HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Maggy's Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 TN

71.4% Overall Rating

142 out of 215 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2014)

Christian Eberhard thinks…

"Very nice Guesthouse, near to the center, near to Amsterdam Central Station. Perfect for a few days! I will be there again!"

Read all Maggy's Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
41.33 USD

Hostel 90.5% 1260 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
17.97 USD

Hostel 77.6% 1104 reviews
Travel Hotel
19.35 USD

Hotel 2 star 72.3% 681 reviews
The Bulldog
41.47 USD

Hostel 88.2% 1082 reviews
Hostel Croydon
26.26 USD

Hostel 85.7% 371 reviews
Damrak Inn
42.16 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 329 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
31.79 USD

Hostel 79.3% 908 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
27.64 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.3% 113 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.4%

Overall Rating

142 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maggy's Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
71.2%
Value
66.4%
Safety
74.4%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 193 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is ok for its cheap rates... only 2 things: you are asked to pay a 5% city tax extra fee and to leave a 20 euro deposit for the room key when you check in and you can hear the noise in 4 room distance

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was increadible. Everything is so close...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Steytler

28 November 2009 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: it had a tv...and free tea and coffe in your room!!! and a fridge!!! im going to stay at maggies every time i go damm now!!! coz it was greeeeeeeat!

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

26 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed in a nice room with soft beds, a television, and our own bathroom for the price of a hostel. The location can't be beat. The doorknobs were kindof broken but did the ob, and the stairs were dangerously steep, but overall it was a good choice.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PABLO GARCÍA DE PALAU ROCA

11 November 2009 PABLO would recommend this property

Liked: The room was quite small but good for what we were searching for (4 beds on floor, a full equip toilet and a coffee machine, if you expect to sleep like an Hotel it's not your place, but If you wanna have some place to stay for low price it's great ^^. The staff was absolutely unknow, just see them on arriving (check-in) and check-out, not cleaning rooms service (you take care until you leave).Great to have keys and make your own timetable to see the city, near Station so cool if you wanna see somewhere else arround Amsterdam or moving by tram/bus/metro, just crosing the Centraal Station and walking 50 mts.

Disliked: PABLO left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bruce Campbell

28 October 2009 Bruce would recommend this property

Liked: you have to hold the shower head above you, well at least you did in our room. apart from that everything else was pretty much perfect, smoking in the rooms, comfy enough beds. we were on the fourth floor tho which isn't great with the steepness of some stairs in amsterdam like these ones! Overall pretty good for 25 euros per person per night in a tripple ensuite

Disliked: Bruce left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for 2 nights. The stairs scares everyone=.= It was really dangerours climbing up and down!! especially with our luggages!!!others....are just OK~not a place to live, but is ok for a short stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

14 October 2009

Liked: Almost nothing. The only good thing about our particular room is that we had a balcony which helped in the scorching heat. The bathroom would have been very nice had the shower head not been broken. The guy running the place is a scammer too as he charged us a bs tax which doesn't exist. We were in Europe for 6 weeks and stayed in over 20 hostels, and this one comes out at about 2nd or 3rd lowest on the list.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul lappin

30 September 2009 paul would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location and vaule for money

Disliked: paul left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Jan Stajnko

18 September 2009 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Location, maggy's "surprise" in the next door coffeeshop, value for money.

Disliked: Jan left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Bridget Bennett

07 September 2009

Liked: The location

Disliked: Bridget left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sabrina Hendrix

20 August 2009 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: Locotation only...and comically steep staircase - do not attempt to climb while drunk!

Disliked: Sabrina left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a really big room and the owner was really nice. Unfortunatly there was no elevator and we had to carry our suitcases to the third floor (very steep stairs!!!).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a really nice place, we had a double room, it was en suite with a tv and free hot drinks. very clean and great location. you can smoke in your room which is good because your in Amsterdam. very friendly. great value for your money. peace

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Wayne Owen

15 August 2009 Wayne would recommend this property

Liked: No air conditioning would be the only negative about the place but my friends and I will be booking again soon. Even though the room was quite small, it was great for the price, free tea and coffee facilities including free tea and coffee! We were allowed to smoke in our room and it's only 5 minutes from Centraal Station. It's also only 2 minutes to the nearest coffee shop, restaurant, breakfast bar, internet cafe and pub! Location is fantastic unless you're after a view, ours was just another a building but we weren't bothered by this. Liked the atmosphere, the lady who runs the place, Oesha, was very nice and has this rope and pully system for opening the front door from upstairs which we found hilarious. She let us use her laptop and printer to get our flight tickets sorted out and even though we were supposed to be out by 11:00am she didn't mind that we slept in about 45 minutes too late! Nice people, nice place, thumbs up! Oh and we didn't so much as hear a mouse break wind let alone see one anywhere.

Disliked: Wayne left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good hostel in the city center. I got a private room with bathroom. Clean, quiet. Coffee and tea are available in room for breakfast. Maggy has been very kind and helpful for any problem I got.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marketa Volna

11 August 2009 Marketa would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, coffee mashine and small fridge in room, clean rooms and bathroom.Bad things: very steep stairs (not good for older people), smell of toilets in room, noisy neighbours

Disliked: Marketa left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Be clear what room of you have booked, we booked a double ensuite and on arrival we were given a twin ensuite there was about a foot between the two beds. The window was in the middle of a ventilation shaft no natural light, or air. The air was redistributed and mixed with the extractor of restaurant below. I explained to the gentleman who dealt with our reservation that i was unhappy with the room. I suffer from claustrophobia and i would have a panic attack if i was to sleep here. He insisted 'that was what we booked but said that he would try and get our room swapped'. After much deliberation we got our room upgraded to a twin again en-suite, front facing room with mini fridge and tv. This was to say the least a room which i feel we deserved for the money we paid. The staff are very friendly and the B&B is centrally located although no breakfast was included. I would not hesitate to stay here again as long as i am guaranteed the same room. We had a lovely stay and the staff were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ellie Su

31 July 2009 Ellie would recommend this property

Liked: no public reception. it's expensive to make a call to Maggy for foreigner tourist!!

Disliked: Ellie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and in a great location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comftable rooms and the location is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danilo Mustafa

22 July 2009 Danilo would recommend this property

Liked: The place is ok to stay for short period!!! The relation cost/benefit is very good!

Disliked: Danilo left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: brilliant location, right in the centre. tea and coffee making facilities which was good. nice big rooms the only problem was our shower wasnt great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Thomas Dolan

16 July 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap to stay but very noisy

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.