We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 GJ

93.3% Overall Rating

1057 out of 1136 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/07/2015)

Hannah Brooks thinks…

"the bar on the ground floor was very atmospheric and was a good place to hang out. Great location - right in the centre of the red light district near all the action and the Main Street, train…"

Read all The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that if you book a Dorm ( 8-12 beds) you will be placed in a dorm which can accommodate up to 12 people. For groups bigger than 6 people please contact the groups team via the agency and quote ‘BullDog’. Please note that any bookings larger than six people will be cancelled unless the reservation has been booked directly with the Groups Department. Any payments made to teh agency will not be refunded. This hostel does not accept any • Sports groups • Stag hen parties • Male groups bigger than 6 people. . under 18 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Heart of Amsterdam
36.65 USD

Hostel 78.9% 951 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
43.31 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
44.31 USD

Hostel 89.4% 1340 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
33.32 USD

Hostel 91.0% 322 reviews
Central Station Hostel
24.42 USD

Hostel 79.1% 224 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
55.53 USD

Apartment 81.9% 42 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
25.54 USD

Hostel 75.8% 1175 reviews
Hostel Croydon
27.77 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 06/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

1057 out of 1136 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 777 of 854 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 31 | 32   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, security at front door, lockers in bed rooms.

Disliked: We had 13 people in our room and it was a bit crowded but all in all it was still an enjoyable stay!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hannah Brooks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: the bar on the ground floor was very atmospheric and was a good place to hang out. Great location - right in the centre of the red light district near all the action and the Main Street, train station and other parts of Amsterdam all very close. Hotel had lots of character decor was great

Disliked: The toilet smelt a bit - I don't know if that was because we had particularly smelly people in our room though

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really good. Right in the red light district and close to centraal station and breakfast was great

Disliked: There were no kitchen facilities/common areas like most hostels I've stayed at. The only common area was the bar which was dark and very loud.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right in the city center. the hotel's first floor is coffee shop (not a regular coffee shop, but a marijuana smoking shop). If your hotel room is on the first floor, expect to smell the marijuana from your hotel room. The room is fairly clean and pretty safe (I think it is safe anywhere in Amsterdam).

Disliked: I think I stayed in room #312. The toilet's light uses motion to turn it on. It would go off after a minute. So, just wave your hand in front of the light to turn it back on (obviously you only could do it only when you stood up). if you sit on the toilet more than a minute, beware to do your business there in the dark. So, after the first experience doing it in the dark, I was prepared the second time. I brought my cellphone with me and used it as a flash light. I hope they would change the toilet light with the traditional on and of switch.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marianne Tue

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2015 Marianne would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing place loved the staff, the room especially the bar and coffee shop into one amazing place for adults!!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Shane Malone

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2015 Shane would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty much everything. It was a very pleasant place to stay.

Disliked: nothing I can think of

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isabel Carvalho

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2015 Isabel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Very friendliness staff.

Disliked: Isabel left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tom smyth

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 May 2015 tom would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely people (especially the Spanish receptionist) Un saludo de tu amigo guiri un besico guapa

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gabriela Elizabeth Fioriti Teruel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2015 Gabriela Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great, it has an ideal location (I walked everywhere, even in winter) and you can walk from the train station since the area is totally safe and easy to get to. The facilities are great and it's more like a hotel, it has an elevator too. The common area is the bar in the ground floor that was great but maybe it doen't create that hostel vibe, but you still meet people staying on the dorms so I had a great time. And the breakfast is amazing!

Disliked: The only thing lacking would be a kitchen. A tip: don't go to have the (incredible) breakfast in the last minute because after 10 the bar opens and people start smoking.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Haydn Atwood

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 May 2015 Haydn would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent polite staff more than willing to lend a hand .

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff. Rooms had separate lockers for each bed, with plenty of space.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

28 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central location and informative and helpful staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Just about everything... the vibe, the staff, the location. The beds were crazy comfortable

Disliked: The music in the bar

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrew Paris

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

08 April 2015 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge was ideal for short holiday visitors like myself.

Disliked: The lift takes TOOO damn long to close at times.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2015

Liked: Great location, super helpful staff and nice, friendly people!

Disliked: Couldn't get hot water from the showers, otherwise fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohammed Al-Zubidi

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

15 February 2015 Mohammed would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and friendly staff.

Disliked: Mohammed left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Gary Collins

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

27 January 2015 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good atmosphere, awesome location

Disliked: Window wouldnt close and heating didnt work (i chose not to complain as i wasnt really bothered so i didnt give the staff a chance to rectify this)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Courtney

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2015 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: There was a great atmosphere about the place, it was full of vibrant people, all looking for a good time. The location was absolutely spot on. The Bulldog is at the centre of everything going on in the city and every attraction is just a stones throw away.

Disliked: The dim lighting in the rooms made it a little hard to see around the room when there was not much natural light coming in through the window.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Taylor Williams

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2015 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything.

Disliked: The rooms we're cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aaron Butler

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2015 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: Rooms cold

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, very central location

Disliked: A little over-priced and not the best place for a solo traveler. Other guests seemed to be in groups and not particularly open or friendly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erik Falk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 December 2014 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hostel was great! Centrally located and near by all of Amsterdam attractions. The staff was great and helped with any need that I had. Would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: If I had to pick one thing the lockers inside the room are noisy when opening and closing them and this is me just being picky. But other than that no complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanne Christian

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2014 Joanne would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was as described and more. Friendly, relaxed and great value for money. It was welcoming to all guests, not just young backpackers!

Disliked: They could really do with a new toaster......other than this, fantastic place and I will stay again.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really chilled out atmosphere in the lounge. The hostel itself looks like a hotel converted into a hostel. Its pretty decent and meets your basic backpacking needs. The reception was quite nice and helpful but didn't really have that many recommendations.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 September 2014

Liked: The roof top was beautif during the day, beds were super comfy and the staff were so friendly, really enjoyed our stay so much!

Disliked: Nothing.!