HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Bulldog

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 GJ

88.6% Overall Rating

1004 out of 1081 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

Ronnie Macdonald thinks…

"The property was central to where i wanted to be, provided everything it stated and the staff were very helpful. Wonderful time had, added to by the resources supplied by the hotel and staff."

Read all The Bulldog reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that if you book a Dorm ( 8-12 beds) you will be placed in a dorm which can accommodate up to 12 people. For groups bigger than 6 people please contact the groups team via the agency and quote ‘BullDog’. Please note that any bookings larger than six people will be cancelled unless the reservation has been booked directly with the Groups Department. Any payments made to teh agency will not be refunded. This hostel does not accept any • Sports groups • Stag hen parties • Male groups bigger than 6 people. . under 18 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Heart of Amsterdam
31.79 USD

Hostel 79.3% 908 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
48.37 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 215 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
41.46 USD

Hostel 90.7% 308 reviews
Central Station Hostel
20.72 USD

Hostel 84.1% 147 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
103.65 USD

Apartment 83.8% 37 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.56 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1258 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
Hostel Croydon
26.26 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

1004 out of 1081 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Bulldog'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 735 of 800 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 September 2011

Liked: The location was brilliant, and the various decorations were imaginative. Drinks were also reasonably priced in the café. Also, wifi throughout the hostel was very useful.

Disliked: Although smoking is not permitted in the room, spliffs were being smoked out of our bedroom window almost constantly. We also awoke to a puddle of vomit next to our bunkbed, kindly deposited by one of our delightful dorm-mates. As a group of girls, we were also disappointed that we were not in one of the all-girl dorms (apparently you have to e-mail the hotel directly if you want to be put in one), and because the hostel was full, we were unable to move rooms - this was particularly irritating since our room was not ready until 4 hours after we had arranged to check in, and had we been able to go into our room as planned at 11am, there would have been time to switch rooms before the other guests arrived.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked mainly the location of the hostel

Disliked: It could be cleaner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Farshid Monshizadeh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Farshid would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great. Internet is great and everywhere.

Disliked: There was only one plug in in my room for charging things. U need to wait until everybody charge their things. It z very few for room with 8 beds. There z no hook for colth in toilet. Everything else is great.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is the best! And the breakfast i never see before!!! So good!

Disliked: There is no entertainment activities with the guests

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liliana Ferreira

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

04 September 2011 Liliana would recommend this property

Liked: very good hostel with amazing staff

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Martina Carravetta

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 September 2011 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: It wasn't that safe.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well maintained. Lots of security in the area to create a safe environment. Very friendly atmosphere, lots of places to sit and hang out.

Disliked: We didn't dislike anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Romantic getaway

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay and meet people

Disliked: Rooms back on to what I have come to believe to be a frat house. Drunk singing and screaming all night long. Sounds of construction in the morning.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the place was okay, bit pricey for a 12 person dorm. But airconditioning was a plus in the heat. Some hostels don't have that. The girl at the desk was CRAZY :) but good fun! Had a bit of fun with her! Internet should be free or Wifi should be included. No breakfast either which was a thumbs down for that price.

Disliked: smell from toilet but it was clean... it was more a sewage problem I imagine.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Craig

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Longing area was big and roomy.

Disliked: Coffee was not strong enough.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brett Curtis

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 August 2011 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly and helpful. Really good bar where you can sit and do anything you want

Disliked: Honestly nothing. I had a really good stay

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff - big rooms and close to everything

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011

Liked: very close to the main train station, and all other main sites

Disliked: large rooms, and weird shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

MERAL TUANA Ekmekcioglu

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 MERAL TUANA would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Decoration of room. Lobby. Staff. Shop. Bar. Restaurant. Everything...

Disliked: Nothing.It was a great experience.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central, nice balcony, clean rooms and bathrooms

Disliked: the towels were not clean sometimes the service in the reception can be better (more patience)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location right on the edge of the famous red light district. All major tourist attractions within walking distance. Staff were very welcoming and provided us with towels free of charge. They also have miniature soaps and shower gel bottles available free of charge at the reception desk. Breakfast is provided and a selection of choices is available (cereals, toast, cold meats and cheese, yoghurt, fruit, tea, coffee and fruit juice). Room and bathroom was clean. The lockers in the room were large and padlocks could be purchased for a deposit at the reception. We had a very pleasant stay at The Bulldog.

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

30 July 2011

Liked: The rooms seemed clean enough, had I had a better experience there, I may have liked it. Staff on check in were very helpful. Check out? Not so much.

Disliked: As a female travelling alone, I was put in a room with a group of 9 males. Naturally, this made me feel quite uncomfortable, so I went to reception to ask if there was any way I could switch rooms to one with at least a couple of girls in. The woman behind the counter initially ignored my request, while I stood there like a lemon, and she gestured to her friend, who had just walked through the door, and then engaged in a five minute conversation with him. After she eventually graced me with her full attention, she bluntly told me that the hostel was full, and so no, I couldn't move rooms. So I checked out, and despite not even staying one night, I could not get any of my money back. (fair enough, as I suppose that is part of their policy, but it still stung a little).

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: could be a bit cleaner

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

dave meloy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

21 July 2011 dave would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, great facilities, 24 hr access.

Disliked: Instructions on finding property were completely wrong and got us lost. Some of the staff were a little surly and un interested

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you are looking for a convenient hostel to the red light district, coffee shops, etc. this is the place to stay. If you are in town for more site seeing and less partying then you might not want to go here. Great happy hour specials in the bar on the first floor and really cool bartenders. Also, great breakfast.

Disliked: Staff could have been nicer, but overall a really good experience.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Raghav Kabra

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Raghav would recommend this property

Liked: Great place.

Disliked: Li'll congested.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere, great staff!

Disliked: no dislikes

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: situated in a very central place and when your in it u live the pure amsterdam life!

Disliked: maybe if every 2 days they coem to clean a bit the room change towels and replace toilet paper better : ) ..but when we asked for towels we never had a problem we got them replaced