HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Bulldog

Hostel | Oudezijds Voorburgwal 216, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 GJ

89.0% Overall Rating

1003 out of 1080 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

Ronnie Macdonald thinks…

"The property was central to where i wanted to be, provided everything it stated and the staff were very helpful. Wonderful time had, added to by the resources supplied by the hotel and staff."

Read all The Bulldog reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please note that if you book a Dorm ( 8-12 beds) you will be placed in a dorm which can accommodate up to 12 people. For groups bigger than 6 people please contact the groups team via the agency and quote ‘BullDog’. Please note that any bookings larger than six people will be cancelled unless the reservation has been booked directly with the Groups Department. Any payments made to teh agency will not be refunded. This hostel does not accept any • Sports groups • Stag hen parties • Male groups bigger than 6 people. . under 18 years old.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Heart of Amsterdam
30.38 USD

Hostel 79.3% 908 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
40.05 USD

Guesthouse 71.4% 215 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
55.24 USD

Hostel 91.8% 305 reviews
Central Station Hostel
27.61 USD

Hostel 83.2% 143 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
103.58 USD

Apartment 83.8% 37 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.53 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1257 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
30.38 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
Hostel Croydon
23.48 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.0%

Overall Rating

1003 out of 1080 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Bulldog'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
90.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 733 of 798 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked where it was located (heart of the red light district), and relatively easy to find. However, a little too loud and partyish for me. Even early morning breakfast was a big party fest with loud music going on. I mean I know it´s Amsterdam, but everyone needs a wind down sometimes. Most of the staff was relatively nice and helpful, but some were a bit rude and whispered and snickered a lot.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jemma Carpenter

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Jemma would recommend this property

Liked: owners of the original coffee shop! This was more like a hotel than a hostel, great, comfortable atmosphere down in the lounge where you can smoke freely unlike most hotels in this area - it's right in the middle of everything - no worries about making your way home after a night out! Comfortable and quiet nights sleep and a good shower :)

Disliked: Jemma left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jacob Angemeer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 April 2013 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff. Room was clean. A great experience for my first ever backpacking trip!

Disliked: Jacob left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and helpfulness. Good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Smelt quite bad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natascha Nogarède

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

07 April 2013 Natascha would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, good aeration of rooms and not too noisy

Disliked: a lot of smoking in the bar

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is inside the red light district and also near to many coffee shops.

Disliked: The room was dirty and there is only one shower for ten people. The breakfast was poor too, without fruits.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rajas Abhyankar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

23 March 2013 Rajas would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good ,helpful staff

Disliked: Rooms are okok. Cleanliness not great. No facilities like towel,soap for each person in room

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Location - Lounge atmosphere - Friendly staff

Disliked: - View out of room was a bit disappointing - Heater did not work that well - Duvet very thin for cold season

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, daytime menu excellent and clean warm dry rooms

Disliked: Poor breakfast selection-more international fair eg pancakes for Americans or cooked breakfast British style.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Onur UYGUR

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 January 2013 Onur would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Atmosphere,

Disliked: There is no kitchen!!!! and Amsterdam is expensive city you can not make your own meal in the hostel. And it is forbidden to eat something! Even drink in the rooms.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JAMES TURNER

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 JAMES would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at the bulldog from the 3rd till the 6th of January 2013. I've been to the Dam 4 times now, first time staying at the Bulldog (previously stayed at St Christophers and the Crowne Plaza) and would stay again. The rooms at St Christophers are slightly more stylish though. When booking, the Bulldog was about 30 euros cheaper and was still the same when I checked again before our flight. The Bulldog rooms are clean and functional but the place benefits from a much better bar area, it's larger, more cosy and has nice seating areas. Might be an idea to contact then ahead of arriving and request that you be place above the first floor - can be quite noisy of a night due to the bar. The food is quite cheap in the bar but prob not the best quality. The staff are friendly and welcoming on arrival. There seemed to be constant security presence on the door which was reassuring given that the hotel is on a main street, right in the centre of the tourist areas with a lot passing foot traffic. Breakfast (included) was ok, but there wasn't a great range on offer - certainly enough to start you on your day though. Overall whilst there are much higher spec places, the central location and slightly cheaper price (essential in such a generally expensive city), would encourage me to stay again. P.s I know it should be obvious, but try and get food/herbal refreshment etc away from the main tourist areas, will save you an absolute fortune. Also the Wok and Walk chain of food outlets are cheap, clean and the food tastes delicious

Disliked: JAMES left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, and the staff were extremely helpful. The location was perfect, as it was walking distance to all of the city's major sights.

Disliked: The lounge area was also a bar which people not staying at the hostel were allowed into, which made it more difficult to meet other travellers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kelsea godiff

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

16 December 2012 kelsea would recommend this property

Liked: I was really impressed staying here, just a 10 minute walk from centraal and in great location situated in the red light district. The atmosphere in the bar down stairs was good, food good quality and staff extremely friendly. I would definitely come and stay here again! We were staying in the dorms, which we made really good friends with two Australians. Although we had some people who couldn't speak english it was difficult to make a convo especially when stoned ! but overall defisnately a must stay hostel, you will not be let down! Remember to take your own padlock although they do sell them for five euros. You can get adapters with a five euro deposit, as i forgot my adapter. I emailed them to ensure that we could check in at 7pm and they emailed back the next day confirming our booking. Fantastic holiday!!

Disliked: nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

yanxi zhou

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 yanxi would recommend this property

Liked: The room is big with shower and toilet. Locate in the city center.

Disliked: Nothing to complain too much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly desk staff, friendly atmosphere, and super clean rooms/bathrooms. A godsend in the realm of hostels...

Disliked: Nothing - I liked everything about this place.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Carpenter

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome to have everything I needed all in one: Hostel, coffeshop, lounge/bar, pool table, perfect location to see other things. This hostel was a perfect base for exploring Amsterdam and generally having a wonderful time. Everything about the place was wonderful! Best location to stay at in Amsterdam, hands down!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tommi Järvenpää

Alone

City break

11 November 2012 Tommi would recommend this property

Liked: Kaikinpuolin erinomaisin hostelli jossa olen ollut. Juhlat non-stop alakerran baarissa, mutta meininki rauhallista ja siitiä. Henkilökunta uskomattoman ystävällistä, korjasivat ystävällisesti baariin jääneet laukkuni ja hanskani talteen. :)

Disliked: Tommi left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Shaddick

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 October 2012 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: It's atmosphere was amazing. We kinda wanted to stay in the bar the whole time! My friends were worried about staying with strangers and about the safety of the situation, but they were all very comfortable there. Happy happy.

Disliked: Nothing, it was ace.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Doron Keren

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

18 October 2012 Doron would recommend this property

Liked: Location and loby

Disliked: Small rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

ryan docherty

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2012 ryan would recommend this property

Liked: great staff great location

Disliked: nothing really

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nicole Huber

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2012 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - it was very easy to get around the city (either by walking, public transport or hiring a bicycle). The rooms were clean and tidy. Every bed had it's own light, power point and locker, which was good.

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Khurram Shad

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2012 Muhammad Khurram would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic. I'd recommend all who are traveling soon to amsterdam because of its location and indeed the atmosphere that you get. staff is friendly and i remember thisgirl from the staff who sits at the front reception knows almost all countriesand the way she initiates conversation truely implies that they care for their customers. Lockers are available in all rooms while the locks can be purchased from the vending machine next to the counter. lobby and thelounge is allowed only to the hostel residents which is a good thing for temporary roommates to socialize.

Disliked: the beds are bit noisy sometimes but comfortable. pillow at my be was a mess though but they changed it without any question when i told them the problem. other than that, eerything was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rachael McDonald

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely fantastic atmosphere definitely be back

Disliked: Sour water smell in bathroom and breakfast choice was rubbish