We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Hostel | Kloveniersburgwal 97, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1011 KB

82.2% Overall Rating

1000 out of 1174 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2015)

André bretón thinks…

"The location was super amazing, the atmosphere was good, and the staff was very friendly and helpful"

Read all Stayokay Stadsdoelen reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 5.05

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**Please note: - that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian - that if there are children younger than 16 years part of the guests you are required to book a private room. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room. **Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time). PLEASE NOTE-Cancellations: If a reservation is made for one or more individuals, the following applies with respect to the cancellation of said reservation: -If the cancellation is made before 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest is not obliged to pay anything to Stayokay. -For cancellation after 3pm on the day before arrival, the guest will be required to pay Stayokay 100% of the reservation price.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Rembrandtplein Hotel
39.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.1% 925 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
56.09 USD

Apartment 81.9% 42 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
33.65 USD

Hostel 90.6% 323 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
28.05 USD

Hostel 82.4% 958 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
42.07 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1141 reviews
Central Station Hostel
22.43 USD

Hostel 76.0% 228 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.26 USD

Guesthouse 59.8% 231 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
35.79 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1348 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

1000 out of 1174 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Stadsdoelen'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
76.0%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 749 of 876 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014

Liked: Breakfast was great everything else was shit. Wrong directions from staff. Towel was stolen. Bar was expensive. No atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PETER AMEYE

Alone

City break
Shopping

04 August 2014 PETER would recommend this property

Liked: LOCATION

Disliked: PETER left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Kalam Ciantar

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2014

Liked: Breakfast was good, 20 bed rooms were pretty spacious. Check out was an our after breakfast

Disliked: This was the worst hostel I stayed at during my stay. THEY CHANGED MY BOOKING! I booked early to get the room I wanted, then when I got there they put me in another room so that they could fit in more people and make more money. Had to pay the same amount with no compensation. This had me so pissed off for my whole stay. It didn't just happen to me either, it happened to quite a few people. You also have to pay to use the computers there for some reason... Also, there's no wifi in the rooms, or outlets to charge, so everyone has to go to the common room area or bar to charge their phones or use the internet. They don't have a storage room, you have to pay to rent a locker. Also, you have to go through two doors every time you want to go to the bathroom or get back into your room. Very inconvenient.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erik Thordarson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2014 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, short walk to dam square and only 15 min walk from the train station. Clean rooms and the beds are good.

Disliked: The rooms have only two tiny windows, so when it gets warm and there is 20 people in a room it can get pretty warm. For the most part the staff were really helpful, except one day there was two ladies who seemed to be annoyed to help anyone at all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carl Bryan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, about a ten minute walk to the central square. Staff were friendly and rooms were fairly clean.

Disliked: Only one/two plug sockets per room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central in terms of location. So you could go around very easily. Breakfast buffet is very very good. Loads of choices and good quality. Cheap price. Very good price quality product and service.

Disliked: No dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Umakant PAWASKAR

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Umakant would recommend this property

Liked: Location & breakfast

Disliked: Female dorms on the 3rd floor.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were always very helpful when you needed help with something. The bed was very clean as we're the bathroom facilities. I also loved where the hostel was located and would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mehdi Salimi

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

27 April 2014 Mehdi would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The internet signal was poor.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast services provided is pretty good and the staffs are friendly. The decoration if hostel overall is nice.

Disliked: The room was too dim , and just one socket available for 8 people. This is incredible crazy. It should be 20 female dorm but there was a man staying with us. Besides that, the location and place is quite difficult to spot, please do make yourself more visible for guest. The toilet should be clean more often and we can smell it *pinch nose.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really helpful staff. Would recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Solntsev Roman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 Solntsev would recommend this property

Liked: To myself big surprise was nice relation between prize and quality of my living in Statsdoelen. I'll recomendate for my friends staying in Stayokey hostels around the world and in Stadsdoelen in particular

Disliked: One day i wake up at the earliest morning becouse two unpolites person push the light in the room and long time prepered go out

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sabri ?ahin Can

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Sabri ?ahin would recommend this property

Liked: Its very close to city center. And good staff they were very friendly.

Disliked: I did not like that i have to sit in the lobby to charge my phone. And I couldnt pay since i arrived at night, instead they took my passport as insurance which i didnt like.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 March 2014

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff at the reception and the bar. Property is 3 mins walk to Dam Square. Breakfast is bonus.

Disliked: 20 shared dorm looked very dull and dark. It needs redecorating. Lack of sockets in the room to charge the phone.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014

Liked: Very good convenient location. Much closer to Red Light District than advertised. Great complimentary breakfast.

Disliked: The rooms had no privacy. The bathrooms were all same-sex, and it did not feel very clean. The lockers were outdated, and the rooms sometimes felt unsafe. I made my bed in the morning and came back to a rather messy bed, proving that a stranger must have napped in it while I was gone. The rooms were loud all hours of the night, and I honestly had terrible nights of sleep during my stay. They allowed people to check in at 3AM, and our room mates were all very loud and drunk.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Doyle

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here it was centrally located, clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Needs a stronger wifi signal in the building and more places to charge electronics

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast and free lockers and security are all great.

Disliked: The bathrooms are really gross and the breakfast is basically just all bread.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Hodgkin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and amenities, spacious and good location. I will definitely be returning.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel sharples

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and organised. Helpful and super friendly staff. Only think is there needs to be more wall sockets for charging phones etc. but otherwise, couldn't recommend it more!

Disliked: Lack of wall sockets

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the center of Amsterdam and within walking distance to many attractions. Decent price and helpful staff, open 24 hours so there is no problem about night hours. Also, special discount on tickets for boat tour and some other tours.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to the Dam and at a walking distance from the central station. There were lockers in the room and we could bring our own padlocks or buy one there. The staff was friendly.

Disliked: I think it was very expensive, but I guess you can't avoid this in Amsterdam.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyssa Bright

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2013 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: StayOkay Stadsdoelen is in a superb location! It's less than five minutes from a row of eateries and about ten minutes from Dam Square, which is central to everything in Amsterdam. You can walk anywhere from Dam Square so this is a perfect location. There are lockers in the lobby room if you arrive before check in or want to stay in the area after. And there are also lockers in a hallway just outside the dorm room that are pretty large and assigned to each bed. Cool building. Staff was friendly. They called a cab for us the morning we left. And they give out free maps and tons of discount cards!

Disliked: There were only 2 outlets in our room which were occupied the whole time, but they provide a couple power strips downstairs in the lobby so just go at an off time and you can charge your stuff in no time.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dominique Pondal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked most about this property was the location, breakfast service and lockers. The rest of it was not so good.

Disliked: Rooms were very noise, 20 beds in one room is way too much! You don't have a very good sleep, but the perfect location is worth it.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013

Liked: Pretty good location, breakfast included

Disliked: No communication between staff. They gave us the wrong bed, which resulted in numerous difficulties and conflicting instructions from different staff members.

The property's response is...