HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Trianon Amsterdam Hostel

J.W. Brouwersstraat 3, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 62%

Location 77%

Safety 74%

Staff 65%

Value 72%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.07USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 57%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 62%

Location 77%

Safety 74%

Staff 65%

Value 72%

Showing 11-20 of 38 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The rooms were very clean and the beds were made every day. The bunks were also really comfortable so I got a lot of lovely sleep!

Disliked: Could have done with more space to put belongings because there wasn't enough and as a result everyone's stuff was all over the floor. Also, a mirror other than the bathroom one would have been nice. Some rooms do have a mirror in the room but others don't.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean and in a good location easy to get to places and sights you want to see

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location. PERIOD

Disliked: The bathroom smelled bad, BED BUGS, old candies under the bed, candy wraps around the sheets and parts of bugs between the mattresses, blood marks (clearly bug bites) in the sheets. The receptionist, tired of our complaining about those issues, threatened to throw us out at the street with nowhere to go at 3 a.m. in the morning, and only let us stay until the next morning with the condition that we did not “disturb him” anymore, even if we found more bugs. In the next morning, we talked to the manager, who decided we couldn’t stay there anymore (we had two more nights booked). He threw our refund money on the floor instead of giving it in our hands as a decent person would, tried to take my luggage out of my hands to throw it at the street and pushed me towards the door (which was exclusively to humiliate us, as we presented NO resistance to leave), screaming that it was “HIS HOTEL”.Basically, a dirty hotel with a bed bug problem, a very sarcastic unhelpful night receptionist and an uncivilized manager who is clearly not able to deal with people.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Estuve una noche en este hostel y no se lo recomiendo a nadie. El peor hostel del mundo!Para empezar, me tuvieron esperando media hora para hacer el check in... (no había cola, simplemente que el que estaba en la recepción no sabía y había que esperar a que llegara su compañero).LIMPIEZA: Habitaciones muy pequeñas, malolientes y llenas de basura. El lavabo sucio, lleno de basura también y sin papel de baño. La bañera llena de pelos (no desaguaba por la cantidad que había). El lavabo no tiene ningún tipo de ventilación y el olor a mierda dura toda la mañana. En general todo el hostel está dominado por un olor fétido porque el edificio en si tiene poca ventilación. SEGURIDAD: No hay taquillas. En una habitación de 8 camas, si te roban es tu problema.SERVICIO: Al llegar me dijeron que tenía desayuno incluido, pero al día siguiente, donde dije digo, digo Diego.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is the only good thing that stands out. Also beds were decent and they provided a towel.

Disliked: Messy, used sheets and covers littered the hallways. The toilet did not flush - this is pretty bad, considering that you have up to 6 travelers in one room. No cold water means that you can wash your hands, but can't really shower because you would burn your skin. The room smelled foul and opening the window didn't help - you can't get airflow because the building is wrapped in a sheet of some sort, it's undergoing external repairs.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Obviously location.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Private bathroom.Very close to tram line number 5. Close to a large recreational park, good for football and other activities...

Disliked: Tad pricey for a hostel plus I was charged more than quoted on hostelbookers.comOur ceiling leaked rain water onto one of our beds whilst the occupant was sleeping!

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: We booked a twin room, we got a double bed with two sets of linen and towels, we were told that we needed to request two beds?! It was very clear from my booking that I had booked a twin. They wouldnt change us until the following night. We were changed to a twin room, the room was dirty, the linen looked clean but as I mentioned previously were saw them make up the beds we had vacated with the same sheets, so the next person staying there was sleeping in our dirty sheets. The room had mould and damp, we needed to leave the window open to cool it down which wasnt safe because there was scafolding outside our window. The shower had no hook so you had to hold the shower head in your hand to wash. The left luggage locker was open all day, it was never actually locked.. There was obviously smoking in the hostal, I accept that because it is Amsterdam but the hall did have a bad smell in it all the time.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the location and the fact that they gave us a 2-bed room instead of 2 beds in a 4-bed room because they didn't have them available :)

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Very well situated adjacent to the Concertgebouw off Museumplein, with a tram stop 100m away. Simple rooms that are clean and light.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability