HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216-220, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 GJ

86.1% Overall Rating

1017 out of 1094 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/06/2014)

Gavin Fraser thinks…

"Excellent location, very friendly staff. Charon the Irish bar tender was exceptionally welcoming. Great atmosphere in the bar."

Read all The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that if you book a Dorm ( 8-12 beds) you will be placed in a dorm which can accommodate up to 12 people. For groups bigger than 6 people please contact the groups team via the agency and quote ‘BullDog’. Please note that any bookings larger than six people will be cancelled unless the reservation has been booked directly with the Groups Department. Any payments made to teh agency will not be refunded. This hostel does not accept any • Sports groups • Stag hen parties • Male groups bigger than 6 people. . under 18 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Heart of Amsterdam
39.00 USD

Hostel 81.8% 920 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.00 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
53.80 USD

Hostel 91.4% 312 reviews
Central Station Hostel
33.61 USD

Hostel 73.9% 179 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
67.25 USD

Apartment 82.1% 39 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
40.22 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1283 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.62 USD

Hostel 79.7% 1128 reviews
Hostel Croydon
37.66 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.1%

Overall Rating

1017 out of 1094 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
84.8%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
87.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 812 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Kellie Reid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 July 2012 Kellie would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was great! The male staff on reception were friendly and helpful- the girls pretty rude actually! The bar was good.

Disliked: The rooms were ridiculously small, so much that it was a real struggle to find a place to put my bag down! Maybe a few too many beds in the room! The girl staff members (I only saw two) were pretty rude and unhelpful. The hostel wasn't that bad, but for the price I was expecting great things!! I'm sure you could find much better for cheaper.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Air con in rooms. Cheap good atmosphere bar. Lights and powerpoints next to bed. I met some amazing people here. No social area besides he bar. Very large hostel.

Disliked: extremely strict polices regarding food in dorms/ bringing friends into dorms. Similariy priced hostels in better areas ," st.christophers at the Winston" offer far more comfortable(bed), ventilated rooms with a thr same great atmosphere, with much friendlier staff. Also winstons bar food is given at a discount to hostelers. Bulldog hostel bar food tasted pretty bad

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 June 2012

Liked: It is located in the center of the town.

Disliked: The bathrooms and rooms were dirty, you had to pay extra for a lock to secure your locker, the staff were not very helpful.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

23 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a very good location. Lots of clubs and restaurant; good distance from the train/tram so very easy commute from Megabus station.

Disliked: I know you want to maximize profits but I as well as other guests I interacted with would like to see a regular lounge or room to hangout with that is not in a bar atmosphere. The only other place to go to "chill" or kill time is the bar/dining area. If I am not really buying food or drinks it feels weird being there for an extended period of time. Many other travellers feel the sam.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anna Puiatti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 June 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Very central and a lot of people come through.

Disliked: As a hostel is doesn't involve the guests to get together apart.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Bryan Harris

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2012 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great scenery, good bar, late night food, helpful staff

Disliked: 12 man rooms (ours became a 13man) were over crowded and dirty. The bathroom smelled until we moved out.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed for 3 nights and loved it. The bar staff, coffee shop staff & reception staff were really helpful and just genuinely nice people. This place is slap bang in the middle of the red light district so if you're open minded or looking for fun you are only seconds away. The place is very busy and the bar staff work pretty long hours so expect a bit of a wait at the bar (occasionally). The snacks are nice and great value for money. If you're chilled out, easy going, open minded and want to meet other like minded people from all over the world then this is the place for you.

Disliked: If I really had to moan about anything at all it's the church chimes that go off every hour during the day. Obviously not the hotel's fault but did drive me mad on the last morning (hangover didn't help either).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Elizabeth Sanford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was very large, like a hotel with long hallways, room keys, an elevator, and had a great , chill bar downstairs. Location was awesome, within walking distance to everything! Lots of information available (brochures, etc.) downstairs and the opportunity to meet others when hanging out in the bar. Loved it! Definately would recommend you stay here.

Disliked: Not much, as far as hostels go, it was pretty good! The lockers in the rooms (like school lockers) dont lock unless you have a large padlock. I wasn't worried about theft though, everyone was very nice.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Not a good mix of people in the dorm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Ridy

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 May 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff and brilliant value for money. Would definitely stay there again in the future.

Disliked: Having to leave........

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Pedro Miguel Dias Lopes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2012 Pedro Miguel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect The breakfast is amazing for a hostel

Disliked: the whole hostel smells like weed, but who cares? is legal in Amsterdam

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fabio orlando

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Work / volunteering

26 April 2012 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: Cool Hostel. I really enjoyed my stay at the Bulldog. Amazing Bar Downstairs.. ( cool Biliard)- Good staf.. just someone from the Bar staff i did not like ..but only one person... Clean Hostel Exclennet facilities.. good brackfast--- Nice bed and materass.. BIG Lockers.. Internet wi-fi free Close to everithing.. EXCELLENT location.. 2 minuts form DAM square.. i also walked from the central station i'd like to come back and stay there again---

Disliked: is not real about the hostel but.. i did no like that i did not get the 10% discount for the buldogg Store... :(

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, secure and staff were helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Linda Kucukaslan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city, good value for money

Disliked: Not so fresh toilets

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed atmosphere , food and drinks good prices and perfect location .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

kevin Knox

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

20 March 2012 kevin would recommend this property

Liked: In the center of it all easy to get anywhere from the BD. This was my second trip to AMS and my second stay at the BD would do it again!

Disliked: not much to dislike

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and the facilities were nice to relax in

Disliked: The beds were too small, for us Americans we are used to bigger beds. The twin size bed is not big enough to fit a 6'4 guy

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price when compared to other hostels, breakfast is good.

Disliked: At first it looked like very messy, so I tried to cancel, but the man in the reception said it is not possible and the total value should be discounted anyway. There was no option to see the room before accept to stay there.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ZAFER DEMIRTAS

Alone

Partying / nightlife

06 February 2012 ZAFER would recommend this property

Liked: Location of the hostel is excellent. It is in the middle of red light district and coffee shops. You can looking for this kind of fun, you should stay at Bulldog.

Disliked: Lockers of room were too small.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Andrew Cannizzo

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the Bulldog is perfect, in the heart of the red light district.

Disliked: The rooms were in poor condition. eg. lights broken, drafty windows, bagague store was not locked. Security kept us indoors one night which spoilt out time in Amsterdam do to them reviewing CCTV of a broken toilet! explain that??? i could honestlly go on!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Inácio Sampaio Pereira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2012 Inácio would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, good location and facilities, which include a lift.

Disliked: Our room hasn't been cleaned during the four nights we've spent there – and, believe me, it really needed to.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Rooms were clean and beds were comfy for a hostel. Heaps of info about stuff thats going on (free tours, pub crawls etc). Bar downstairs was a good place to hangout. Free breakfast.

Disliked: Our room had an ensuite that smelt horrible. We couldn't open the door without stinking out the whole room!! Wouldn't let us bring our own food to eat at all. We had to sit outside and eat it. We booked a 8-12 bed dorm but actually got a 14 bed dorm (there were only 12 ppl staying though).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jaclyn Flower

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

08 December 2011 Jaclyn would recommend this property

Liked: I had my own room (was a room of eight beds with the other 7 empty). It was low season but really slept well with a quiet dark room. The whole property was clean and centrally located.

Disliked: Smelt like weed but its legal and I just dont like the smell so that IS NOT the hostel's fault.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 December 2011

Liked: Extremely convenient location, sociable atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff were unfriendly and often rude from the start, tried to charge me an extra night saying I had switched beds - I had not. Staff at the bar poured the wrong drink and then refused to change it because they 'had poured it now so you have to pay for it'. Not good value for money on the whole.