HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Maggy's Guesthouse

Guesthouse | Martelaarsgracht 9, 1012 TN, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012 TN

65.6% Overall Rating

144 out of 224 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2014)

Andrew Deamer thinks…

"I thought the room was very nice and comfortable. Staff was lovely too. Was aloud to check in early which was a bonus as didn't expect to check in until 4 pm"

Read all Maggy's Guesthouse reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cleaning Policy and costs: Cleaning is done every week and and at checkout, and whenever it is requested by the guest. Cleaning costs for each time it is cleaned for is 35 euro

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
26.44 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1298 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1143 reviews
Travel Hotel
17.71 USD

Hotel 2 star 69.1% 718 reviews
The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
43.12 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1107 reviews
Hostel Croydon
13.92 USD

Hostel 67.1% 412 reviews
Damrak Inn
15.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.6% 349 reviews
Heart of Amsterdam
32.89 USD

Hostel 79.0% 927 reviews
Hostel Continental City Centre
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star 74.9% 119 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.6%

Overall Rating

144 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Maggy's Guesthouse'

Atmosphere
52.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
68.8%
Value
56.0%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 202 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lee Andre

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 lee would recommend this property

Liked: i like the fact that our room for 3 people was more of a studio apartment with cooker and the fact it was away from the hustle and bustle of the red light district but close enough to stroll to.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was exactly like on pictures. It was really well localed. You can smoke in rooms!

Disliked: There is no elevator so it might be a problem for some people as there are four high floors! There is a bath but no tips to keep the water in. That are two small disadvantages but i would go to this hôtel again with pleasure. Amsterdam is awesome!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

alison mackinnon

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 November 2012 alison would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet but still close to all areas for getting around

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte roper-harwood

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

14 November 2012 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fab! Both Maggy's very friendly and helpful. You can smoke!!!!

Disliked: Charlotte left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emilio Magro

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Emilio would recommend this property

Liked: It was very central and good value for money! Would recommend it!

Disliked: We were only given 1 towel each for 4 nights! Maggy could've changed the towels everyday. At least I had brought my own towels from home. Also the pillow was very thin and not comfortable at all but managed to sleep the whole night through!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kirsten Diegel

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 October 2012 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great

Disliked: The stairs were pretty difficult to climb, luckily we did not have much luggage.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marina Ortes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2012 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: la habitacion etsaba ok. Buena relacion precio calidad

Disliked: la ducha estaba rota

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

10 September 2012

Liked: location. only location

Disliked: so many things. unfriendly staff, rception close most of the time, unsafe, no elavator in a 3 floors building with narrow stairs, no facilities....

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrew Thompson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012

Liked: Good location, Clean

Disliked: No wifi, Very small dark room, Unhelpful/Unavailable Staff. No luggage storage. When we asked can we leave our bags here until we catch a train she replied 'There is lockers at the train station' (for 10 euros)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

P P Jagadish Rao

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

23 August 2012

Liked: Only location is near to the centraal station

Disliked: Everything. Bad room and room with private bathroom are on the fourth floor with no lift facility. Kimdly remember you have to deposit 50 euro as caution deposit which is refundable. Tea and coffee were free but no milk provided in spite of requesting. Bad experience

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

M Adelaide Moutinho

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012

Liked: The location is awesome and the staff is very nice.

Disliked: However, is a bit noisy and unfortunately there were rats...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Russell WOOD

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Maggy is the best! She is so helpfull and kind! Our stay for 1 week here was absolutly fabulous! We reccomend not having big luggage the staircase is quite funny its so steep and narrow,but that is everywhere in amsterdam! Just laugh about them! We highly recommend Maggy's Guesthouse!

Disliked: Russell left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 July 2012

Liked: * Fantastic location - Central to everything

Disliked: * Very steep staircase - probably normal for Amsterdam Town Houses * 4 beds all pushed together in one, not so spacious, room * Mice in the rooms * Decor/cleanliness to poor standard - wallpaper wasnt even matched correctly * Very strong smell of WEED throughout the building!!! * Wasn't allowed to have the plug for the bath!!! * Knocking on the door at 11am PROMPT on day of leaving * Despite having 'no curfew' was 'told off' for coming in and talking at MIDNIGHT!! * £50 deposit per room - not stated when booking. * Holes patched up in the doors with duct tape * Seriously needs modernised * Loose carpets - putting guests at risk of tripping on the horrendous staircase * The list is pretty endless really * WOULD NOT STAY HERE AGAIN - WOULD NOT BE RECOMMENDED

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very close to everything, staff was kind

Disliked: We had to wait couple hours cause they haven't cleaned the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lee Stokes

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2012 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Maggie is very friendly and helpful, we arrived to find our fridge stocked with cola, beers and bottled water at the cheap price of 1.50 euro per item, heating worked great and room was clean, impressed with its bathroom And tv And free tea and coffee, location was absolutely amazing literally across the road from central station and 2-3 mins walk to the red light district, I have recommended maggies to a few friends and will be staying there again with my friends in November

Disliked: The stairs were steep, but so are the stairs everywhere in Amsterdam. This is not just an issue for maggies If your older or less fit, try not to stay on the top floor

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

08 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely small guest house

Disliked: We were on the top floor so there is LOTS of stairs. Exposed electrical socket with DO NO TOUCH sign next to it.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012

Liked: The location and that alone.

Disliked: The back breaking staircase. The smell. The lack of towels. The fact that there wasn't a mirror. The abscence of a luggage room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Thomas Bowman

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 May 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap n cheerful. Great Location for the RedLD, station and shopping. Oesha really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012

Liked: Location, Maggy was nice, to left our luggage in her place last day before we left.

Disliked: DO NOT rent room for 2 persons if suppose to be cold weather! There were holes between walls and window, so we were freezing during night and have to sleep in clothes that we´re normaly wear during day! When we went ask to turn the heating on, We´ve got negative feedback. 20 euro key-deposit and 5% tax that is not included.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were a couple travelling alone and we had a private room for two, and we had a private bathroom. The bathroom looked brand new. The location was AMAZING. Right across the street from the central train station and in a safe area of the city. The location was really fantastic. Overall, the experience was extremely positive and a great bargain.

Disliked: There is a 20 euro key-deposit and 5% local tax that is not included in the balance that you must provide via cash at check-in. If you aren't made aware of this, you might not have enough when you arrive. The beds seemed like the linens might not have been as clean as they possibly could have been, but they were by no means dirty.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We had a very nice stay in Amsterdam! We book a Room for 3 persons. The location is perfect for young people! Only a short footwalk from the citycetre - about 5-10 minutes. The staff of the guesthouse is very friendly and is very helpful.

Disliked: There was not that much to criticise. The only thing was the bathroom. There was no window and the vantilation was not working.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really near from the station. The price was very good for what we expected. The room was clean. And you have a coffee/tea machine at the room. No problems at all.

Disliked: The water of the shower was changing between warm and cold every time. The ladder is a bit dangerous for those who are carying a large luggage.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2012

Liked: The location is the best possible, 2 minutes away from the Central Station.

Disliked: The heating didn't function properly thus I had to use my sleeping bag in order not to freeze during night. Also the shower hanger was broken so it was necessary to hold it during the entire time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The lady was very friendly. Even when we were dressed as spiderman

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

18 February 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: Really dirty, there were mice in the rooms - awful service

The property's response is...