We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

79.0% Overall Rating

794 out of 927 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Christina Kraus thinks…

"Well it was a nice idea having those theme rooms, but we were in the lord of the rings room and gollum was looking at us all night... not sure if thats good or bad... i liked the lockers. and if you…"

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
43.12 USD

Hostel 88.0% 1106 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
44.28 USD

Hostel 91.0% 314 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
94.88 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
41.75 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
23.91 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1296 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 70.7% 1142 reviews
Hostel Croydon
12.65 USD

Hostel 65.0% 409 reviews
Central Station Hostel
15.17 USD

Hostel 73.3% 195 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

794 out of 927 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 697 of 828 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property makes it really easy to get anywhere, and after a few drinks and trips to the coffeeshops, real easy to get back. Just ask the cute receptionist for a map and where things are when you arrive :)

Disliked: Not many bad things to say. If I "must" say something the bathrooms are kind of small, but the shower itself is large. Overall, not a bad place to crash and wake up the next day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place for staying in Amsterdam

Disliked: Neighbourhood

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: not clean and not quiet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great hostel had no complaints what so ever about, is right in the RLD is very clean and has good security. highly recommended.

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: old bulding

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Giedre Zitkauskaite

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011

Liked: The location is good, literally a 5 minutes walk from the Dam Square. The themed rooms look interesting, although the theme expands only as far as a title for a room and a matching painting on the door. A nice touch - clean towels daily.

Disliked: The bathroom was pretty dirty all the time, because there was no mat, so the floor got anytime somebody used a shower; badly ventilated, with a constant stench inside; and poorly lit. Also there is something strange about the booking system, because we booked two beds, but they were in different corners of the room, not next to each other; I went to ask about it and met another girl with the same issue and the receptionist couldn't seem to care less.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Imogen forrest

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

24 June 2011 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, great location, new bathrooms, really clean

Disliked: Room had a damp problem! Clothes seemed always cold & damp. Bathroom smelt of piss and mould even when just cleaned.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

modather mustafa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: fun places

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011

Liked: It had an alright location, and they tried to keep the atmosphere cool.

Disliked: It was dirty, I felt like my room could be broken into at any moment, and it was not that fun.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

BURAK YILMAZ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 BURAK would recommend this property

Liked: location is good.

Disliked: company isnt professional!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cameron Sadler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 June 2011 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: its is literally directly in the red light district so there is plenty of places to waste your money. but it was quite fun and our stay in Amsterdam wasn't bad/

Disliked: when we got there i thought that we were going to leave due to the location and the very sketchy atmosphere, but once we got settled in the trip went great.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, right in heart of redlight area

Disliked: on arrival the toilet in the room hadnt been cleaned,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Craig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and location! Quick walks to lots of important and fun things to do.

Disliked: Construction was going on at the time, so it got a little loud, but it was otherwise alright. Considering the cost, I think breakfast should have been complimentary.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Daley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff are friendly

Disliked: Nothing really. the bathrooms could be a bit bigger, but the shower was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and a room with a view!

Disliked: Bunks are pretty close to each other in the 8 mixed room

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Staff, cleanliness and the access to the room on 3rd floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and have individual lockers and reading light!

Disliked: The bridge in front of it was under reconstruction!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: steps

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Fareed Ashraf Khan

Alone

Business / conference

21 May 2011 Fareed Ashraf would recommend this property

Liked: Good valur for money

Disliked: ,,.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Taylor Welden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2011 Taylor would recommend this property

Liked: Location. It was also affordable and easy. My girlfriend and I wanted two beds, we got two beds.

Disliked: Nothing really to speak of.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

MARK HYZLER

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

18 May 2011 MARK would recommend this property

Liked: It proved to be the perfect place to host a bachelor party

Disliked: An amount was blocked on my visa to cover the payment and even after payment it took a few days to be removed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, staff helpfulness, localisation, cleanliness and price

Disliked: It was in works when I was here. I hope they will finish quickly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

NURIA ROJO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2011 NURIA would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is 10 min walking from station close to the red district. My room was a 12-bed dorm ensuite, it was big, matress and pillow clean, with a good perfume. There is one scket, bed light, locker (5€ deposit) and kind of betable for each bed. You get a fresh tower everday.The bathroom is inside the room with one space for the washbin and another two for toilet and showr.There were tissues and soap. Showers were clean and drained easily. That room was quiet calm. There is also a flat tv in each room. The staff were really kind and helpful

Disliked: i didnt like the fact of jumping over the toilet in order to get to th shower. That space is tiny and quite unconfortable to get chenged inside. I missed some hangers for towels or cloths in the washbasin space. It was impossible without a light to see inside the lockers. Currently there are some works being done in the basement of the building and the welcome impression to the hostel is not so good and there could be som noises in the day on weekdays because of works. Not breakfast included in price. Price quite expensive for a hostel but in the average in Amsterdam

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, easy to find, no disturbing people in the dorm

Disliked: Can be brighter lit

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's easy to find and located in great place. Staff are very friendly and willing to help you. It's really nice that I choose to stay here!

Disliked: none