We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Maggy's Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 TN

65.6% Overall Rating

144 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Andrew Deamer thinks…

"I thought the room was very nice and comfortable. Staff was lovely too. Was aloud to check in early which was a bonus as didn't expect to check in until 4 pm"

Read all Maggy's Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cleaning Policy and costs: Cleaning is done every week and and at checkout, and whenever it is requested by the guest. Cleaning costs for each time it is cleaned for is 35 euro

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
34.65 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1296 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
20.61 USD

Hostel 71.3% 1139 reviews
Travel Hotel
18.03 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 716 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
43.91 USD

Hostel 87.4% 1105 reviews
Hostel Croydon
18.03 USD

Hostel 65.4% 408 reviews
Damrak Inn
25.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
24.48 USD

Hostel 80.6% 926 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
25.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

144 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maggy's Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
56.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 202 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Andrew Deamer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2014 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: I thought the room was very nice and comfortable. Staff was lovely too. Was aloud to check in early which was a bonus as didn't expect to check in until 4 pm

Disliked: The stairs are very steep, BUT ITS THE SAME EVERYWHERE, however maggy said they would take my case upstairs but didn't so I found that abit unhelpful ... The only problem was money it was 76 euros for 2 people and then extra 12 euros on tax and then 35 euros cleaning fee and a 50euro deposit so we had to give 171 euros for 1 night stay. We got deposit back but it was initially expensive and still was when revived the deposit back. It meant we paid 121euroa for a night. 60 euros per person. ... Other hostels are cheaper but this was a nice place and had nice rooms. I recommend staying here if u can afford it as it's nice place, good location only negative is price.p

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Clara Juliano

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 September 2014

Liked: you can smoke in your room

Disliked: Super small and claustrophobic room. You can barely place your luggage on the floor. The stairs are so narrow (even for Amsterdam stardards) it is actually dangerous to get your stuff up and down. Everything is ultradirty. The coffeemaker and tea they claim to offer were covered with filth and dust and therefore were impossible to use. The sheets were black but even then we could see the filth! dust, old hair and a lot of stains. There is a bathtub, but it's so filthy you'll be afraid to use it. Plus, Maggy is always trying to charge you more than the agreed.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Carien Swale

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: The extra hidden costs, no wi-fi, the incredibly steep stairs (dangerous! especially if trying to carry large luggage)

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: First, I was informed that I could check in at 13. Then when I was on a cruise ship, I got an email to say that I could not be checked in until 16:00. When I got there after 10:00, there was no one there to answer the door. The room was very, very dark. The stairs were Ver, very narrow and steep. We were old couple about 70 years old. No one helped us with our luggages. We had to pay €3.65 more than what we got from the confirming email. The owner said the extra money was because of the 5% city taxed. The information I had when I booked it was all tax included.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SHANAZ VAKIL

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 SHANAZ would recommend this property

Liked: location.

Disliked: steep stairs and the late fee for checking in after 8pm.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

SHANAZ VAKIL

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 SHANAZ would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Very centrally located and close to the station.

Disliked: Very steep stairs to negotiate with bags. Also their policy of charging extra for checking in after pm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christian Eberhard

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Guesthouse, near to the center, near to Amsterdam Central Station. Perfect for a few days! I will be there again!

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 November 2013

Liked: It was close to the centre

Disliked: Attitude and the difference between the quoted price and what the owner wanted on arrival

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013

Liked: the location was great

Disliked: it was hard to find- no signage except "Maggies" in small type on the door. The stairs were really really steep

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: To hard to find, the name could be written bigger on the entrance

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jiang Li

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013

Liked: Very close to central station

Disliked: The room is tooooo dark, or say a bit creepy......and very noisy in the evening. Most importantly, I don't know why the landlord were changed suddenly, but luckily I got my deposit back.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zoe nunn-spears

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Kindness and friendly. Very helpful.

Disliked: The stairs lol! But we got used to it, was actual fun.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: City centre...No curfew

Disliked: No remote in my room....My laziness was not very happy about that. The beds were abit unstable and mattress weird kept dipping in But overall just what I was looking for

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Macurova

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful big room

Disliked: Little bit chilly in the night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judith Facio Navarro

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and comfortable room. Amazing bathroom for the price!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julia mling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2013 julia would recommend this property

Liked: We were moved to a different place further away. A small flat for just my friend and myself because I a problem with the toilet in the guesthouse.

Disliked: We were not provided with a map and had no Internet. We we re in a location nt as central as the original place

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and comfy! Pretty great place for an Amsterdam visit...

Disliked: The stairs are pretty steep....not a problem if you're careful but pretty tricky with a suitcase.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: coffee pod machine!

Disliked: very dark room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

César Augusto Piñeros García

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 César Augusto would recommend this property

Liked: Muy céntrica!

Disliked: Muy oscura

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Rowe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre. Bargin price wise and Maggy met us in a near buy coffeeshop.

Disliked: No hair dryer

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff, very comfortable bed, fridge

Disliked: the room was small for 4 people, the bathroom door could not be shut properly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aleksandar Gospodinov

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: The beds in the room were amazing :)) So comfortable !

Disliked: Too many stairs....and I mean ...too Many!! ...and no lift

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

serena cangiano

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 serena would recommend this property

Liked: place and price

Disliked: It would need just a bit more to make the room more comfortable, even if a budget solution..

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Johannes Jacubasch

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 January 2013

Liked: Its in a nice area, very close to the central station

Disliked: Rooms are Dark, Beds are too soft, You can hear your neighbors talking, not a lot of light, hard to find, no good service, you dont feel welcome

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vishnu Tupe

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 December 2012 Vishnu would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: smoking smell in building