HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Trianon

Hostel | J.W. Brouwersstraat 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1071 LH

71.2% Overall Rating

228 out of 308 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/07/2014)

Janet Viljoen thinks…

"Very well situated adjacent to the Concertgebouw off Museumplein, with a tram stop 100m away. Simple rooms that are clean and light."

Read all Trianon reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 6.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

Amsterdam Hostel Annemarie
33.46 USD

Hostel 69.1% 524 reviews
Inner Amsterdam
32.14 USD

Hostel 60.5% 4256 reviews
Hostel Van Gogh
40.17 USD

Hostel 84.5% 1439 reviews
Hostel Cosmos Amsterdam
39.37 USD

Hostel 65.6% 32 reviews
The Flying Pig Uptown Hostel
48.07 USD

Hostel 84.0% 774 reviews
Stayokay Vondelpark
36.82 USD

Hostel 90.3% 2264 reviews
Quentin England Hotel
44.86 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.9% 31 reviews
Amsterdam Hostel Janson
33.46 USD

Hostel 66.7% 220 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.2%

Overall Rating

228 out of 308 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Trianon'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
69.6%
Value
68.8%
Safety
77.6%
Refine your results Showing 194 of 270 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011

Liked: Comfortable and Clean beds. Close to van gogh museum Internet available

Disliked: No communal area for young travellers to hang out. It's not a hostel, it's a hotel so no cookig facilities available either.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elyse MacQuiddy

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 September 2011 Elyse would recommend this property

Liked: The room and beds were quite clean, 24 hour in/out privileges, well priced, good location

Disliked: Shared bathroom was a little muggy and mildewy, and the sink was clogged, also it was very loud but it's a youth hostel so it's to be expected. Bring earplugs if you're old like me :)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, it's near the Museumplein and there is a train stop and a supermarket near the hostel.

Disliked: The bathroons are not soo clean. It was smelling bad.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Oguz BURUK

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Oguz would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are good and clean, near to the tram station.

Disliked: Expensive. But in amsterdam it is really hard to find somewhere cheap.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was very good. Easy check-in. Clean linen, towels, room and bathroom.

Disliked: No atmosphere like normal back packers. No kitchen or common room.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julia Nascimento

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

14 August 2011 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: confortable mattress, good location.

Disliked: Staff not very helpfull.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were friendly and always there to help. Easy enough to get trams to and from the centre. Would come back!

Disliked: No one we shared a room with spoke our language.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Zita Nahay

Alone

City break

30 July 2011 Zita would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that is was in a section further away from all the typical tourist noise. Very helpful guy at the desk.

Disliked: Lack of character/atmosphere. There was no real socializing area.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

JasminA Monica Gabel

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 JasminA Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Own bathroom, clean sheets, new towels every day

Disliked: no social place to hang out

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2011

Liked: the location was good... it was very close to the I amsterdam letters and the museums

Disliked: had bed bugs and finish with many picket

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room I had was spacious and had a small balcony, a 4 person room. While my room mates did not speak a lick of English, the neighboring room was full of party animals and we had a good time. The beds were comfortable, much more so than the rest of my travels. The breakfast was quite impressive and the morning staff is helpful and friendly.

Disliked: The night staff sits around watching TV and doesn't care as much about your questions. There's no stool for the computer, which is not that big a problem except for when you spent the day walking around and really don't have much energy left to check e-mail on your well-worn feet. The bathroom was out of toilet paper right after the cleaning crew had done their jobs. I'm not convinced they really put the effort into the bathrooms. I had extended my stay by one day, several days in advance by e-mail. When I arrived, I only recieved my initial 2 booked nights, and my 3rd night would be over double for "special weekend pricing." I wanted to book a Thursday night. Weekends start early in Amsterdam, huh? I was angry that I had been promised a 3rd night, and suddenly had the prices change without prior notice. The first 2 nights were the advertised price though.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Luc Tissot

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 June 2011 Luc would recommend this property

Liked: Location is not as bad as its made out to be

Disliked: Was a bit tricky to find, maybe better directions would help

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

02 June 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: it was very bad! we had bed bugs in our beds and in the whole room, had to have shower in flip-flops because the bath was SOOOOOOO dirty!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

EMILY WHITTAKER

With friends / other travellers

City break

23 May 2011 EMILY would recommend this property

Liked: A little out of the way don't be scared to use the tram or its quite a trek! Clean room, bedding and towels... I encountered none of the imfamous rats which have been commented on so many times before! I feel cheated! The room was a little run down but clean.

Disliked: Could have done with breakfast but then again they do ot have the facility to cater for it.. perhaps try a loaf of bread and some pb&j on the reception desk.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011

Liked: near to the concertgebouw

Disliked: The room, the Bathroom, the hostel itself.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we most like the price and the location of the hotel

Disliked: nothing especially

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011

Liked: Very comfortable beds

Disliked: There was a RAAAAAAATTTTTTTTT in the room both nights though we informed the front desk after the first night. Also, the light in the bathroom didn't work

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Bradfield

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: It was close enough to walk to the party areas even if you missed the last trolley

Disliked: There was only one computer, and no breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place!

Disliked: A little bit far away from city center walking.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the beds was ok.

Disliked: There was only one computer for everybody and people used to smoke A LOT INSIDE the rooms. My stuffs began to smell very badly...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2010

Liked: In a good neighborhood, but far from most sights.

Disliked: Bed Bugs!!! There was no community, public area that you could go in case your roommates were asleep. The shower did not drain well.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Emmanouil Theodorakis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2010

Liked: the location- 20minutes walking from Liedseplein 5 minutes walking from Van Gogh's museum and Reijksmuseum.

Disliked: RATS-they ate our food during the night. I couldn't believe it, but ut was true. Not very clean Very old, tiny dangerous stairs, tiny rooms. Reception looks renovated, but the hostel and the dorms are not.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

11 December 2010

Liked: nothing

Disliked: We find rats in the ceiling of the rooms. And others have no claim letter. I am very upset

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and easy to use

Disliked: A little bit old style

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Mr john MM Murphy

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

01 December 2010 Mr john MM would recommend this property

Liked: be able to go in and out freely and a very welcoming stuff.

Disliked: bit far for my self from the red zone,otherwise good quite location 10 min to the malkenwig.