book tours etc at reception with a discount. Really good buffet breakfast."

Read all Stayokay Vondelpark reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.97

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You. City tax is not included, please pay upon arrival, €1.25 per person per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
47.63 USD

Hostel 84.3% 775 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
33.17 USD

Hostel 82.7% 1458 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.45 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Quentin Hotel
57.05 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 14 reviews
Hotel Blyss
68.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 10 reviews
Hotel Marnix City Centre
33.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.3% 1597 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
27.86 USD

Hostel 62.1% 4268 reviews
Hotel Abba
44.24 USD

Hotel 1 star 81.7% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.1%

Overall Rating

2073 out of 2274 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Vondelpark'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
80.0%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 1434 of 1655 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 57 | 58   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast included; location right at the park and close to all the sights; lots of discounts for attractions in Amsterdam

Disliked: a lot of bigger groups that were mixed on the floors with "private" people

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

WEN YING KOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2014 WEN YING would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great! They provide bread, ham, cereal and even fruits!

Disliked: It is a little bit costly. Eur35 for a bunk bed.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was In a very good location, bed was comfortable enough

Disliked: had to buy a pad lock for lockers when it said on hostelbooker lockers were supplied

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

reda aktaou

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 March 2014 reda would recommend this property

Liked: it was good

Disliked: the room was too small

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2014

Liked: Location. Cleanliness.

Disliked: Rude staff, awful ambience in the only common area which resembled the waiting room of a childrens hospital. Overcrowded breakfast queue. Expensive and unwelcoming bar area which discouraged socialising and was empty for our entire visit - and we were looking forward to a night drinking and socialising at our hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARTEMIS TSIAPRAZI STAMOU

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 March 2014 ARTEMIS would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location. It's next to Voldenpark which is very beautiful.

Disliked: I don't think i disliked something.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms old and overall decoration is to industry like.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Arsenault

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location in arguably the nicest park in a city full of them. Bar deals every night didnt try them myself since i was exhausted after visiting the city each day. All in all great hostel breakfast included every morning with many organic options. Showers bathrooms clean, warm rooms for sleeping.

Disliked: There wasnt a lot of conversation between fellow travelers.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: . Breakfast was really good. Great location. The most confortable beds I've ever slept in on a hostel.

Disliked: No internet in the rooms.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jaclyn McCosker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: We had a room to ourselves

Disliked: No food in the rooms, and we got in serious trouble for exiting a door that we weren't allowed to, although it wasn't signed in any way. Cranky, irrational staff.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Peasgood

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast

Disliked: No wifi in rooms

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms, location

Disliked: No wifi in rooms, no towels provided, limited # of outlets

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good wi-fi. Safe and secure, pleasant staff. Clean rooms, great breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very friendly and lively. I liked how it was right next to the park and not far from the city center. The mini restaurant and bar was pretty cool and the breakfast was good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ali Kemal Arkun

Alone

Shopping

07 February 2014

Liked: Location is good. Some stuff is helpful.

Disliked: Türklere göre değil tavsiye etmiyorum. The receptionist gave me wrong room. I went to room the doors was open because there were cleaners and I openned by luggaes and placed everything on the lockers and placed my bed lines, I made my room ready to sleep. I checked the card again it was not working so I went to reception and talked with the receptionist who gave me wrong room and key. She said me that you took the wrong number. She accused me of taking wrong room number and key. I objected her and said you wrote the room number and gave me the wrong key. She didn't want to accept it. I lost two hours in the hostel to move from one room to another, I had to replace my belongings. The 10 bed dorm is very bad. Firstly because, the floor of the entrance of the room creates very disgusting and disturbing noise when one walk. The air ventilation is very noisy. It is difficult to sleep with thess noise. There two electric plugs in the room which very very less for 10 dorm. The bed is not wide and it is not easy to climb upper bed. Bedlinens was clean and very old. The how water in the bath is not functioning very well. There is no toilet paper in the WC. Breakfast is nomal but could be developed by adding vegetables

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dongjoo Seo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 January 2014 Dongjoo would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and cozy atmosphere. Friendly staffs. Good location for many museums and nightlife. And also nice breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing. It's perfect place for backpackers and budget travelers.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar staff in particular were very friendly, the girl that worked there recommended some amazing places to go at night and was always really happy. The wifi and lounge area was really relaxed and the bar had a great happy hour. Loved out stay here, breakfast was surprisingly good for free too!

Disliked: I was charged 9 euros more than my confirmation email told me I had left to pay for the stay. Not sure if this was because of the currency difference or whatever other reason but there was a large queue forming behind so I didn't feel I could question it at the time.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Júlia Valente

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Júlia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Bathroom could be cleaner

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Elmer Ivan Jimenez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Elmer Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the style

Disliked: I did not receive towels and soaps in the bathroom of the room

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Libby Hart

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 January 2014 Libby would recommend this property

Liked: Nice central location, friendly, helpful staff and good atmosphere.

Disliked: n/a

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aguinaldo Tavares

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping

07 January 2014 Aguinaldo would recommend this property

Liked: Very organised and practical.

Disliked: Internet connection.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Phil Kilpatrick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent breakfast. Nice area. Room was fine and showers always warm.

Disliked: No kitchen. Staff told my brother he would just have to eat what he bought as there was no fridge to store stuff (cheese,milk) Expensive to do washing. Big dining hall for breakfast but not used during the day it seems which is silly. Alot of school groups there. They just want you to eat in there bar-restaurant

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The general atmosphere of the hostel was very welcoming and warm.

Disliked: The shower was lacking in power, but the water was always warm.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge hostel with a good free breakfast and also very clean. Good option in Amsterdam! It's a hostel with lots of family.

Disliked: Wifi only in the hostel reception! Bed and pillow are uncomfortable (for 2-3 nights ok, more than that would be a problem for me). Regarding the shower I can say that little water comes out of it. The locker is very small, a small backpack will be hard to be accommodated.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ZHAO WU

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 December 2013 ZHAO would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. I love the orange color. Breakfast is really nice.

Disliked: We have four girls in one room. But only have three sockets. not very handy

The property's response is...