We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 GJ

88.6% Overall Rating

1029 out of 1107 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/09/2014)

Joanne Christian thinks…

"Everything was as described and more. Friendly, relaxed and great value for money. It was welcoming to all guests, not just young backpackers!"

Read all The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that if you book a Dorm ( 8-12 beds) you will be placed in a dorm which can accommodate up to 12 people. For groups bigger than 6 people please contact the groups team via the agency and quote ‘BullDog’. Please note that any bookings larger than six people will be cancelled unless the reservation has been booked directly with the Groups Department. Any payments made to teh agency will not be refunded. This hostel does not accept any • Sports groups • Stag hen parties • Male groups bigger than 6 people. . under 18 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Heart of Amsterdam
15.18 USD

Hostel 79.0% 927 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
37.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 316 reviews
Central Station Hostel
17.70 USD

Hostel 72.0% 196 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
63.25 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
26.44 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1298 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1143 reviews
Hostel Croydon
12.65 USD

Hostel 67.1% 412 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

1029 out of 1107 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
83.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 755 of 825 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed atmosphere , food and drinks good prices and perfect location .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kevin Knox

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 March 2012 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: In the center of it all easy to get anywhere from the BD. This was my second trip to AMS and my second stay at the BD would do it again!

Disliked: not much to dislike

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and the facilities were nice to relax in

Disliked: The beds were too small, for us Americans we are used to bigger beds. The twin size bed is not big enough to fit a 6'4 guy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price when compared to other hostels, breakfast is good.

Disliked: At first it looked like very messy, so I tried to cancel, but the man in the reception said it is not possible and the total value should be discounted anyway. There was no option to see the room before accept to stay there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ZAFER DEMIRTAS

Alone

Partying / nightlife

06 February 2012 ZAFER would recommend this property

Liked: Location of the hostel is excellent. It is in the middle of red light district and coffee shops. You can looking for this kind of fun, you should stay at Bulldog.

Disliked: Lockers of room were too small.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Andrew Cannizzo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the Bulldog is perfect, in the heart of the red light district.

Disliked: The rooms were in poor condition. eg. lights broken, drafty windows, bagague store was not locked. Security kept us indoors one night which spoilt out time in Amsterdam do to them reviewing CCTV of a broken toilet! explain that??? i could honestlly go on!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Inácio Sampaio Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Inácio would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, good location and facilities, which include a lift.

Disliked: Our room hasn't been cleaned during the four nights we've spent there – and, believe me, it really needed to.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy for a hostel. Heaps of info about stuff thats going on (free tours, pub crawls etc). Bar downstairs was a good place to hangout. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Our room had an ensuite that smelt horrible. We couldn't open the door without stinking out the whole room!! Wouldn't let us bring our own food to eat at all. We had to sit outside and eat it. We booked a 8-12 bed dorm but actually got a 14 bed dorm (there were only 12 ppl staying though).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jaclyn Flower

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 December 2011 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: I had my own room (was a room of eight beds with the other 7 empty). It was low season but really slept well with a quiet dark room. The whole property was clean and centrally located.

Disliked: Smelt like weed but its legal and I just dont like the smell so that IS NOT the hostel's fault.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2011

Liked: Extremely convenient location, sociable atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff were unfriendly and often rude from the start, tried to charge me an extra night saying I had switched beds - I had not. Staff at the bar poured the wrong drink and then refused to change it because they 'had poured it now so you have to pay for it'. Not good value for money on the whole.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good place to stay because is so close to everything. all the hostels are very expensive in amsterdam during the weekends. it was just a place to sleep at night, with a good breakfast

Disliked: more toilets would be good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dennis villaganes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 dennis would recommend this property

Liked: its very safe location. especially a first timer like me, venturing new things who was travelling alone. cafeshop on site..its was perfect for me..

Disliked: i stayed in 12 bedded dormitory, all i can say the room need for toilet and shower.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marina schiffler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2011 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great

Disliked: ...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything

Disliked: Lounge closed... under construction

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Dankool

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Federico Fraga

Alone

City break

09 October 2011 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Location and facilities! Very nice Hostel. The Bar is really good, and Bar rates are competitive.

Disliked: Front desk staff unfriendly. Staff very rude for answering questions, they don´t really like to answer anything, it´s like you are bothering them. Room is good, bed is good, but it´s not clean at all. They don´t establish a general customer behavior, so guest do what they want anytime.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great, on the red light district. I could actually visit the whole of Amsterdam walking. It is very central. The atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, with eggs and fruits! Also, the wifi connection works all around the hostel.

Disliked: I was in a dorm for 12 but there were 13 beds. No real bother though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and helpful. I love Dutch people!

Disliked: There is only 1 or 2 plug for 12 people to charge batteries. There is no kitchen for self-cooking.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I quite enjoyed the feel of the place, very welcoming! Staff were great to deal with and loved the location!

Disliked: Disliked no soap or towels in the bathrooms. Also thought the lockers were a little small, or I had more luggage than the average traveller..?!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 September 2011

Liked: The location was brilliant, and the various decorations were imaginative. Drinks were also reasonably priced in the café. Also, wifi throughout the hostel was very useful.

Disliked: Although smoking is not permitted in the room, spliffs were being smoked out of our bedroom window almost constantly. We also awoke to a puddle of vomit next to our bunkbed, kindly deposited by one of our delightful dorm-mates. As a group of girls, we were also disappointed that we were not in one of the all-girl dorms (apparently you have to e-mail the hotel directly if you want to be put in one), and because the hostel was full, we were unable to move rooms - this was particularly irritating since our room was not ready until 4 hours after we had arranged to check in, and had we been able to go into our room as planned at 11am, there would have been time to switch rooms before the other guests arrived.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked mainly the location of the hostel

Disliked: It could be cleaner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Farshid Monshizadeh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Farshid would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Internet is great and everywhere.

Disliked: There was only one plug in in my room for charging things. U need to wait until everybody charge their things. It z very few for room with 8 beds. There z no hook for colth in toilet. Everything else is great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best! And the breakfast i never see before!!! So good!

Disliked: There is no entertainment activities with the guests

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 September 2011 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: very good hostel with amazing staff

Disliked: nothing