HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Bulldog Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 81%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Important Information

Please note that if you book a Dorm ( 8-12 beds) you will be placed in a dorm which can accommodate up to 12 people.
For groups bigger than 6 people please contact the groups team via the agency and quote ‘BullDog’. Please note that any bookings larger than six people will be cancelled unless the reservation has been booked directly with the Groups Department. Any payments made to teh agency will not be refunded.

This hostel does not accept any
• Sports groups
• Stag hen parties
• Male groups bigger than 6 people.
. under 18 years old.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 79%

Facilities 81%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 81-78 of 78 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All of the staff are really helpful and funny! I don't smoke and the place is centered around that but the actual atmosphere is good for anyone. All of the staff are very helpful and accommodating and really awesome. The rules they have make for a safe stay for everyone! Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Only thing was they gave a key to someone random that just came in and showered while we were all sleeping. I am a light sleeper and was wondering who this person was. The bathroom is a private one for those in the room so wasn't sure why they did that. We paid to have our own bathroom. It made me feel a bit concerned as to who has access to the room when we aren't here

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for the kind words! to answer your concern: Sometimes people pay for their bed in the dorm and basically only use it to shower. You are absolutely correct to assume that only people who have been checked into that room are given a key. We do not allow people to only use the showers or temporarily use the room for a few hours nor are other guests permitted to use the showers/bathrooms in a different room. Thanks for staying with us!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa

Liked: stay there and you are in the heart of Amsterdam!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic location, close to all the main sites.

Disliked: Room had not been cleaned on the day off arrival. I stayed in a 12 bed dorm so one shower and toilet is definitely not enough for 12 people. There is a bar downstairs but no common room so its extremely difficult to meet other people. No kitchen also. More of a hotel rather than hostel. Most people staying there are there for a crazy weekend of cannabis and drinking. You won't really met any fellow 'travellers'.


The property's response is

All of our rooms and bathrooms/showers are cleaned everyday without exception! and while a lot of our guests are definitely here to party (!!) there are lots of travellers and backpackers in our lounge to meet and make new friends... you can come chat with our staff, they are travellers too and we're always happy to meet and get to know our guests!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very convient location, don't have to go far for a good bar and cafe. Wifi throughout the whole building is nice. Standard free breakfast, nothing special but still enjoyed it.

Disliked: If you don't like smoke I'd avoid the bar at night, it gets pretty hazy in there.

Customer would recommend this property

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great.

Disliked: Staff had limited knowledge about queens day festival and other touristy topics

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked where it was located (heart of the red light district), and relatively easy to find. However, a little too loud and partyish for me. Even early morning breakfast was a big party fest with loud music going on. I mean I know it´s Amsterdam, but everyone needs a wind down sometimes. Most of the staff was relatively nice and helpful, but some were a bit rude and whispered and snickered a lot.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff. Room was clean. A great experience for my first ever backpacking trip!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location and helpfulness. Good atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: owners of the original coffee shop! This was more like a hotel than a hostel, great, comfortable atmosphere down in the lounge where you can smoke freely unlike most hotels in this area - it's right in the middle of everything - no worries about making your way home after a night out! Comfortable and quiet nights sleep and a good shower :)

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location

Disliked: Smelt quite bad.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability