We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Hostel | Kloveniersburgwal 97, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1011 KB

79.4% Overall Rating

980 out of 1153 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Ryan Jones thinks…

"The rooms are basic and you get what you pay for. The beds were comfortable and were sturdy and didn't creek like many other bunk beds. The breakfast service was excellent. There was a friendly…"

Read all Stayokay Stadsdoelen reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.83

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You. City tax is not included, please pay upon arrival, €0.85 per person per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Rembrandtplein Hotel
45.32 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.8% 900 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
97.11 USD

Apartment 81.8% 40 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
19.42 USD

Hostel 91.0% 314 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
24.60 USD

Hostel 80.6% 926 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
44.14 USD

Hostel 87.4% 1105 reviews
Central Station Hostel
28.47 USD

Hostel 74.3% 193 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
32.37 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.72 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1296 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

980 out of 1153 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Stadsdoelen'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 734 of 855 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location of property in Amsterdam Centre allows for sightseeing on foot as opposed to expensive bus tours. Hostel easily reached in about 20 minutes walking from Central Station. The rooms a spacious with generous sized lockers available in roooms. Breakfast was included in price which saves time and some cash. My room was cleaned dailly. Beds o.k.This was my second visit to this hostel and I would return again if visiting Amsterdam.Reception team were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The hostel could do with a quiet room for reading and relaxing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Farrugia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: 2 bed room was okay, lots of room. Good location and a bit quieter than the party hostels.

Disliked: 2 bed rooms have no private facilities. Had to go down 2 floors for the female showers, but even then they are mixed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daria Fokina

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2012 Daria would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, just in the centre, close to everything. The rooms are big and no matter how many people are there - I got enough sleep :) Breakfast is nice, everything is comfortable. +fast WiFi

Disliked: Water in showers was a bit cold. That's all I could even dislike :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alex Havlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Primarily, the location. Pretty hard to get much better than that. Cleanliness was probably above average despite some flaws staff attitudes ranged from acceptable to friendly.

Disliked: That my room's only light was situated right next to my head, which woke me a couple of times when people decided they needed to turn the light on for some reason at midnight/1am. And then people asked me to turn "my" light off. Whatever... Could use better wording in their self-description. Their choice in music. Lobby was bland for my tastes - attractive for people who want a no-fuss place to sleep, not much else. toilet areas were left with pools of water after cleaning, many of which remained for hours. Felt expensive for what it was (basic, no frills other than breakfast included) but 20% cleaner than your average hostel).

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very large place. Very nice and clean. Only defect is that there is only one electric outlet to recharge batteries. Free wifi but if you don't have a computer or smart phone, you have to pay to use the computers there.

Disliked: Some of the people staying in the room where very noisy when coming in. But most of them where friendly/nice.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Cristóbal Tapia Camú

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Cristóbal would recommend this property

Liked: I liked this hostel. It is very good located. You have the Rembrandt square just a few minutes away by walking, where you can go in the night. Going to the red light district is also very easy and fast. The staff was very nice and answered all my questions and geve me directions whenever i needed. There is also couple of sofas where you can seat and meet some people after a hard day of tourism.

Disliked: The badrooms could be more clean, but it isn't really that bad.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very easy to get to and there were lots of flyers and things around with ideas of places to visit.

Disliked: The breakfast was a piece of bread

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room and baths was very clean. Staff was very extremely friendly. Location is not best but very close to main areas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really clean. well breakfast.

Disliked: nothing.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Declan Groat

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 January 2012 Declan would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty good location, not far to walk for anything and it's really easy to find. Everyone seemed friendly enough and the rooms were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Only thing I would have liked was a toilet in the dorm, having to walk upstairs was a bit of a hassle when coming back after a night out.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free sheets, internet connection, lot of space.

Disliked: Little bit dirty. No handtowels in toilets.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ceri Price

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 January 2012 Ceri would recommend this property

Liked: Nice Hostel, within walking distance of the lively centre of Amsterdam. Rooms were basic but clean. No curfew so could stay out until the early hours. Plenty of other sociable people staying at the hostel so quite easy to make friends. Personal lockers to keep things safe. Cheap deals for local attractions available.

Disliked: Not many sockets in the room for charging phones/camera.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well located

Disliked: Didnt sleep well, was a little too humid for me in January.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Nicole Sharkey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012

Liked: The location of this hostel is really great. I never had to take the metro or tram to anywhere j wanted to go because it was easy to walk to everything. Free breakfast was also really delicious. definitely check out the free tour advertised at the hostel. It was the best decision we made with a limited time and small budget.

Disliked: The staff at the desk were really unhelpful and far from friendly. Anytime i asked them anything I felt as if my question was a burden and in many cases they didn't even know anything about the tours being advertised. Since our stay the floors remained dirty and the bathrooms were not cleaned. There was only 1 outlet in the room for 16 beds. Not to mrntion that it's the only stayokay Amsterdam that doesn't have a bar or place to eat, which really kills the atmosphere.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

paula morris

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2012 paula would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean,spacious,Nice breakfast,warm.

Disliked: No kitchen to cook your own food,not enough space to chil out..only 4 sofas.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie Heinemann

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals

03 January 2012 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Very good breakfast, nice staff, nice dormatories with lots of space. Excellent location.,

Disliked: No paper towels, not enough outlits for your charger, no personal bed lamp, not a very comfy tv room, no bar or social room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

D Runneboom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

16 December 2011 D would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly staff. Perfect location. This time the bathroom and showers were very clean too like the rest of the hostel. Male and female dorms separated which is always a plus. Free wifi and NO bedbugs. This place is cheap and very recommended!

Disliked: Why do you make me write dislikes when I do not have them? This is a silly option.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is kind and friendly

Disliked: Just one socket outlet in a sixteen beds room is inadequate!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jennifer Williams

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 December 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was great, lots on offer. Staff were friendly and helpful. Located in a beautiful part of town, close to everything and easy to find. For a 16 bed dorm, there is plenty of space, very airy, not smelly or cramped!! Also, very quiet, considering its Amsterdam!

Disliked: Not the most character-ful place I've been, but am willing to give up on that for all the other excellent things!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shravan Krishnan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Shravan would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the Centraal station, so getting to it after a flight+train journey was easy and fast... Breakfast, though not massive, was quite good. And free Wi-Fi!

Disliked: One of my friends thought that the toilets were catering to too many people, and wished to have a bit more cleanliness. My personal issue with the rooms was not enough plug points for my phone and camera chargers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Gianiny Dorneles

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2011 Gianiny would recommend this property

Liked: everything you need you can find there, a lot of facilities breakfast is very good

Disliked: the toilets should clean more times during the day the towel is very expensive to buy, you can't rent some with a cheaper price besides having a poor quality

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Mark Tang

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: There is good breakfast, big lockers and comfortable common room

Disliked: I type this review now irritated at their receptionist going a little crazy, banging tables and slamming doors every other 5 minutes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place

Disliked: Not much

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: You need to bring a padlock or pay 5€ to buy one in the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was really nice, good atmosphere, cool furniture

Disliked: nothing