HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Amsterdam Hostel

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 91%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Steam room
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 5.05USD

Important Information

**Please note:

- that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room.

**Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time).

PLEASE NOTE-Cancellations:
If a reservation is made for one or more individuals, the following applies with respect to the cancellation of said reservation:

-If the cancellation is made before 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest is not obliged to pay anything to Stayokay.
-For cancellation after 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest will be required to pay Stayokay 100% of the reservation price.

• Children under 12 years, is only allowed on private (family) rooms toghether with parents.
• Childeren aboven 12 years but under 18 years is allowed to stay in a shared room, but only in company of an adult
• Children under 18 years are allowed in company of an adult.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 91%

Value 73%

Showing 41-50 of 57 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The internet signal was poor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you like our location. The wifi signal can be slow when a lot of people are online. We are working on fixing this. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The breakfast services provided is pretty good and the staffs are friendly. The decoration if hostel overall is nice.

Disliked: The room was too dim , and just one socket available for 8 people. This is incredible crazy. It should be 20 female dorm but there was a man staying with us. Besides that, the location and place is quite difficult to spot, please do make yourself more visible for guest. The toilet should be clean more often and we can smell it *pinch nose.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked our breakfast, staff and atmosphere. We are sorry to hear that there was a mixed up which caused a guy be in the female dorm. We hope you mentioned this to the staff so that they rearranged this. Also, we are aware of the limited number of sockets in the rooms. Therefore, you can charge your device for free at the reception. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great location, really helpful staff. Would recommend!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank for your great review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: To myself big surprise was nice relation between prize and quality of my living in Statsdoelen. I'll recomendate for my friends staying in Stayokey hostels around the world and in Stadsdoelen in particular

Disliked: One day i wake up at the earliest morning becouse two unpolites person push the light in the room and long time prepered go out

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your great review and ratings. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you again some other time! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Its very close to city center. And good staff they were very friendly.

Disliked: I did not like that i have to sit in the lobby to charge my phone. And I couldnt pay since i arrived at night, instead they took my passport as insurance which i didnt like.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to know that your enjoyed our location in the center of the city. We are sorry to hear that you didn't like to charge your phone in the lobby. We charge electronic devices for free at the reception, you can pick them up whenever you like. There are a lot of outlets in the bar as well. We keep the passports at a very secure location. But you can also pay cash during the night, if you have exact change. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff at the reception and the bar. Property is 3 mins walk to Dam Square. Breakfast is bonus.

Disliked: 20 shared dorm looked very dull and dark. It needs redecorating. Lack of sockets in the room to charge the phone.


The property's response is

Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you liked our staff, location and breakfast. We are aware of the fact that there are not a lot of sockets in the rooms. Therefore, you can charge your device for free at the reception. There are also a lot of outlets in the bar and lobby. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good convenient location. Much closer to Red Light District than advertised. Great complimentary breakfast.

Disliked: The rooms had no privacy. The bathrooms were all same-sex, and it did not feel very clean. The lockers were outdated, and the rooms sometimes felt unsafe. I made my bed in the morning and came back to a rather messy bed, proving that a stranger must have napped in it while I was gone. The rooms were loud all hours of the night, and I honestly had terrible nights of sleep during my stay. They allowed people to check in at 3AM, and our room mates were all very loud and drunk.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear liked our breakfast and location. We are sorry to hear that you didn't really have a good night of sleep. We understand that it's a bit annoying that people come in at 3am, but we believe that it is a good service to be open 24/7. Also, I'm sure that we could have arranged a different room for you if you had trouble sleeping. We do hope you had a great time in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here it was centrally located, clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Needs a stronger wifi signal in the building and more places to charge electronics

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware of the outlets, therefore you can charge electronic devices for free at the reception. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The free breakfast and free lockers and security are all great.

Disliked: The bathrooms are really gross and the breakfast is basically just all bread.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you liked our breakfast and security facilities. We are sorry to hear that the bathrooms were not clean during your stay. We will definitely look into what happened, as they should be cleaned twice a day. We serve bread, fresh fruit and cereals for breakfast, but we are always open for suggestions. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Check Availability