HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Maggy's Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 TN

66.1% Overall Rating

142 out of 221 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/01/2014)

Christian Eberhard thinks…

"Very nice Guesthouse, near to the center, near to Amsterdam Central Station. Perfect for a few days! I will be there again!"

Read all Maggy's Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cleaning Policy and costs: Cleaning is done every week and and at checkout, and whenever it is requested by the guest. Cleaning costs for each time it is cleaned for is 35 euro

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
40.26 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1283 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.66 USD

Hostel 79.7% 1128 reviews
Travel Hotel
40.39 USD

Hotel 2 star 67.5% 701 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
44.43 USD

Hostel 86.1% 1094 reviews
Hostel Croydon
37.70 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews
Damrak Inn
37.70 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.2% 341 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
49.82 USD

Hostel 81.8% 920 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
26.93 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 116 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.1%

Overall Rating

142 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maggy's Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
53.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
54.4%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
67.2%
Value
58.4%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 143 of 199 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Joseph Warwick

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

05 December 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Smoker friendly. Close to coffee shops and other attractions.

Disliked: The power of the shower faucet isn't very strong.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Daniel Roskifte

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Its very cheap, The lady running the place is friendly and its only a 5 minute walk from the red light.

Disliked: Old and worn. could use a make over but i guess its okay for the price.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price

Disliked: Knocking in the morning to get up to leave in time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is great! its just across the road of amsterdam centraal... we stayed in a double bedroom ensuite and it was a big room as well as bathroom, smoking was allowed and fridge plus a foodbox where u can store your snacks were provided. the lady who owns the guesthouse is in my opinion really friendly and helpful (she also gave us her business card in case of emergencies)... so in no kind of way did i feel uncomfortable around her (just referring to a few reviews of other guests)...

Disliked: the staircase is indeed a littlw steep but thats the way the houses in amsterdam are built and it didn't bother me really...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great.

Disliked: rooms were so small and there were no air inside. Also beds were so uncomfortable. if you expect more than location, not stay in there. But if you only want to be close to the center you can stay.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Romantic getaway

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We could smoke inside, very clean, bathtub

Disliked: Windovs weren't seald properly (weren't sound and wind proof)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, and proper accomodations, at a very reasonable price

Disliked: Very hard to find.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

vicky openshaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2011 vicky would recommend this property

Liked: very spacious rooms

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 June 2011

Liked: location, 2mins walk from central railway station.

Disliked: very steep and narrow stairs, if with large suitcases and room at top floor, it would be a disaster which we have experienced. no internet. no room service, no new towels provided everyday. If people smoking in other rooms, you will smell it very quickly. not worth for money.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Neaves

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 May 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great budget option, moments from the station the rooms are big and on-suite. The rooms were clean and quirky with a coffee machine and bath. What more could you find in Amsterdam for £50? I have been going to Amsterdam for over 10 years and feel that there is. staff were great and the other tenants quiet.

Disliked: It was all good

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

zeyneo oner

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2011 zeyneo would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Very steep stairs. Hard to carry luggage. Also, the owner is not very hospitable

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 May 2011

Liked: I liked the genius door system!

Disliked: The entire place (including towels and linnen) smelled like tobacco. Not worth the money

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location, at the city centre

Disliked: The facilities in the room, our toilet door can't be securely closed.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

28 February 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: mouse in the room!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean bathroom, smoker friendly and great location.

Disliked: To many stairs

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Louise Lowe

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 February 2011

Liked: The location was excellent and the room was a good size. It's very close to central station and was always easy to get back to at night

Disliked: Nothing worked. The lamp was not just not working but smashed to pieces so the room was unbelievably dark The coffeemachine made all the right noises but nothing was spat out Most importantly the place felt unsafe. The staircase had big cracks down the side and the floors were unstable. I honestly think next time I'd spend a little More and get a huge amount more

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is almost in the very center of the city.

Disliked: The room was too small for 4 persons. It was cold.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: The staff

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: almost nothing

Disliked: was a very bad hostel.very cold.there was a mouse that came without problem in our room

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alessio Pennatini

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

16 December 2010 Alessio would recommend this property

Liked: Everything needed was here, mini-fridge, coffee machine, a nice bedroom and the heating works very-well.....just take care to ask before about the floor number.....staying at 4th floor require to overcome very abrupt stairs!

Disliked: not anything specific

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sian Withers

With my spouse / partner

City break

13 December 2010

Liked: Nothing other than location

Disliked: Everything

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: room was clean.

Disliked: staff was awful, , stairs were indescribable:)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable room with tv, fridge, coffeemaker and toilet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

05 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ----

Disliked: -----

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway

13 September 2010

Liked: 1

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.