HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Amsterdam Hostel

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 91%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Steam room
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 5.05USD

Important Information

**Please note:

- that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room.

**Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time).

PLEASE NOTE-Cancellations:
If a reservation is made for one or more individuals, the following applies with respect to the cancellation of said reservation:

-If the cancellation is made before 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest is not obliged to pay anything to Stayokay.
-For cancellation after 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest will be required to pay Stayokay 100% of the reservation price.

• Children under 12 years, is only allowed on private (family) rooms toghether with parents.
• Childeren aboven 12 years but under 18 years is allowed to stay in a shared room, but only in company of an adult
• Children under 18 years are allowed in company of an adult.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 91%

Value 73%

Showing 51-58 of 58 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and amenities, spacious and good location. I will definitely be returning.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your amazing review and ratings! We are very happy to hear loved your stay at our hostel! We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was very clean and organised. Helpful and super friendly staff. Only think is there needs to be more wall sockets for charging phones etc. but otherwise, couldn't recommend it more!

Disliked: Lack of wall sockets

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings! We are glad to hear you liked your stay and we very much appreciate it that you would recommend our hostel! We are aware of the fact that there are not enough outlets in the rooms. Therefore we offer to charge electronic devices for free at the reception. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's in the center of Amsterdam and within walking distance to many attractions. Decent price and helpful staff, open 24 hours so there is no problem about night hours. Also, special discount on tickets for boat tour and some other tours.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are very happy to you loved your stay in our hostel! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, close to the Dam and at a walking distance from the central station. There were lockers in the room and we could bring our own padlocks or buy one there. The staff was friendly.

Disliked: I think it was very expensive, but I guess you can't avoid this in Amsterdam.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are happy to hear you liked your stay at our hostel. You are right about Amsterdam being expensive, but we do our very best to give our guests the best possible facilities and experience in our hostel. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: StayOkay Stadsdoelen is in a superb location! It's less than five minutes from a row of eateries and about ten minutes from Dam Square, which is central to everything in Amsterdam. You can walk anywhere from Dam Square so this is a perfect location. There are lockers in the lobby room if you arrive before check in or want to stay in the area after. And there are also lockers in a hallway just outside the dorm room that are pretty large and assigned to each bed.Cool building.Staff was friendly. They called a cab for us the morning we left. And they give out free maps and tons of discount cards!

Disliked: There were only 2 outlets in our room which were occupied the whole time, but they provide a couple power strips downstairs in the lobby so just go at an off time and you can charge your stuff in no time.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear you liked your stay here so much! You are right about the outlets in the rooms, therefore we also offer to charge electronic devices for free at the reception :) Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Pretty good location, breakfast included

Disliked: No communication between staff. They gave us the wrong bed, which resulted in numerous difficulties and conflicting instructions from different staff members.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! We happy to hear you liked our location, we are very proud to be located along the canals. We are sorry to hear you had some issues with bed allocation. We will definitely look into what happened! Frank, HI Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: - It was fairly quiet, though there were rooms of 20 people- secure lockers were definitely helpful

Disliked: no real hostel atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very close to city centre, metro station and very secure. Provide breakfast. Have lockers. Sells stamps

Disliked: No wifi in room. Only in lobby and TV room

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: What I liked most about this property was the location, breakfast service and lockers. The rest of it was not so good.

Disliked: Rooms were very noise, 20 beds in one room is way too much! You don't have a very good sleep, but the perfect location is worth it.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location, perfect if you want to be a little further out from the centre but only a 10 min walk or 2 min tram journey into the centre.

Disliked: Toilets could be cleaner

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your response and rating!
Great to hear that you realy liked our location! You are right in the city centre!
We have made a note of your comment about the toilets. The toilets are cleaned twice a day.

Kind Regards, Anna from Stayokay

Check Availability