We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Maggy's Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 TN

59.8% Overall Rating

146 out of 231 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Andrew Deamer thinks…

"I thought the room was very nice and comfortable. Staff was lovely too. Was aloud to check in early which was a bonus as didn't expect to check in until 4 pm"

Read all Maggy's Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cleaning Policy and costs: Cleaning is done every week and and at checkout, and whenever it is requested by the guest. Cleaning costs for each time it is cleaned for is 35 euro

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
46.87 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1348 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
24.61 USD

Hostel 73.1% 1185 reviews
Travel Hotel
22.37 USD

Hotel 2 star 65.5% 778 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
41.95 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1141 reviews
Hostel Croydon
22.37 USD

Hostel 62.2% 436 reviews
Damrak Inn
30.76 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 354 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
27.97 USD

Hostel 82.4% 958 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
39.15 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.3% 125 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
59.8%

Overall Rating

146 out of 231 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maggy's Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
47.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
46.4%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
64.0%
Value
48.0%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 148 of 208 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Be clear what room of you have booked, we booked a double ensuite and on arrival we were given a twin ensuite there was about a foot between the two beds. The window was in the middle of a ventilation shaft no natural light, or air. The air was redistributed and mixed with the extractor of restaurant below. I explained to the gentleman who dealt with our reservation that i was unhappy with the room. I suffer from claustrophobia and i would have a panic attack if i was to sleep here. He insisted 'that was what we booked but said that he would try and get our room swapped'. After much deliberation we got our room upgraded to a twin again en-suite, front facing room with mini fridge and tv. This was to say the least a room which i feel we deserved for the money we paid. The staff are very friendly and the B&B is centrally located although no breakfast was included. I would not hesitate to stay here again as long as i am guaranteed the same room. We had a lovely stay and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ellie Su

31 July 2009 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: no public reception. it's expensive to make a call to Maggy for foreigner tourist!!

Disliked: Ellie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and in a great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comftable rooms and the location is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danilo Mustafa

22 July 2009 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: The place is ok to stay for short period!!! The relation cost/benefit is very good!

Disliked: Danilo left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant location, right in the centre. tea and coffee making facilities which was good. nice big rooms the only problem was our shower wasnt great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Dolan

16 July 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap to stay but very noisy

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

10 July 2009

Liked: Nothing. It was awful. Bed bugs and a creepy atmosphere. The stairs were way too steep to climb. Don'g stay here!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and clean rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

04 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near to the city center, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The convenient location near the train station and low cost, as we only visited for one night for a concert.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. Close to the station and city center. Bathroom ws ok. Oesha is very kind and friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul Cannon

04 June 2009 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful and friendly staff. Location very convenient to station and main attractions.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Edward Ansell

03 June 2009

Liked: Beds are comfortable, hot water is plentiful.

Disliked: Edward left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, size of the rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was no window in our hotel-room, but the coffee-maker and the TV-set was really good! The mattress was very soft, but it was okay for the money. We had a good time in Amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

16 May 2009

Liked: Read many times before about the mouse running around and it was still there when we visited recently. Pretty disgusting. Hands down one of the worst places I have ever stayed and I have traveled a bit in 3rd world countries. Don't think it was worth the price. On the upside, Maggy was really nice and location can not be beat. However, I just would not recommend it to anyone because I just never felt quite clean sleeping there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nora Schorn

29 April 2009 Nora would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, great rooms with tv and minibar! very central location, 2 minutes from train station

Disliked: Nora left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great large and very clean rooms with big windows. Staircase only, so get ready for the struggle up but worth it, i think. might be a little noisy if a light sleeper so take some ear plugs else *smoke yourself sleepy* as we did.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 April 2009

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

16 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its best feature is that it is near central station.and it is a middle of all attraction in amsterdam.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sebastian Schätzle

04 April 2009 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the place a lot. It was a lot of fun, clean and well located. The owner and staff are very nice and always willing to help you out. Check it out on your next trip to Amsterdam.

Disliked: Sebastian left no negative feedback.