HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Maggy's Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 TN

66.1% Overall Rating

142 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2014)

Christian Eberhard thinks…

"Very nice Guesthouse, near to the center, near to Amsterdam Central Station. Perfect for a few days! I will be there again!"

Read all Maggy's Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cleaning Policy and costs: Cleaning is done every week and and at checkout, and whenever it is requested by the guest. Cleaning costs for each time it is cleaned for is 35 euro

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
50.89 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1283 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.57 USD

Hostel 79.7% 1128 reviews
Travel Hotel
26.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
44.31 USD

Hostel 86.1% 1094 reviews
Hostel Croydon
37.60 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews
Damrak Inn
37.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.0% 342 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
63.11 USD

Hostel 81.8% 920 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
26.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 116 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.1%

Overall Rating

142 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maggy's Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
67.2%
Value
58.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 143 of 199 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carien Swale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: The extra hidden costs, no wi-fi, the incredibly steep stairs (dangerous! especially if trying to carry large luggage)

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: First, I was informed that I could check in at 13. Then when I was on a cruise ship, I got an email to say that I could not be checked in until 16:00. When I got there after 10:00, there was no one there to answer the door. The room was very, very dark. The stairs were Ver, very narrow and steep. We were old couple about 70 years old. No one helped us with our luggages. We had to pay €3.65 more than what we got from the confirming email. The owner said the extra money was because of the 5% city taxed. The information I had when I booked it was all tax included.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SHANAZ VAKIL

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 SHANAZ would recommend this property

Liked: location.

Disliked: steep stairs and the late fee for checking in after 8pm.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

SHANAZ VAKIL

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 SHANAZ would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Very centrally located and close to the station.

Disliked: Very steep stairs to negotiate with bags. Also their policy of charging extra for checking in after pm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christian Eberhard

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Guesthouse, near to the center, near to Amsterdam Central Station. Perfect for a few days! I will be there again!

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 November 2013

Liked: It was close to the centre

Disliked: Attitude and the difference between the quoted price and what the owner wanted on arrival

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013

Liked: the location was great

Disliked: it was hard to find- no signage except "Maggies" in small type on the door. The stairs were really really steep

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: To hard to find, the name could be written bigger on the entrance

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jiang Li

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013

Liked: Very close to central station

Disliked: The room is tooooo dark, or say a bit creepy......and very noisy in the evening. Most importantly, I don't know why the landlord were changed suddenly, but luckily I got my deposit back.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zoe nunn-spears

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Kindness and friendly. Very helpful.

Disliked: The stairs lol! But we got used to it, was actual fun.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: City centre...No curfew

Disliked: No remote in my room....My laziness was not very happy about that. The beds were abit unstable and mattress weird kept dipping in But overall just what I was looking for

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Macurova

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful big room

Disliked: Little bit chilly in the night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judith Facio Navarro

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and comfortable room. Amazing bathroom for the price!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julia mling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2013 julia would recommend this property

Liked: We were moved to a different place further away. A small flat for just my friend and myself because I a problem with the toilet in the guesthouse.

Disliked: We were not provided with a map and had no Internet. We we re in a location nt as central as the original place

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and comfy! Pretty great place for an Amsterdam visit...

Disliked: The stairs are pretty steep....not a problem if you're careful but pretty tricky with a suitcase.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: coffee pod machine!

Disliked: very dark room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

César Augusto Piñeros García

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 César Augusto would recommend this property

Liked: Muy céntrica!

Disliked: Muy oscura

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Rowe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre. Bargin price wise and Maggy met us in a near buy coffeeshop.

Disliked: No hair dryer

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff, very comfortable bed, fridge

Disliked: the room was small for 4 people, the bathroom door could not be shut properly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aleksandar Gospodinov

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: The beds in the room were amazing :)) So comfortable !

Disliked: Too many stairs....and I mean ...too Many!! ...and no lift

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

serena cangiano

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 serena would recommend this property

Liked: place and price

Disliked: It would need just a bit more to make the room more comfortable, even if a budget solution..

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Johannes Jacubasch

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 January 2013

Liked: Its in a nice area, very close to the central station

Disliked: Rooms are Dark, Beds are too soft, You can hear your neighbors talking, not a lot of light, hard to find, no good service, you dont feel welcome

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vishnu Tupe

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 December 2012 Vishnu would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: smoking smell in building

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee Andre

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 lee would recommend this property

Liked: i like the fact that our room for 3 people was more of a studio apartment with cooker and the fact it was away from the hustle and bustle of the red light district but close enough to stroll to.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was exactly like on pictures. It was really well localed. You can smoke in rooms!

Disliked: There is no elevator so it might be a problem for some people as there are four high floors! There is a bath but no tips to keep the water in. That are two small disadvantages but i would go to this hôtel again with pleasure. Amsterdam is awesome!