HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark Amsterdam Hostel

Zandpad 5, 1054 GA, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 5.47USD

Important Information

**Please note:

- that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian - that if there are children younger than 16 years part of the guests you are required to book a private room. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room.

" **Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable"

PLEASE NOTE-Cancellations:
If a reservation is made for one or more individuals, the following applies with respect to the cancellation of said reservation:

-If the cancellation is made before 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest is not obliged to pay anything to Stayokay.
-For cancellation after 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest will be required to pay Stayokay 100% of the reservation price.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 91%

Value 82%

Showing 11-20 of 134 reviews

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: They packed me breakfast for an early checkout and located close to the museums.

Disliked: It is a big chain so lacks in atmosphere and everything costs something. There is no kitchen and you are not allowed to bring food into the hostel?!?Good for a big group with an agenda. Not so good for a solo traveller.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for leaving a review,
we are glad that we could make you an early breakfast, unfortunately we can not offer a guest kitchen due to strict food and hygiene restrictions. Kind regards

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The availablilty of private rooms as well as dormitories. Everything was clean and the layout was fun and convenient.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review,
we are very happy that you had a great stay with us!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Really clean, neat and well maintained rooms. Pretty good breakfast is also included. The staff are also helpful.

Disliked: I went to book bicycles a day before and they said to come when you need the cycles and we will give them to you. I went at 9am the next day when they start renting and they said its all gone!! In my opinion the Hostel`s too big with loads of people and that could be the reason.I also emailed the Hostel 3 days in advance to pre-pone my stay by 2 nights. They refused but gave me a number of another Stayokay hostel in Amsterdam. Their phone went unanswered and I called several times.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review,
glad to know that you liked the breakfast and our staff!!! Sorry about the bike, we do not keep bikes reserved unless you pre-book them via our own website. Sorry to hear that by the time you came they were are all rented out, but usually there will be bikes returned about every half hour. Kind regards and have a great day!

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean And staff were keen to help and very friendly

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to all the main attractions & easy to hire a bike to get around.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Well located. Reasonably clean. Decent breakfast.

Disliked: Had to wait in a long que to check in.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there, thanks for your review!
We have actually just recently simplified the check in process, hopefully next time you will not have to wait that long in line!
Kind regards

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice staff and reasonable location. Breakfast is also good.

Disliked: Low value for moeny

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: In the park, quite quiet ! Clean bed! Room quite big

Disliked: Bathroom smell not good! Floor a bit old when people walked by can hear the noise!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello, thanks for your review! A part of the building is a monument, sometimes the floor can make noise. The bathroom should smell clean and nice, please come to the reception next time so we can fix it for you immediately. Sorry for the inconvenience. We are glad you liked the location, rooms and beds! We hope to see you again. Thanks for staying with us!

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Next to Vondelpark.

Disliked: Security strict.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean and felt very safe. Staff was friendly and welcoming and was willing to help with anything.

Disliked: Only dislike is that for a 14 person room, I wish there was more than 1 toilet.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the review! We are glad you had a good stay with us!

Check Availability