HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Vondelpark

Hostel | Zandpad 5, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1054 GA

83.1% Overall Rating

2083 out of 2284 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

"Stayokay was very clean and well kept. I felt safe leaving my belongings there and the beds were very comfortable. Great breakfast in the morning too."

Read all Stayokay Vondelpark reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Bicycle hire
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You. City tax is not included, please pay upon arrival, €1.25 per person per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
21.38 USD

Hostel 85.6% 777 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
26.57 USD

Hostel 82.9% 1476 reviews
hotel vossisvondelpark
40.80 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Quentin England Hotel
43.96 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.5% 32 reviews
Quentin Hotel
49.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 74.9% 14 reviews
Hotel Blyss
39.53 USD

Hotel 3 star 77.1% 11 reviews
Hotel Princess
10.12 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Marnix City Centre
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 64.5% 1598 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.1%

Overall Rating

2083 out of 2284 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Vondelpark'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 1441 of 1665 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 57 | 58   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Wallace

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: The property has a great location on the park. It is within walking distance or a short tram ride to most sites and areas of the city.

Disliked: This is a large hostel and hosts many groups. Unfortunately, sometimes those groups are made up of school-age children, which is not exactly what most adults are expecting to encounter when traveling.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phillip Hughes

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2014 Phillip would recommend this property

Liked: Large, great atmosphere, great location & staff were very friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

oliver dudley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2014 oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, fun atmosphere and helpful staff.

Disliked: Having to make bed on arrival.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of the room, bathroom facilities divided into 3 ensuite rooms, and breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

30 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: Smokers close to main door

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice rooms, comfortable beds, nice showers and toilets within the rooms, bar in the main room, breakfast in the morning, bike rentals, right next to the amazing Vondelpark

Disliked: Long waits to ask or do anything at reception. No free luggage storage, although it wasn't too expensive.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yuki abw

Alone

Visiting friends or family

22 April 2014 yuki would recommend this property

Liked: Very professional yet friendly stuff. Very clean every corner of the building. Good location(tram stop, bus stop are nearby, and pretty park is just next to the building). I was very sick when I arrived, and the stuff prepare private room for me without saying anything(I booked a dorm but they offered me free upgrade).

Disliked: It is a big building so very likely there are big groups of teenegers maybe on their school trips. so you can imagine how exciting space it would be for them...

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast included; location right at the park and close to all the sights; lots of discounts for attractions in Amsterdam

Disliked: a lot of bigger groups that were mixed on the floors with "private" people

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

WEN YING KOH

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2014 WEN YING would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great! They provide bread, ham, cereal and even fruits!

Disliked: It is a little bit costly. Eur35 for a bunk bed.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was In a very good location, bed was comfortable enough

Disliked: had to buy a pad lock for lockers when it said on hostelbooker lockers were supplied

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

reda aktaou

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

20 March 2014 reda would recommend this property

Liked: it was good

Disliked: the room was too small

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

19 March 2014

Liked: Location. Cleanliness.

Disliked: Rude staff, awful ambience in the only common area which resembled the waiting room of a childrens hospital. Overcrowded breakfast queue. Expensive and unwelcoming bar area which discouraged socialising and was empty for our entire visit - and we were looking forward to a night drinking and socialising at our hostel.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ARTEMIS TSIAPRAZI STAMOU

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 March 2014 ARTEMIS would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the location. It's next to Voldenpark which is very beautiful.

Disliked: I don't think i disliked something.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Rooms old and overall decoration is to industry like.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Arsenault

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

07 March 2014 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location in arguably the nicest park in a city full of them. Bar deals every night didnt try them myself since i was exhausted after visiting the city each day. All in all great hostel breakfast included every morning with many organic options. Showers bathrooms clean, warm rooms for sleeping.

Disliked: There wasnt a lot of conversation between fellow travelers.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: . Breakfast was really good. Great location. The most confortable beds I've ever slept in on a hostel.

Disliked: No internet in the rooms.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Jaclyn McCosker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: We had a room to ourselves

Disliked: No food in the rooms, and we got in serious trouble for exiting a door that we weren't allowed to, although it wasn't signed in any way. Cranky, irrational staff.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Peasgood

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast

Disliked: No wifi in rooms

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spacious rooms, location

Disliked: No wifi in rooms, no towels provided, limited # of outlets

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good wi-fi. Safe and secure, pleasant staff. Clean rooms, great breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very friendly and lively. I liked how it was right next to the park and not far from the city center. The mini restaurant and bar was pretty cool and the breakfast was good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ali Kemal Arkun

Alone

Shopping

07 February 2014

Liked: Location is good. Some stuff is helpful.

Disliked: Türklere göre değil tavsiye etmiyorum. The receptionist gave me wrong room. I went to room the doors was open because there were cleaners and I openned by luggaes and placed everything on the lockers and placed my bed lines, I made my room ready to sleep. I checked the card again it was not working so I went to reception and talked with the receptionist who gave me wrong room and key. She said me that you took the wrong number. She accused me of taking wrong room number and key. I objected her and said you wrote the room number and gave me the wrong key. She didn't want to accept it. I lost two hours in the hostel to move from one room to another, I had to replace my belongings. The 10 bed dorm is very bad. Firstly because, the floor of the entrance of the room creates very disgusting and disturbing noise when one walk. The air ventilation is very noisy. It is difficult to sleep with thess noise. There two electric plugs in the room which very very less for 10 dorm. The bed is not wide and it is not easy to climb upper bed. Bedlinens was clean and very old. The how water in the bath is not functioning very well. There is no toilet paper in the WC. Breakfast is nomal but could be developed by adding vegetables

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dongjoo Seo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 January 2014 Dongjoo would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and cozy atmosphere. Friendly staffs. Good location for many museums and nightlife. And also nice breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing. It's perfect place for backpackers and budget travelers.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The bar staff in particular were very friendly, the girl that worked there recommended some amazing places to go at night and was always really happy. The wifi and lounge area was really relaxed and the bar had a great happy hour. Loved out stay here, breakfast was surprisingly good for free too!

Disliked: I was charged 9 euros more than my confirmation email told me I had left to pay for the stay. Not sure if this was because of the currency difference or whatever other reason but there was a large queue forming behind so I didn't feel I could question it at the time.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Júlia Valente

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Júlia would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Bathroom could be cleaner

The property's response is...