HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Maggy's Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 TN

71.4% Overall Rating

142 out of 215 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2014)

Christian Eberhard thinks…

"Very nice Guesthouse, near to the center, near to Amsterdam Central Station. Perfect for a few days! I will be there again!"

Read all Maggy's Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.51 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1257 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
30.37 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
Travel Hotel
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.1% 678 reviews
The Bulldog
41.41 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1081 reviews
Hostel Croydon
23.47 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews
Damrak Inn
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 328 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
30.37 USD

Hostel 79.3% 908 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
27.61 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 113 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

142 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maggy's Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
71.2%
Value
66.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 193 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

SHANAZ VAKIL

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 SHANAZ would recommend this property

Liked: location.

Disliked: steep stairs and the late fee for checking in after 8pm.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

SHANAZ VAKIL

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2014 SHANAZ would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Very centrally located and close to the station.

Disliked: Very steep stairs to negotiate with bags. Also their policy of charging extra for checking in after pm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christian Eberhard

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Christian would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Guesthouse, near to the center, near to Amsterdam Central Station. Perfect for a few days! I will be there again!

Disliked: Christian left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 November 2013

Liked: It was close to the centre

Disliked: Attitude and the difference between the quoted price and what the owner wanted on arrival

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 November 2013

Liked: the location was great

Disliked: it was hard to find- no signage except "Maggies" in small type on the door. The stairs were really really steep

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: To hard to find, the name could be written bigger on the entrance

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jiang Li

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 October 2013

Liked: Very close to central station

Disliked: The room is tooooo dark, or say a bit creepy......and very noisy in the evening. Most importantly, I don't know why the landlord were changed suddenly, but luckily I got my deposit back.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

zoe nunn-spears

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 zoe would recommend this property

Liked: Kindness and friendly. Very helpful.

Disliked: The stairs lol! But we got used to it, was actual fun.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

26 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: City centre...No curfew

Disliked: No remote in my room....My laziness was not very happy about that. The beds were abit unstable and mattress weird kept dipping in But overall just what I was looking for

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Macurova

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful big room

Disliked: Little bit chilly in the night

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judith Facio Navarro

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Judith would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location and comfortable room. Amazing bathroom for the price!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

julia mling

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 July 2013 julia would recommend this property

Liked: We were moved to a different place further away. A small flat for just my friend and myself because I a problem with the toilet in the guesthouse.

Disliked: We were not provided with a map and had no Internet. We we re in a location nt as central as the original place

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and comfy! Pretty great place for an Amsterdam visit...

Disliked: The stairs are pretty steep....not a problem if you're careful but pretty tricky with a suitcase.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

16 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: coffee pod machine!

Disliked: very dark room

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

César Augusto Piñeros García

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 César Augusto would recommend this property

Liked: Muy céntrica!

Disliked: Muy oscura

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Rowe

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre. Bargin price wise and Maggy met us in a near buy coffeeshop.

Disliked: No hair dryer

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, friendly staff, very comfortable bed, fridge

Disliked: the room was small for 4 people, the bathroom door could not be shut properly

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aleksandar Gospodinov

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2013 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: The beds in the room were amazing :)) So comfortable !

Disliked: Too many stairs....and I mean ...too Many!! ...and no lift

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

serena cangiano

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 serena would recommend this property

Liked: place and price

Disliked: It would need just a bit more to make the room more comfortable, even if a budget solution..

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Johannes Jacubasch

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 January 2013

Liked: Its in a nice area, very close to the central station

Disliked: Rooms are Dark, Beds are too soft, You can hear your neighbors talking, not a lot of light, hard to find, no good service, you dont feel welcome

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Vishnu Tupe

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

31 December 2012 Vishnu would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: smoking smell in building

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee Andre

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 lee would recommend this property

Liked: i like the fact that our room for 3 people was more of a studio apartment with cooker and the fact it was away from the hustle and bustle of the red light district but close enough to stroll to.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was exactly like on pictures. It was really well localed. You can smoke in rooms!

Disliked: There is no elevator so it might be a problem for some people as there are four high floors! There is a bath but no tips to keep the water in. That are two small disadvantages but i would go to this hôtel again with pleasure. Amsterdam is awesome!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alison mackinnon

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 November 2012 alison would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet but still close to all areas for getting around

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte roper-harwood

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 November 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fab! Both Maggy's very friendly and helpful. You can smoke!!!!

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.