HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

81.8% Overall Rating

789 out of 920 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

ATINA CHANG thinks…

"Literally in the HEART of Amsterdam, in the Red Light District. You can see brothels from the window if you're on the street side. GREAT staff, better than I expected!"

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.05

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
44.54 USD

Hostel 86.1% 1094 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
53.99 USD

Hostel 91.4% 312 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
67.49 USD

Apartment 82.1% 39 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.14 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
37.66 USD

Hostel 89.8% 1283 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.74 USD

Hostel 80.0% 1127 reviews
Hostel Croydon
33.74 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews
Central Station Hostel
40.48 USD

Hostel 75.8% 178 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

789 out of 920 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 692 of 821 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ATINA CHANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 ATINA would recommend this property

Liked: Literally in the HEART of Amsterdam, in the Red Light District. You can see brothels from the window if you're on the street side. GREAT staff, better than I expected!

Disliked: It was noisy at night but what can you expect for being in the Red Light District. Didn't bother me much but if you don't like street noise it isn't for you

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Rivas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to all the fun stuff around the red light district. Nice staff. Interesting hostel

Disliked: A bit noisy, but that's what you get from the location. Ear plugs help.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Björgvin Valdimarsson

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

10 July 2014 Björgvin would recommend this property

Liked: X

Disliked: X

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

05 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, great atmosphere. Lockers were safe and secure as was the room. Showers worked fine and for a first hostel experience it was all I could have asked for.

Disliked: Bigger smoking area would have been nice, apart from that everything was great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location close to everything, helpful staff and very clean rooms, would come back to stay here again.

Disliked: it would be nice to have a bar in the hotel.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Mei Yee Choy

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2014

Liked: the only thing i feel positive abt this hostel is that they change the bed daily.

Disliked: 1. everywhere is too dark, the wall, the toliet, ceiling are black. the whole hostel is dark even in daytime and even turn on the light aldy. the reason why they use black is to hide the dirty. 2. totally cant understand why many ppl said the satff are friendly. its not ture. 3. no fan and no air con in room. 4.people smoke on ground, rooms at first floor affected so much and you can't close the window due no air condition 5.toilet is tooo small OMG 6.water (i am not sure its water or any other fluid ) drop from ceiling, not a water drop but water fall~!!! OMG~!! then i used the rabbish bin to catch the water fall immediately~!! 7.no lift 8.the beds are not stable and firm, when people climb up to the upper bed, it creates a super loud noise!!! super loud noise also come from the toilet door, room door when you open and close them. 9.one tissue box a day in a 12 ppl room. =..= 10. the room card or the room lock lose function easily. at the begining, i thought only my room card doesnt work, but others do not work as well. 11. wifi doesnt work temporily.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shuru chang

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 shuru would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.cheap breakfast and good.

Disliked: Nothing have to complain

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeremy shepherd

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 April 2014 jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good clean beds and very clean bathrooms.

Disliked: N/a

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 February 2014

Liked: I dont think I liked anything about this property.

Disliked: It is very unsecure. A guy walked off the street and into my room, he thought I was sleeping and when I looked around he had his arm in my locker where my laptop was located. Upon realising he was caught he ran out the room. I later discovered that my trainers were missing and another laptop had been stolen from a different room! I wouldnt recommend this place to my anyone. Very unfriendly and unpleasant staff doesnt make things any better.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin McCormack

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The colour scheme inside was awesome, Very clean inside. Top marks

Disliked: N/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right in the middle of the Red Light District, fairly clean, comfortable beds

Disliked: the staff were not particularly welcoming or helpful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff super friendly and pleasant.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erica Johnston

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: It was everything we were expecting for the money we paid. It was in a great location for touring and easily found, the heating levels were good, the beds and sheets were clean and towels were provided for showering. Not forgetting free wifi, ample hot water and good water pressure, locker facilities and a generous breakfast spread for only three euros - well worth it.

Disliked: The stairs are a bit steep and narrow, which is a bit of a drawback when one is returning from exploring the city's nightlife!! Otherwise I have no other dislikes

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and it was clean.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff were friendly, everything just as expected.

Disliked: The batrooms are not very spacious. And the doors squeeking were driving us mad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Saimonas Grabauskas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 September 2013 Saimonas would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff helpful, nice room

Disliked: outside in the hostel is closed from 23 til 9 in morning, didnt like that

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013

Liked: It is hard to recall anything redeeming about this property, but they did provide clean sheets and a towel.

Disliked: In a recent trip abroad I stayed at over 11 hostels and this was by far the worst. The staff was not friendly. The bathrooms looked like they had not been cleaned more than once every few months and the rooms were so disgustingly hot it was impossible to sleep. The windows would not even open more than a few inches to let in fresh air. We took the 655 am train to our next destination just to get out of the room!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lots of fun, easy to meet other travellers (people hanging out in the back of the hostel smoking, or in front of the hostel... also smoking), relatively clean (the shower was a little clogged, but beds & bathroom clean), in the red light district, wouldn't recommend staying here for people who want quiet or peaceful

Disliked: No smoking inside, not many seats outside in the back (where everyone hangs out, had to sit on floor), construction outside woke us up at 8am on weekdays (very very loud)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jesse Kershaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

15 July 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: This place is et up for the traveller looking for a good time. In the middle of the RLD. There is going to be a bit of noise outside and other guests are going to be enjoying all that is on offer. The rooms are cleaned daily and each bed has a locker.

Disliked: No fan in room meant it got very hot inside

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is 3 minutes walking to Dam Square.

Disliked: Construction on the canal. (City workers start so fraking early, don't plan on sleeping past 7 AM.)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, filled all the necessities, cool themed rooms.

Disliked: Too expensive!! Rooms were very dark and kind of gloomy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet people as a lone traveller. Clean fresh towels provided free daily. Clean, comfy (but hazardous to clamber into!) beds and clean bathrooms with hot strong showers. Stayed in an eight bed dorm, with a mix of other lone travellers, which was nice in order to meet people. Certainly a good place for a party in Amsterdam! Great location for taking a safe, late night stroll around the red lights, food, coffee shops and all. Really close walking distance from the central station (even though I arrived late at night it felt very safe, as long as being offered 'special services' does not bother you.)

Disliked: Not a place for a quiet night of sleep...certainly not for prudes, as it looks out onto the red light district in all it's seedy glory!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, Patio out back with beer in the vending and a friendly place to meet other travelers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just on the strip of the red light district and very close to major attractions.

Disliked: My iPod was stolen and there are some very creepy people

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Chris Wu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a good location close to many attractions and the train station. It was clean and the beds were nice and sturdy. Beds were made daily.

Disliked: It was a bit expensive, though the location was good. I lost a flashlight in the shelf beside my bed. It was hidden from plain sight and I had not used it when anybody else was around so somebody had to have the intention of looking through my personal belongings to find it. I suspect the cleaning staff took it as they did organize my shelf during the daily cleaning, but I could be wrong.