HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Maggy's Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 TN

65.6% Overall Rating

144 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Andrew Deamer thinks…

"I thought the room was very nice and comfortable. Staff was lovely too. Was aloud to check in early which was a bonus as didn't expect to check in until 4 pm"

Read all Maggy's Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cleaning Policy and costs: Cleaning is done every week and and at checkout, and whenever it is requested by the guest. Cleaning costs for each time it is cleaned for is 35 euro

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
28.97 USD

Hostel 91.9% 1297 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1143 reviews
Travel Hotel
12.65 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 718 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
43.12 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1107 reviews
Hostel Croydon
15.18 USD

Hostel 67.1% 412 reviews
Damrak Inn
22.14 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
18.98 USD

Hostel 79.0% 927 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

144 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maggy's Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
56.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 202 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is close to the station and to some main attractions of Amsterdam. The room was clean and we went when it was very cold in Amsterdam, but is was very warm inside. We had free tea and coffee and a TV(not that you need it...it's Amsterdam). The price of the room was cheap and it had it's own bathroom. Very nice place for the price they ask.

Disliked: If you have big luggage, it can be tricky on the stairs.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

ana martinez

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 December 2011 ana would recommend this property

Liked: close to everything! which is always handy, enjoyed my time their.

Disliked: the stairs, ;) and its a bit hard to find maybe a sign would help. but that it!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joseph Warwick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

05 December 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Smoker friendly. Close to coffee shops and other attractions.

Disliked: The power of the shower faucet isn't very strong.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Roskifte

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Its very cheap, The lady running the place is friendly and its only a 5 minute walk from the red light.

Disliked: Old and worn. could use a make over but i guess its okay for the price.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Knocking in the morning to get up to leave in time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great! its just across the road of amsterdam centraal... we stayed in a double bedroom ensuite and it was a big room as well as bathroom, smoking was allowed and fridge plus a foodbox where u can store your snacks were provided. the lady who owns the guesthouse is in my opinion really friendly and helpful (she also gave us her business card in case of emergencies)... so in no kind of way did i feel uncomfortable around her (just referring to a few reviews of other guests)...

Disliked: the staircase is indeed a littlw steep but thats the way the houses in amsterdam are built and it didn't bother me really...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great.

Disliked: rooms were so small and there were no air inside. Also beds were so uncomfortable. if you expect more than location, not stay in there. But if you only want to be close to the center you can stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Romantic getaway

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We could smoke inside, very clean, bathtub

Disliked: Windovs weren't seald properly (weren't sound and wind proof)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, and proper accomodations, at a very reasonable price

Disliked: Very hard to find.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vicky openshaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2011 vicky would recommend this property

Liked: very spacious rooms

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 June 2011

Liked: location, 2mins walk from central railway station.

Disliked: very steep and narrow stairs, if with large suitcases and room at top floor, it would be a disaster which we have experienced. no internet. no room service, no new towels provided everyday. If people smoking in other rooms, you will smell it very quickly. not worth for money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Neaves

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 May 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great budget option, moments from the station the rooms are big and on-suite. The rooms were clean and quirky with a coffee machine and bath. What more could you find in Amsterdam for £50? I have been going to Amsterdam for over 10 years and feel that there is. staff were great and the other tenants quiet.

Disliked: It was all good

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

zeyneo oner

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 zeyneo would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very steep stairs. Hard to carry luggage. Also, the owner is not very hospitable

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2011

Liked: I liked the genius door system!

Disliked: The entire place (including towels and linnen) smelled like tobacco. Not worth the money

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, at the city centre

Disliked: The facilities in the room, our toilet door can't be securely closed.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

28 February 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: mouse in the room!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean bathroom, smoker friendly and great location.

Disliked: To many stairs

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Louise Lowe

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 February 2011

Liked: The location was excellent and the room was a good size. It's very close to central station and was always easy to get back to at night

Disliked: Nothing worked. The lamp was not just not working but smashed to pieces so the room was unbelievably dark The coffeemachine made all the right noises but nothing was spat out Most importantly the place felt unsafe. The staircase had big cracks down the side and the floors were unstable. I honestly think next time I'd spend a little More and get a huge amount more

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is almost in the very center of the city.

Disliked: The room was too small for 4 persons. It was cold.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The staff

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: almost nothing

Disliked: was a very bad hostel.very cold.there was a mouse that came without problem in our room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alessio Pennatini

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

16 December 2010 Alessio would recommend this property

Liked: Everything needed was here, mini-fridge, coffee machine, a nice bedroom and the heating works very-well.....just take care to ask before about the floor number.....staying at 4th floor require to overcome very abrupt stairs!

Disliked: not anything specific

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sian Withers

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 December 2010

Liked: Nothing other than location

Disliked: Everything

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room was clean.

Disliked: staff was awful, , stairs were indescribable:)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable room with tv, fridge, coffeemaker and toilet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.