HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Amsterdam Hostel

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 75%

Location 94%

Safety 84%

Staff 92%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Steam room
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 5.48USD

Important Information

**Please note:

- that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian - that if there are children younger than 16 years part of the guests you are required to book a private room. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room.

**Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time).

PLEASE NOTE-Cancellations:
If a reservation is made for one or more individuals, the following applies with respect to the cancellation of said reservation:

-If the cancellation is made before 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest is not obliged to pay anything to Stayokay.
-For cancellation after 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest will be required to pay Stayokay 100% of the reservation price.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 75%

Location 94%

Safety 84%

Staff 92%

Value 73%

Showing 61-70 of 84 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loction was perfect to all sites and train.

Disliked: 20 in a small room. Very loud, every door opening wakes you up. The bathrooms and shower were co-ed which was uncomfortable. ONE outlet in the room for charging phones.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review!

Great to hear that you enjoyed our location!
Did you let our reception know that you had it difficult to sleep, we might have moved you to a different room.
Did you know that we have single sex bathrooms one floor up from the shared bathrooms? You can leave your electronics at the reception to be charged.

We hope you enjoyed Amsterdam!
Kind Regards, Anna from Stayokay

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was great - a good choice of food and drinks. The location was perfect which made it easy to get to different parts of the city.

Disliked: There are hardly any plugs to charge your electronics. In our dorm for 8 people there were only 2 plugs and they were in awkward places. However, it was possible to leave your electronics with reception to charge - but this was only found out on the last day!Also, the toilets and showers weren't the cleanest but were acceptable.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your response and rating!
We are really proud of our staff! Good to hear that you liked our breakfast, a great start of a day in Amsterdam.
Sorry to hear that you found out on the last day about charging your electronics. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind Regards, Anna from Stayokay

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was helpful and understanding.

Disliked: The rules were very strict for a hostel, making it a chore to stay there.


The property's response is

Thank you for your response! The staff is great!! We are a bit suprised that you found the rules strict. There are not a lot of rules other then no drugs and alcohol in the room and respect for your neigbours in the hostel after 10PM. You can always get in the hostel with your door key, there is not a curfew. Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Was quite a large hostel, in a good location, 5 min walk from Dam square. Was hard to meet people as they were all doing their own thing, but met some fun people from the hostel on the walking tour. Relatively clean, but annoying that there was only two plug sockets between 20. All in all, a pretty good hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was an extremely safe and very clean hostel. The rooms were huge so it didn't feel like you were stuck in a stuffy room with so many people. I also loved that you could lock all your stuff up directly in the room. Even though it was a shared bathroom facility, it was very clean and there was never a line for showers! Breakfast was also very good!

Disliked: The room only had a few electrical outlets, none of which were located close to the beds. They also didn't have a bar or a big common area where you could visit with other people staying at the hostel making it a bit more difficult to meet other travellers.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your response and rating!

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our hostel and facilities.
Did you know that you can leave your electronics at reception? We charge them for you and you can pick them up 24/7. Since we are in a monumental building it is not possible to have loads of electrical outlets. Our lobby is where guests meet, the TV room in the back of the building and the long breakfast tables.

Kind Regards, Anna from Stayokay

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Mostly every above, but the service was great, awesome staffs

Disliked: \\none

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your 100% rating! Great that you enjoyed our staff!! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Stadsdoelen

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I strongly recommend this property to any kind of travellers. We were a group of 4 our traveling was kind of backpacking ripe and the hostel acomplished our expectations. There were a family with kids and couples in the hostel and they looked happy as well. The location is great, the breakfast is really good, everything is clean. The bathrooms smelled a little but that's normal giving the fact that you're sharing with all the people.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great review and kind words! We do have guests from all ages :)We hope to see you again! Anna, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and really friendly staff.

Disliked: Lacking in atmosphere due to no bar/kitchen/real common room area.


The property's response is

Thank you for your response and rating! Good to hear that you liked our location and staff! Sorry to hear about the atmosphere, we have a lobby/lounge, outside patio, TVroom and in the morning the breakfast area. We hope you enjoyed your stay! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Stadsdoelen

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good location, nice clean facilities, staff were very helpful and free wifi :) I would stay here again

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for the great review and kind words!! See you hopefully soon again! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Vondelpark

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location! Close to the best part of Amsterdam and walkable from central station. Breakfast is a highlight too!

Disliked: The bathroom is TERRIBLE! Not only it is far from being clean, it is shared from men and women, so you need to take a shower and change clothes in the same box, which is wet! So you need to chose between being naked in front of the other gender or have pants wet or even try some circus abilituies to change in a wet small box.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for response and review! Awsome that you enjoyed our location and organic breakfast! Sorry to hear about the bathroom not being clean. We received great reviews lately about the cleanliness, we will look into that. We have a shared bathroom on the first floor. There are only girls and only man bathrooms on the second floor, sorry to hear that you did not know about them. We hope that you had a good stay! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Check Availability