HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Trianon

Hostel | J.W. Brouwersstraat 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 LH

73.7% Overall Rating

220 out of 297 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2014)

"Hot, hot water! Clean towels everyday. No need to leave personal belongings in lockers!"

Read all Trianon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
11.04 USD

Hostel 76.3% 514 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
31.77 USD

Hostel 72.2% 4217 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
30.39 USD

Hostel 83.5% 1383 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
29.56 USD

Hostel 72.3% 17 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
31.63 USD

Hostel 86.1% 769 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
28.46 USD

Hostel 85.5% 2235 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
49.73 USD

Hotel 2 star 75.6% 22 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Janson
34.52 USD

Hostel 66.7% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.7%

Overall Rating

220 out of 297 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Trianon'

Atmosphere
62.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 187 of 259 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zita Nahay

Alone

City break

30 July 2011 Zita would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that is was in a section further away from all the typical tourist noise. Very helpful guy at the desk.

Disliked: Lack of character/atmosphere. There was no real socializing area.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

JasminA Monica Gabel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 JasminA Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Own bathroom, clean sheets, new towels every day

Disliked: no social place to hang out

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: the location was good... it was very close to the I amsterdam letters and the museums

Disliked: had bed bugs and finish with many picket

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room I had was spacious and had a small balcony, a 4 person room. While my room mates did not speak a lick of English, the neighboring room was full of party animals and we had a good time. The beds were comfortable, much more so than the rest of my travels. The breakfast was quite impressive and the morning staff is helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The night staff sits around watching TV and doesn't care as much about your questions. There's no stool for the computer, which is not that big a problem except for when you spent the day walking around and really don't have much energy left to check e-mail on your well-worn feet. The bathroom was out of toilet paper right after the cleaning crew had done their jobs. I'm not convinced they really put the effort into the bathrooms. I had extended my stay by one day, several days in advance by e-mail. When I arrived, I only recieved my initial 2 booked nights, and my 3rd night would be over double for "special weekend pricing." I wanted to book a Thursday night. Weekends start early in Amsterdam, huh? I was angry that I had been promised a 3rd night, and suddenly had the prices change without prior notice. The first 2 nights were the advertised price though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luc Tissot

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 June 2011 Luc would recommend this property

Liked: Location is not as bad as its made out to be

Disliked: Was a bit tricky to find, maybe better directions would help

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

02 June 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: it was very bad! we had bed bugs in our beds and in the whole room, had to have shower in flip-flops because the bath was SOOOOOOO dirty!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

EMILY WHITTAKER

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 May 2011 EMILY would recommend this property

Liked: A little out of the way don't be scared to use the tram or its quite a trek! Clean room, bedding and towels... I encountered none of the imfamous rats which have been commented on so many times before! I feel cheated! The room was a little run down but clean.

Disliked: Could have done with breakfast but then again they do ot have the facility to cater for it.. perhaps try a loaf of bread and some pb&j on the reception desk.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011

Liked: near to the concertgebouw

Disliked: The room, the Bathroom, the hostel itself.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we most like the price and the location of the hotel

Disliked: nothing especially

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011

Liked: Very comfortable beds

Disliked: There was a RAAAAAAATTTTTTTTT in the room both nights though we informed the front desk after the first night. Also, the light in the bathroom didn't work

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Bradfield

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: It was close enough to walk to the party areas even if you missed the last trolley

Disliked: There was only one computer, and no breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place!

Disliked: A little bit far away from city center walking.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the beds was ok.

Disliked: There was only one computer for everybody and people used to smoke A LOT INSIDE the rooms. My stuffs began to smell very badly...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010

Liked: In a good neighborhood, but far from most sights.

Disliked: Bed Bugs!!! There was no community, public area that you could go in case your roommates were asleep. The shower did not drain well.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Emmanouil Theodorakis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2010

Liked: the location- 20minutes walking from Liedseplein 5 minutes walking from Van Gogh's museum and Reijksmuseum.

Disliked: RATS-they ate our food during the night. I couldn't believe it, but ut was true. Not very clean Very old, tiny dangerous stairs, tiny rooms. Reception looks renovated, but the hostel and the dorms are not.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 December 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: We find rats in the ceiling of the rooms. And others have no claim letter. I am very upset

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and easy to use

Disliked: A little bit old style

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mr john MM Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 December 2010 Mr john MM would recommend this property

Liked: be able to go in and out freely and a very welcoming stuff.

Disliked: bit far for my self from the red zone,otherwise good quite location 10 min to the malkenwig.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

DACE KAHANOVSKA

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Partying / nightlife

22 November 2010 DACE would recommend this property

Liked: OK

Disliked: OK

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and a new towel on your bed everyday.

Disliked: You get what you pay for. There was definitely a mouse in our room every single night.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

07 November 2010

Liked: location.in a nice area.

Disliked: Lack of cleanliness. Lack of value for money. Uncomfortable. Rats and bed bugs.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

06 November 2010

Liked: Nice balconies.

Disliked: Rat infestation, mould in shower.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2010

Liked: Restaurant

Disliked: RATS!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2010

Liked: cleaniness

Disliked: location, stuffs not familiar with the tourists place

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff and clean rooms..

Disliked: but it is more like a hotel than a hostel.