We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

78.1% Overall Rating

803 out of 937 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/01/2015)

"The Heart of Amsterdam Hostel was absolutely great. It was in a perfect location to get anywhere, about a 10 minute walk from all touristy things and right on the red light district which meant it was near to loads of…"

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.39

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
38.57 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1116 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
33.94 USD

Hostel 89.1% 317 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
84.85 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
28.28 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
25.91 USD

Hostel 92.8% 1321 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.44 USD

Hostel 74.5% 1152 reviews
Hostel Croydon
14.71 USD

Hostel 71.1% 422 reviews
Central Station Hostel
11.30 USD

Hostel 74.6% 206 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

803 out of 937 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 703 of 838 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

ALAN COSTA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 February 2015 ALAN would recommend this property

Liked: boa localização, lugar agradável e um bom atendimento.

Disliked: Só achei o quarto um pouco escuro e o banheiro pequeno.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

05 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the middle of red light district, clean, good staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Heart of Amsterdam Hostel was absolutely great. It was in a perfect location to get anywhere, about a 10 minute walk from all touristy things and right on the red light district which meant it was near to loads of bars and coffee shops. The room was perfect, there were 4 single beds each with its own shelf as well as copious plug sockets and a very nice clean modern toilet, shower and sink. I stayed for four nights with my boyfriend and another couple and it was much better than we could expect. Would recommend it to everyone... Eat some shrooms and find out why the room themes are so fun! We didn't have any problems but if we needed help there was always a member of staff at the desk - very helpful during check in and check out. Perfect.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are really friendly and helpful. And the location, very strategic

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

26 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Though it was middle of the red light district, was safe. spacious rooms.

Disliked: Location is exactly in the red light district and no corridor.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kristian Moheim

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2014 Kristian would recommend this property

Liked: It's location in the middel of redlight district. Old house with a charm and easy to find.

Disliked: Kristian left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Christina Kraus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2014

Liked: Well it was a nice idea having those theme rooms, but we were in the lord of the rings room and gollum was looking at us all night... not sure if thats good or bad... i liked the lockers. and if you want to stay in the middl of the redligh districtt than this ist the place to be, because you cant get much closer :)

Disliked: the bathroom was very dirty!!!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

KuanYi Huang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 KuanYi would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location !

Disliked: When the door open and close... It will make noise... Like wood noise

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location for travellers wanting to explore Amsterdam quickly. Each bed had a secure locker. Bedding was clean and a towel was provided.

Disliked: Plugs did not work well with adapters. Only one toilet shower between 8 people so it was pretty difficult to get in in the morning (mixed dorm so girls also needed to go in to get changed) . Lobby often smelt of weed. Although this smell is to be expected in Amsterdam, maybe people could be encouraged to smoke it further away from the door.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything else

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rebecca Mathews

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Staff were quite unhelpful, also front door was not Locked therefore anyone could realistically walk in off the street.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ATINA CHANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 ATINA would recommend this property

Liked: Literally in the HEART of Amsterdam, in the Red Light District. You can see brothels from the window if you're on the street side. GREAT staff, better than I expected!

Disliked: It was noisy at night but what can you expect for being in the Red Light District. Didn't bother me much but if you don't like street noise it isn't for you

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Rivas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to all the fun stuff around the red light district. Nice staff. Interesting hostel

Disliked: A bit noisy, but that's what you get from the location. Ear plugs help.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Björgvin Valdimarsson

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

10 July 2014 Björgvin would recommend this property

Liked: X

Disliked: X

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great atmosphere. Lockers were safe and secure as was the room. Showers worked fine and for a first hostel experience it was all I could have asked for.

Disliked: Bigger smoking area would have been nice, apart from that everything was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location close to everything, helpful staff and very clean rooms, would come back to stay here again.

Disliked: it would be nice to have a bar in the hotel.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Mei Yee Choy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: the only thing i feel positive abt this hostel is that they change the bed daily.

Disliked: 1. everywhere is too dark, the wall, the toliet, ceiling are black. the whole hostel is dark even in daytime and even turn on the light aldy. the reason why they use black is to hide the dirty. 2. totally cant understand why many ppl said the satff are friendly. its not ture. 3. no fan and no air con in room. 4.people smoke on ground, rooms at first floor affected so much and you can't close the window due no air condition 5.toilet is tooo small OMG 6.water (i am not sure its water or any other fluid ) drop from ceiling, not a water drop but water fall~!!! OMG~!! then i used the rabbish bin to catch the water fall immediately~!! 7.no lift 8.the beds are not stable and firm, when people climb up to the upper bed, it creates a super loud noise!!! super loud noise also come from the toilet door, room door when you open and close them. 9.one tissue box a day in a 12 ppl room. =..= 10. the room card or the room lock lose function easily. at the begining, i thought only my room card doesnt work, but others do not work as well. 11. wifi doesnt work temporily.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shuru chang

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 shuru would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.cheap breakfast and good.

Disliked: Nothing have to complain

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeremy shepherd

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 April 2014 jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good clean beds and very clean bathrooms.

Disliked: N/a

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 February 2014

Liked: I dont think I liked anything about this property.

Disliked: It is very unsecure. A guy walked off the street and into my room, he thought I was sleeping and when I looked around he had his arm in my locker where my laptop was located. Upon realising he was caught he ran out the room. I later discovered that my trainers were missing and another laptop had been stolen from a different room! I wouldnt recommend this place to my anyone. Very unfriendly and unpleasant staff doesnt make things any better.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin McCormack

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The colour scheme inside was awesome, Very clean inside. Top marks

Disliked: N/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right in the middle of the Red Light District, fairly clean, comfortable beds

Disliked: the staff were not particularly welcoming or helpful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff super friendly and pleasant.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erica Johnston

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: It was everything we were expecting for the money we paid. It was in a great location for touring and easily found, the heating levels were good, the beds and sheets were clean and towels were provided for showering. Not forgetting free wifi, ample hot water and good water pressure, locker facilities and a generous breakfast spread for only three euros - well worth it.

Disliked: The stairs are a bit steep and narrow, which is a bit of a drawback when one is returning from exploring the city's nightlife!! Otherwise I have no other dislikes

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and it was clean.

Disliked: N/A