We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 GJ

93.8% Overall Rating

1053 out of 1132 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/05/2015)

Marianne Tue thinks…

"Amazing place loved the staff, the room especially the bar and coffee shop into one amazing place for adults!!"

Read all The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that if you book a Dorm ( 8-12 beds) you will be placed in a dorm which can accommodate up to 12 people. For groups bigger than 6 people please contact the groups team via the agency and quote ‘BullDog’. Please note that any bookings larger than six people will be cancelled unless the reservation has been booked directly with the Groups Department. Any payments made to teh agency will not be refunded. This hostel does not accept any • Sports groups • Stag hen parties • Male groups bigger than 6 people. . under 18 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Heart of Amsterdam
29.47 USD

Hostel 77.6% 943 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
42.57 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
45.74 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1334 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
43.66 USD

Hostel 89.8% 321 reviews
Central Station Hostel
24.00 USD

Hostel 79.1% 214 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
54.58 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
18.56 USD

Hostel 80.9% 1166 reviews
Hostel Croydon
14.19 USD

Hostel 63.3% 430 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.8%

Overall Rating

1053 out of 1132 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
99.2%
Value
95.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 773 of 850 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy for a hostel. Heaps of info about stuff thats going on (free tours, pub crawls etc). Bar downstairs was a good place to hangout. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Our room had an ensuite that smelt horrible. We couldn't open the door without stinking out the whole room!! Wouldn't let us bring our own food to eat at all. We had to sit outside and eat it. We booked a 8-12 bed dorm but actually got a 14 bed dorm (there were only 12 ppl staying though).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jaclyn Flower

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 December 2011 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: I had my own room (was a room of eight beds with the other 7 empty). It was low season but really slept well with a quiet dark room. The whole property was clean and centrally located.

Disliked: Smelt like weed but its legal and I just dont like the smell so that IS NOT the hostel's fault.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2011

Liked: Extremely convenient location, sociable atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff were unfriendly and often rude from the start, tried to charge me an extra night saying I had switched beds - I had not. Staff at the bar poured the wrong drink and then refused to change it because they 'had poured it now so you have to pay for it'. Not good value for money on the whole.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place to stay because is so close to everything. all the hostels are very expensive in amsterdam during the weekends. it was just a place to sleep at night, with a good breakfast

Disliked: more toilets would be good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dennis villaganes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 dennis would recommend this property

Liked: its very safe location. especially a first timer like me, venturing new things who was travelling alone. cafeshop on site..its was perfect for me..

Disliked: i stayed in 12 bedded dormitory, all i can say the room need for toilet and shower.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marina schiffler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2011 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great

Disliked: ...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: Lounge closed... under construction

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Dankool

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Federico Fraga

Alone

City break

09 October 2011 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities! Very nice Hostel. The Bar is really good, and Bar rates are competitive.

Disliked: Front desk staff unfriendly. Staff very rude for answering questions, they don´t really like to answer anything, it´s like you are bothering them. Room is good, bed is good, but it´s not clean at all. They don´t establish a general customer behavior, so guest do what they want anytime.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, on the red light district. I could actually visit the whole of Amsterdam walking. It is very central. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, with eggs and fruits! Also, the wifi connection works all around the hostel.

Disliked: I was in a dorm for 12 but there were 13 beds. No real bother though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and helpful. I love Dutch people!

Disliked: There is only 1 or 2 plug for 12 people to charge batteries. There is no kitchen for self-cooking.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I quite enjoyed the feel of the place, very welcoming! Staff were great to deal with and loved the location!

Disliked: Disliked no soap or towels in the bathrooms. Also thought the lockers were a little small, or I had more luggage than the average traveller..?!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 September 2011

Liked: The location was brilliant, and the various decorations were imaginative. Drinks were also reasonably priced in the café. Also, wifi throughout the hostel was very useful.

Disliked: Although smoking is not permitted in the room, spliffs were being smoked out of our bedroom window almost constantly. We also awoke to a puddle of vomit next to our bunkbed, kindly deposited by one of our delightful dorm-mates. As a group of girls, we were also disappointed that we were not in one of the all-girl dorms (apparently you have to e-mail the hotel directly if you want to be put in one), and because the hostel was full, we were unable to move rooms - this was particularly irritating since our room was not ready until 4 hours after we had arranged to check in, and had we been able to go into our room as planned at 11am, there would have been time to switch rooms before the other guests arrived.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked mainly the location of the hostel

Disliked: It could be cleaner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Farshid Monshizadeh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Farshid would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Internet is great and everywhere.

Disliked: There was only one plug in in my room for charging things. U need to wait until everybody charge their things. It z very few for room with 8 beds. There z no hook for colth in toilet. Everything else is great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best! And the breakfast i never see before!!! So good!

Disliked: There is no entertainment activities with the guests

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 September 2011 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: very good hostel with amazing staff

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martina Carravetta

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 September 2011 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It wasn't that safe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well maintained. Lots of security in the area to create a safe environment. Very friendly atmosphere, lots of places to sit and hang out.

Disliked: We didn't dislike anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay and meet people

Disliked: Rooms back on to what I have come to believe to be a frat house. Drunk singing and screaming all night long. Sounds of construction in the morning.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place was okay, bit pricey for a 12 person dorm. But airconditioning was a plus in the heat. Some hostels don't have that. The girl at the desk was CRAZY :) but good fun! Had a bit of fun with her! Internet should be free or Wifi should be included. No breakfast either which was a thumbs down for that price.

Disliked: smell from toilet but it was clean... it was more a sewage problem I imagine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Craig

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Longing area was big and roomy.

Disliked: Coffee was not strong enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brett Curtis

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 August 2011 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful. Really good bar where you can sit and do anything you want

Disliked: Honestly nothing. I had a really good stay