HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Bulldog Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Voorburgwal 220, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 82%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Important Information

Please note that if you book a Dorm ( 8-12 beds) you will be placed in a dorm which can accommodate up to 12 people.
For groups bigger than 6 people please contact the groups team via the agency and quote ‘BullDog’. Please note that any bookings larger than six people will be cancelled unless the reservation has been booked directly with the Groups Department. Any payments made to teh agency will not be refunded.

This hostel does not accept any
• Sports groups
• Stag hen parties
• Male groups bigger than 6 people.
. under 18 years old.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 93%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 82%

Location 95%

Safety 90%

Staff 90%

Value 81%

Showing 71-77 of 77 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I have no idea why The Bulldog doesn't have 90%+ ratings on this site. The staff and security guards are super friendly and helpful. The rooms are slightly small, but clean and secure. The bar is absolutely awesome...great vibes and a great place to meet interesting people. Charlie Sheen was there during my stay! Location is perfect.

Disliked: Pricey, but so is every other hostel in Amsterdam.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and very helpful staff!

Disliked: We had someone snoring in our room but its always a risk in hostel rooms!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Pretty much everything u could hope for in a hostel. If it had kitchen facilities it would probably be the best hostel ever!

Disliked: No kitchen facilities.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent environment, all the trappings of a full-fledged hotel but with hostel prices. Great bar/lounge on the ground floor that is open late. Great place to come back to at the end of a night out.

Disliked: Somewhat expensive relative to other hostels in the area - but also much nicer.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Great people and atmosphere and LOCATION!!!

Disliked: Nothing - This is the truth

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very central, nice staff, great bar. Will for sure come back!

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was both good (easy to reach, in city centre) and bad (noise from the street. Free breakfast was ok, nothing fancy, but the the cutlery were a bit dirty. Bed was comfy and made no noise. Big lockers to keef stuff, but padlocks cost 5 €. Non-staying people are not let in

Disliked: Due to smoking in lounge, also the room and linen smelled lightly of smoke. Overall appearance of the dorm, shover and toilet was shabby. My experience was mostly bad because someone snored so loudly that even earplugs did not help, and I could not sleep.


The property's response is

Smoking is certainly part of the Bulldog experience! However, all of our linens are washed and delivered daily by a private laundry service and not washed in house so they are fresh everyday. As for non staying guests: we do allow, at our discretion, guests from outside the hotel to use our bar/lounge, but only when our security team is present and these guests are not allowed anywhere in the hotel but the bar area. Thank you for your feedback!!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's neat and clean. Generally, good atmosphere. Location is perfect.

Disliked: It can be a bit noisy at times.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All of the staff are really helpful and funny! I don't smoke and the place is centered around that but the actual atmosphere is good for anyone. All of the staff are very helpful and accommodating and really awesome. The rules they have make for a safe stay for everyone! Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Only thing was they gave a key to someone random that just came in and showered while we were all sleeping. I am a light sleeper and was wondering who this person was. The bathroom is a private one for those in the room so wasn't sure why they did that. We paid to have our own bathroom. It made me feel a bit concerned as to who has access to the room when we aren't here

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for the kind words! to answer your concern: Sometimes people pay for their bed in the dorm and basically only use it to shower. You are absolutely correct to assume that only people who have been checked into that room are given a key. We do not allow people to only use the showers or temporarily use the room for a few hours nor are other guests permitted to use the showers/bathrooms in a different room. Thanks for staying with us!

Check Availability