HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Maggy's Guesthouse

Guesthouse

Martelaarsgracht 9, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 46%

Location 94%

Safety 62%

Staff 62%

Value 49%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Hot Showers

Important Information

Cleaning Policy and costs:

Cleaning is done every week and and at checkout, and whenever it is requested by the guest.
Cleaning costs for each time it is cleaned for is 35 euro

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 16:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 46%

Cleanliness 58%

Facilities 46%

Location 94%

Safety 62%

Staff 62%

Value 49%

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This was horrible, the worst place i have ever stayed. We left after the first night, payed in full for 3 nights but it was worth it, just not to ruin the whole Amsterdam weekend, this is how bad it was. The room was super dark and almost no lights, it felt like a dungen. The bathroom as naked, nothing in there beside a small mirror, sink, bath tub with almost no water pressure, no light, and a toilet, everything was old and not clean. Uhhh When we left they asked what was wrong, i told them the room was not nice, dark and that they should renovate. Their reply was: But its a nice room, it has 2 beds, and a lamp on the night stand and everything. Its a very nice room. Well there you have it, it that how they judge a nice room i can understand why its so bad. We went up the street and payed 30EURO more pr night and it was a real HOTEL with 2015 standard rooms. Dont get cheated, dont waist your money, there are plenty of hotels in the area to the same price, they might not be for order on the internet but they are there. Next time i wont be ordering in advance. Stay at your own risk, you have been warned!

Disliked: Its easier to tell you what i liked. The location, nothing else. Its old worn out, if you live in Europe and are used to some kind of standard living, this will not be a good fit for you, believe me, you wont be sorry for letting me save your vacation.


The property's response is

i.am really SORRY THAT YOU DID NOT LIKE MINE GUESTHOUSE!!!! THAT YOU DON@T SMOKE DON@T GIVE YOU THE RIGHT STOP MINE GUEST NOT TO SMOKE !!!! THIS IS A SMOKING BUILDING
MAGGY

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It is well located near the central station.

Disliked: The host, while short of being rude and unfriendly, was uncommunicative and unapproachable. We did not feel like we could ask her anything about the city, such as travel, where to eat, or recommendations for places to visit. The teabags were kept in a tin which looked and smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in ages, and there was no facility for storing our valuables in the room. The shower was unreliable, with scalding hot and freezing cold alternating at random intervals. We were most upset by the hidden charges. We were told that we would be paying €85, plus a 5.5% city tax, however on arrival a €35 was added to our bill. The email did mention the charge, however it was unclear, and made to look like the charge was only applied if we requested our room to be cleaned or if we were staying for a week or longer. The second bed was uncomfortable and felt like it could collapse at any time, so both of us ended up sharing a single bed. It was difficult to find as there is no signage outside, apart from a tiny label on the door.


The property's response is

I'm really sorry if you 'feel' that I've been rude and unfriendly. Usually people coming here in Amsterdam to get 'high' and afterwhile it's normal that some parts of memory simply disapear, depends what people 'using'. As first, room and bathrom were perfectly clean like usual here. This is hostel, not hotel and for the difference, at this hostel every room have a private bathroom. About the FEES - IN ALL AGENCIES EVERYBODY CAN SEE VERY CLEAR THAT CityTax & CleaningCost IS NOT INCLUDED. Thanks

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: Staff and facilites

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice bathroom, good shower, close to the station.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I thought the room was very nice and comfortable. Staff was lovely too. Was aloud to check in early which was a bonus as didn't expect to check in until 4 pm

Disliked: The stairs are very steep, BUT ITS THE SAME EVERYWHERE, however maggy said they would take my case upstairs but didn't so I found that abit unhelpful ...The only problem was money it was 76 euros for 2 people and then extra 12 euros on tax and then 35 euros cleaning fee and a 50euro deposit so we had to give 171 euros for 1 night stay. We got deposit back but it was initially expensive and still was when revived the deposit back. It meant we paid 121euroa for a night. 60 euros per person. ... Other hostels are cheaper but this was a nice place and had nice rooms. I recommend staying here if u can afford it as it's nice place, good location only negative is price.p

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: you can smoke in your room

Disliked: Super small and claustrophobic room. You can barely place your luggage on the floor. The stairs are so narrow (even for Amsterdam stardards) it is actually dangerous to get your stuff up and down.Everything is ultradirty. The coffeemaker and tea they claim to offer were covered with filth and dust and therefore were impossible to use. The sheets were black but even then we could see the filth! dust, old hair and a lot of stains. There is a bathtub, but it's so filthy you'll be afraid to use it.Plus, Maggy is always trying to charge you more than the agreed.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: The extra hidden costs, no wi-fi, the incredibly steep stairs (dangerous! especially if trying to carry large luggage)


The property's response is

Hello carien
the extra hidden cost was CLEANING COST THAT YOU CAN SEE BY YOUR RESERVATION PAPER AND CITYTAX 5.5%
maggy

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: First, I was informed that I could check in at 13. Then when I was on a cruise ship, I got an email to say that I could not be checked in until 16:00. When I got there after 10:00, there was no one there to answer the door. The room was very, very dark. The stairs were Ver, very narrow and steep. We were old couple about 70 years old. No one helped us with our luggages. We had to pay €3.65 more than what we got from the confirming email. The owner said the extra money was because of the 5% city taxed. The information I had when I booked it was all tax included.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location. Very centrally located and close to the station.

Disliked: Very steep stairs to negotiate with bags. Also their policy of charging extra for checking in after pm.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location.

Disliked: steep stairs and the late fee for checking in after 8pm.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability