We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Stayokay Stadsdoelen

Hostel | Kloveniersburgwal 97, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1011 KB

78.2% Overall Rating

996 out of 1170 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Ryan Jones thinks…

"The rooms are basic and you get what you pay for. The beds were comfortable and were sturdy and didn't creek like many other bunk beds. The breakfast service was excellent. There was a friendly…"

Read all Stayokay Stadsdoelen reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.94

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**Please note: - that any group bookings of 10 people or more must be made directly with the group department, other cancelation policies do apply, and full pre- payment is required. - that guests under the age of 18 must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian - that if there are children younger than 16 years part of the guests you are required to book a private room. - that booking multiple beds in a dorm does not guarantee a private room. **Cancellation Policy: Customers up to 9 people can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 1 day before arrival (local time).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Rembrandtplein Hotel
32.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 87.0% 919 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
82.25 USD

Apartment 81.9% 42 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
32.90 USD

Hostel 89.3% 323 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
36.19 USD

Hostel 79.4% 952 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
41.13 USD

Hostel 91.3% 1138 reviews
Central Station Hostel
24.12 USD

Hostel 75.8% 226 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.39 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
36.08 USD

Hostel 89.4% 1340 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.2%

Overall Rating

996 out of 1170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Stayokay Stadsdoelen'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
83.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 872 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Carl Bryan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2014 Carl would recommend this property

Liked: Really good location, about a ten minute walk to the central square. Staff were friendly and rooms were fairly clean.

Disliked: Only one/two plug sockets per room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central in terms of location. So you could go around very easily. Breakfast buffet is very very good. Loads of choices and good quality. Cheap price. Very good price quality product and service.

Disliked: No dislike

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Umakant PAWASKAR

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2014 Umakant would recommend this property

Liked: Location & breakfast

Disliked: Female dorms on the 3rd floor.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were always very helpful when you needed help with something. The bed was very clean as we're the bathroom facilities. I also loved where the hostel was located and would definitely recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mehdi Salimi

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

27 April 2014 Mehdi would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good.

Disliked: The internet signal was poor.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast services provided is pretty good and the staffs are friendly. The decoration if hostel overall is nice.

Disliked: The room was too dim , and just one socket available for 8 people. This is incredible crazy. It should be 20 female dorm but there was a man staying with us. Besides that, the location and place is quite difficult to spot, please do make yourself more visible for guest. The toilet should be clean more often and we can smell it *pinch nose.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really helpful staff. Would recommend!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Solntsev Roman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 Solntsev would recommend this property

Liked: To myself big surprise was nice relation between prize and quality of my living in Statsdoelen. I'll recomendate for my friends staying in Stayokey hostels around the world and in Stadsdoelen in particular

Disliked: One day i wake up at the earliest morning becouse two unpolites person push the light in the room and long time prepered go out

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sabri ?ahin Can

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Sabri ?ahin would recommend this property

Liked: Its very close to city center. And good staff they were very friendly.

Disliked: I did not like that i have to sit in the lobby to charge my phone. And I couldnt pay since i arrived at night, instead they took my passport as insurance which i didnt like.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 March 2014

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff at the reception and the bar. Property is 3 mins walk to Dam Square. Breakfast is bonus.

Disliked: 20 shared dorm looked very dull and dark. It needs redecorating. Lack of sockets in the room to charge the phone.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2014

Liked: Very good convenient location. Much closer to Red Light District than advertised. Great complimentary breakfast.

Disliked: The rooms had no privacy. The bathrooms were all same-sex, and it did not feel very clean. The lockers were outdated, and the rooms sometimes felt unsafe. I made my bed in the morning and came back to a rather messy bed, proving that a stranger must have napped in it while I was gone. The rooms were loud all hours of the night, and I honestly had terrible nights of sleep during my stay. They allowed people to check in at 3AM, and our room mates were all very loud and drunk.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katherine Doyle

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Katherine would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay here it was centrally located, clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Needs a stronger wifi signal in the building and more places to charge electronics

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast and free lockers and security are all great.

Disliked: The bathrooms are really gross and the breakfast is basically just all bread.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Hodgkin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Very friendly staff, clean rooms and amenities, spacious and good location. I will definitely be returning.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel sharples

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2014 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and organised. Helpful and super friendly staff. Only think is there needs to be more wall sockets for charging phones etc. but otherwise, couldn't recommend it more!

Disliked: Lack of wall sockets

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in the center of Amsterdam and within walking distance to many attractions. Decent price and helpful staff, open 24 hours so there is no problem about night hours. Also, special discount on tickets for boat tour and some other tours.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, close to the Dam and at a walking distance from the central station. There were lockers in the room and we could bring our own padlocks or buy one there. The staff was friendly.

Disliked: I think it was very expensive, but I guess you can't avoid this in Amsterdam.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alyssa Bright

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2013 Alyssa would recommend this property

Liked: StayOkay Stadsdoelen is in a superb location! It's less than five minutes from a row of eateries and about ten minutes from Dam Square, which is central to everything in Amsterdam. You can walk anywhere from Dam Square so this is a perfect location. There are lockers in the lobby room if you arrive before check in or want to stay in the area after. And there are also lockers in a hallway just outside the dorm room that are pretty large and assigned to each bed. Cool building. Staff was friendly. They called a cab for us the morning we left. And they give out free maps and tons of discount cards!

Disliked: There were only 2 outlets in our room which were occupied the whole time, but they provide a couple power strips downstairs in the lobby so just go at an off time and you can charge your stuff in no time.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dominique Pondal

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2013 Dominique would recommend this property

Liked: What I liked most about this property was the location, breakfast service and lockers. The rest of it was not so good.

Disliked: Rooms were very noise, 20 beds in one room is way too much! You don't have a very good sleep, but the perfect location is worth it.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2013

Liked: Pretty good location, breakfast included

Disliked: No communication between staff. They gave us the wrong bed, which resulted in numerous difficulties and conflicting instructions from different staff members.

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was quite a large hostel, in a good location, 5 min walk from Dam square. Was hard to meet people as they were all doing their own thing, but met some fun people from the hostel on the walking tour. Relatively clean, but annoying that there was only two plug sockets between 20. All in all, a pretty good hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - It was fairly quiet, though there were rooms of 20 people - secure lockers were definitely helpful

Disliked: no real hostel atmosphere

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jennie Yang

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Jennie would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to city centre, metro station and very secure. Provide breakfast. Have lockers. Sells stamps

Disliked: No wifi in room. Only in lobby and TV room

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, perfect if you want to be a little further out from the centre but only a 10 min walk or 2 min tram journey into the centre.

Disliked: Toilets could be cleaner

The property's response is...