HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Hostel | Kloveniersburgwal 97, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1011 KB

83.7% Overall Rating

978 out of 1148 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/08/2014)

"The people at the front desk are extremely friendly and helpful. It is nice to have breakfast included."

Read all Stayokay Stadsdoelen reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.94

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You. City tax is not included, please pay upon arrival, €0.85 per person per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Rembrandtplein Hotel
46.17 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 898 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
65.96 USD

Apartment 81.8% 40 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
39.58 USD

Hostel 91.2% 313 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
25.07 USD

Hostel 79.8% 924 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
49.47 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1101 reviews
Central Station Hostel
29.01 USD

Hostel 71.4% 186 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
32.98 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
43.40 USD

Hostel 91.8% 1290 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.7%

Overall Rating

978 out of 1148 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Stadsdoelen'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
80.8%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 729 of 850 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristian Giuppone

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 May 2012 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great.

Disliked: We stay in a 20 bed room. They don't have plugs for batteries or celular inside the rooms. If you arrive earlier you need to pay a locker to leave your luggage. They don't have limitation on age: the dorm contiguous to ours have 10 indian persons above 50's and the costumes are in opposite to occidental rules and if we stay at that dorm would be unsoportable (smells, and costumes from them)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: snoring roommate, haha

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thomas robb

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: central to all interests

Disliked: people sleeping all day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael williams

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, well run and organised system for breakfasts and laundry, all locks worked plenty of large secure lockers

Disliked: quite a few steps as with all dutch acccomodation,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diyuan Hu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2012 Diyuan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location Great breakfast

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and was in an ideal location for what we wanted to do.

Disliked: Our group was split up which wasn't ideal. Staff not all that friendly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012

Liked: The rooms are very spacious and it's very secure. It's a fairly close walk to everything as well.

Disliked: The staff were a little rude and too strict. You weren't aloud to bring any food in, even things you wanted to snack on later (ie leftovers from dinner). You couldn't put anything in the fridge. Also, they cleaned both bathrooms at the same time everyday for about an hour, so you would end up stuck waiting around not being able to shower. And of course there was no signage about this. They do have a continental breakfast but it's only from 730-930, which I found was pretty short and pretty early. We never got to catch it. On holiday I usually like to sleep in somewhat... I come every year to Amsterdam and used this hostel the last 2 years, but will be going elsewhere next year.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Edward Chambers

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 May 2012 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Safe Secure and Clean

Disliked: Absolutely no character, atmosphere or opportunity for meeting people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yong Wang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Yong would recommend this property

Liked: Accually due to a accident of train in the Nederland, we didn;t appear on the first day, and I called them late that night, they simply wiped away my worry for they understand me for not showing up. The second day, we arrived in Amsterdam and got great help from the stuff. One of them helped me to organize the trip to Volandam correct some of mistakes in my travel plan and do me a budget.

Disliked: Nothing...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very near to bars and cafes.

Disliked: The showers were on a different floor to my room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the helpfulness of the staff. The closeness to the centre and the nice bars around the hostel.

Disliked: The showers weren't that clean as I would like to have. A lot of hair and dirt on the bathroom floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonas Pauliukevicius

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: it was quiet, so had a good sleep. location is superb.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Saurabh Jain

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

22 April 2012 Saurabh would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Location: Its only 10-12 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central. Also Red light area is just 2 min walking. All the good joints are nearby. 2. Staff was very friendly and they were cooperative. 3. Breakfast was ok. Lockers were present on each floor. 4. Value for money.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been more clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ABDUL FATTAH BIN ISMAIL

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 ABDUL FATTAH would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is very cozy and clean. The staff are helpful. The atmosphere is amazing. The location is great.

Disliked: The price is too expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and eager to help

Disliked: Choice at breakfast was limited

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012

Liked: Good Location, Big Lockers

Disliked: free wifi for only the first 24 hours charged for a towel staff not friendly people sleeping in beds other than assigned i felt like i was unwelcome and anytime i had a problem or needed something they either were not willing to help or it cost money

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice breakfast

Disliked: there were many people sleeping in the same room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: the bathrooms were super dirty and they definitely did not clean them every day

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Atmosphere

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is very good

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location of property in Amsterdam Centre allows for sightseeing on foot as opposed to expensive bus tours. Hostel easily reached in about 20 minutes walking from Central Station. The rooms a spacious with generous sized lockers available in roooms. Breakfast was included in price which saves time and some cash. My room was cleaned dailly. Beds o.k.This was my second visit to this hostel and I would return again if visiting Amsterdam.Reception team were friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The hostel could do with a quiet room for reading and relaxing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jessica Farrugia

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: 2 bed room was okay, lots of room. Good location and a bit quieter than the party hostels.

Disliked: 2 bed rooms have no private facilities. Had to go down 2 floors for the female showers, but even then they are mixed.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daria Fokina

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2012 Daria would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, just in the centre, close to everything. The rooms are big and no matter how many people are there - I got enough sleep :) Breakfast is nice, everything is comfortable. +fast WiFi

Disliked: Water in showers was a bit cold. That's all I could even dislike :)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Alex Havlin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 February 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Primarily, the location. Pretty hard to get much better than that. Cleanliness was probably above average despite some flaws staff attitudes ranged from acceptable to friendly.

Disliked: That my room's only light was situated right next to my head, which woke me a couple of times when people decided they needed to turn the light on for some reason at midnight/1am. And then people asked me to turn "my" light off. Whatever... Could use better wording in their self-description. Their choice in music. Lobby was bland for my tastes - attractive for people who want a no-fuss place to sleep, not much else. toilet areas were left with pools of water after cleaning, many of which remained for hours. Felt expensive for what it was (basic, no frills other than breakfast included) but 20% cleaner than your average hostel).

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very large place. Very nice and clean. Only defect is that there is only one electric outlet to recharge batteries. Free wifi but if you don't have a computer or smart phone, you have to pay to use the computers there.

Disliked: Some of the people staying in the room where very noisy when coming in. But most of them where friendly/nice.