We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Hostel | Kloveniersburgwal 97, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1011 KB

77.7% Overall Rating

984 out of 1157 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Ryan Jones thinks…

"The rooms are basic and you get what you pay for. The beds were comfortable and were sturdy and didn't creek like many other bunk beds. The breakfast service was excellent. There was a friendly…"

Read all Stayokay Stadsdoelen reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.69

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note - All bookings made via the system with 10 + people will be cancelled. For bookings of 10 + people please contact our groups department. YOUR DEPOSIT MAY NOT BE REFUNDED... Thank You. City tax is not included, please pay upon arrival, €0.85 per person per night.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Rembrandtplein Hotel
31.63 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 902 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
94.88 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
37.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 316 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
24.04 USD

Hostel 79.3% 928 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
35.94 USD

Hostel 87.9% 1108 reviews
Central Station Hostel
16.43 USD

Hostel 72.0% 196 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
25.30 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 225 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
30.23 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1300 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.7%

Overall Rating

984 out of 1157 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Stadsdoelen'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
69.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 736 of 859 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 June 2012

Liked: The staff was fairly friendly and it was very central.

Disliked: Do not bring heavy bags as there are several stairs to climb and you're not getting any help with those. You also have to make your own bed. The toilets are always dirty, even though you see the cleaners on a regular basis you would rather want to go to a public toilet. The showers were really nasty and dirty, even though they were sanitised for fours hours during our stay, bring flip flops you can shower in!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Anne Silva

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012 Anne would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was perfect to me and my friend. The location is amazing, in front of a one of the Amsterdam's channels and in the heart of the city. The good thing is this hostel is in a quiet part of the city! So, you can to go out, have fun and have a good night's rest! The breakfast is WONDERFUL! Better than a most of 3 stars hotel that I went. And you can eat looking the channel... It's the best vibe that I had... I totally recommend this place.

Disliked: it doesn't have lift, and up stairs until the last floor with my luggage was... a little bad

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoffrey Brown

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2012 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Location, very comfortable

Disliked: Needs a bar so people can meet

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location! Clean hostel. Great free breakfast! Helpful staff!

Disliked: Lack of charging outlets- only 2 outlets in 20 preson room and they were located like 5 feet off floor. WiFi only in Lobby.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness

Disliked: Atmosphere

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Gaurav Singh

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2012 Gaurav would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Roughly 25 Euros for a 20 bed dorm!! Some are noisy, some are snoring! Amsterdam central's hostels are not so much - "vale for money".

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012

Liked: Good beds and location

Disliked: Staff weren't friendly or helpful

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristian Giuppone

With friends / other travellers

City break

21 May 2012 Cristian would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great.

Disliked: We stay in a 20 bed room. They don't have plugs for batteries or celular inside the rooms. If you arrive earlier you need to pay a locker to leave your luggage. They don't have limitation on age: the dorm contiguous to ours have 10 indian persons above 50's and the costumes are in opposite to occidental rules and if we stay at that dorm would be unsoportable (smells, and costumes from them)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: snoring roommate, haha

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

thomas robb

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 thomas would recommend this property

Liked: central to all interests

Disliked: people sleeping all day

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael williams

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: location is great, well run and organised system for breakfasts and laundry, all locks worked plenty of large secure lockers

Disliked: quite a few steps as with all dutch acccomodation,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Diyuan Hu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 May 2012 Diyuan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location Great breakfast

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and was in an ideal location for what we wanted to do.

Disliked: Our group was split up which wasn't ideal. Staff not all that friendly.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012

Liked: The rooms are very spacious and it's very secure. It's a fairly close walk to everything as well.

Disliked: The staff were a little rude and too strict. You weren't aloud to bring any food in, even things you wanted to snack on later (ie leftovers from dinner). You couldn't put anything in the fridge. Also, they cleaned both bathrooms at the same time everyday for about an hour, so you would end up stuck waiting around not being able to shower. And of course there was no signage about this. They do have a continental breakfast but it's only from 730-930, which I found was pretty short and pretty early. We never got to catch it. On holiday I usually like to sleep in somewhat... I come every year to Amsterdam and used this hostel the last 2 years, but will be going elsewhere next year.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Edward Chambers

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

03 May 2012 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Safe Secure and Clean

Disliked: Absolutely no character, atmosphere or opportunity for meeting people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yong Wang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012 Yong would recommend this property

Liked: Accually due to a accident of train in the Nederland, we didn;t appear on the first day, and I called them late that night, they simply wiped away my worry for they understand me for not showing up. The second day, we arrived in Amsterdam and got great help from the stuff. One of them helped me to organize the trip to Volandam correct some of mistakes in my travel plan and do me a budget.

Disliked: Nothing...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very near to bars and cafes.

Disliked: The showers were on a different floor to my room.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the helpfulness of the staff. The closeness to the centre and the nice bars around the hostel.

Disliked: The showers weren't that clean as I would like to have. A lot of hair and dirt on the bathroom floor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jonas Pauliukevicius

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2012 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: it was quiet, so had a good sleep. location is superb.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Saurabh Jain

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

22 April 2012 Saurabh would recommend this property

Liked: 1. Location: Its only 10-12 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central. Also Red light area is just 2 min walking. All the good joints are nearby. 2. Staff was very friendly and they were cooperative. 3. Breakfast was ok. Lockers were present on each floor. 4. Value for money.

Disliked: Bathrooms could have been more clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

ABDUL FATTAH BIN ISMAIL

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 ABDUL FATTAH would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is very cozy and clean. The staff are helpful. The atmosphere is amazing. The location is great.

Disliked: The price is too expensive.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and eager to help

Disliked: Choice at breakfast was limited

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012

Liked: Good Location, Big Lockers

Disliked: free wifi for only the first 24 hours charged for a towel staff not friendly people sleeping in beds other than assigned i felt like i was unwelcome and anytime i had a problem or needed something they either were not willing to help or it cost money

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice breakfast

Disliked: there were many people sleeping in the same room

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: n/a

Disliked: the bathrooms were super dirty and they definitely did not clean them every day