HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Amsterdam Hostel

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 91%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Steam room
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 5.08USD

Important Information

**Please note:

- that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian - that if there are children younger than 16 years part of the guests you are required to book a private room. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room.

**Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time).

PLEASE NOTE-Cancellations:
If a reservation is made for one or more individuals, the following applies with respect to the cancellation of said reservation:

-If the cancellation is made before 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest is not obliged to pay anything to Stayokay.
-For cancellation after 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest will be required to pay Stayokay 100% of the reservation price.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 74%

Location 93%

Safety 86%

Staff 91%

Value 73%

Showing 21-30 of 61 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast was delicious.

Disliked: It's a little too expensive for what it is

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was very good!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast is included and the location is awesome.

Disliked: The top bunk beads have no railings. It seemed very dangerous to me and I couldn't really rest. There are NO plugs in the rooms, meaning that if you were planning on charging your phone/tablet during the night you will be disappointed.


The property's response is

Thank you for your kind words and feedback. As a solution for the lack of plugs in the rooms we offer a charging service at the reception, I hope you made use of that! Otherwise, next time. We didn't have complaints about the railings before, we'll take a look at your bed and check what's wrong to fix it.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms are basic and you get what you pay for. The beds were comfortable and were sturdy and didn't creek like many other bunk beds. The breakfast service was excellent. There was a friendly atmosphere around the hostel. It has an outstanding location, not far from any of the main attractions. Overall i would my experience in this hostel as excellent.

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location of the hostel is the only advantage apart from the worst experience ever

Disliked: We checked in at 2pm.. The beds we're covered in dirt.. Full of disgusting stuff! Had to make own beds.. Came back on a night to sleep.. The dorm smelt disgusting! We couldn't sleep in there. Someone random slept on my bed. The shower facilites was like a prison. Would not recommend this hostel to anyone unless you can cope with bad hygiene and disrespectful staff members.

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: It's location was excellent.

Disliked: The night staff on reception were rude and were not very helpful whn our stuff got moved to another bed

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: It's fairly quiet, I slept well. It was all very secure, you needed keys to get anywhere. It's right on a canal, which is nice. Free breakfast is quite good.

Disliked: There is no elevator and you have to climb up several flights of stairs to get to your room if you're staying at the top, so don't stay here if you have any sort of mobility impairment, or just aren't very fit. It's also not a very lively hostel, so I wouldn't stay here if I was looking for the Amsterdam "party" experience, but it's good enough for the purposes that I came for.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The people at the front desk are extremely friendly and helpful. It is nice to have breakfast included.

Disliked: The hostel's security could be more secure

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were friendly and efficient, the included breakfast was nice with good coffee, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I've been travelling around Europe this summer and this was the best hostel I've stayed until now. It's true that it isn't cheap, but the location is great, the room (a 20 people room) was nice and the staff very helpful. And the only hostel that had a great breakfast until now. So I recommend it, if you can pay this, it's really worth it.

Disliked: The breakfast was form 7:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m., so I had to wake up earlier, have my breakfast and sleep again... But I guess that's not a problem, for all tourists, maybe just for the ones that, like me, came back 6 a.m..

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability