HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Heart Of Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 70%

Location 93%

Safety 80%

Staff 76%

Value 82%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.38USD

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed

The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in.

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 70%

Location 93%

Safety 80%

Staff 76%

Value 82%

Showing 71-58 of 58 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: location

Disliked: the shower didn't drain properly. the room was noisy because it was right next to the street but that is expected for the location.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was in a good location close to many attractions and the train station. It was clean and the beds were nice and sturdy. Beds were made daily.

Disliked: It was a bit expensive, though the location was good. I lost a flashlight in the shelf beside my bed. It was hidden from plain sight and I had not used it when anybody else was around so somebody had to have the intention of looking through my personal belongings to find it. I suspect the cleaning staff took it as they did organize my shelf during the daily cleaning, but I could be wrong.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very easy to get around.

Disliked: The cleanliness wasn't brillient fresh towels everday but they disnt clean the bathroom while i was here. The room i stayed in was very dark.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Personal lockers and plug socket for each bunk. Great bathroom facilities and an incredible shower!

Disliked: Blackout curtains. They are just not for me. This would be a plus for a lot of people though.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Close to everything.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Decent beds and bed clothing. Clean bathroom.

Disliked: The ATMOSPHERE was TERRIBLE. Our bedroom was between the reception and a little patio with some empty/open rooms "under construction" where guys go to use drugs, start allucinating, talking disrespectfully and making A LOT OF NOISE. I finally got to sleep around 6 am when noise stopped. Yes, it is in the red light area but I consider hotels should have certain rules or at least mention that this kind of behavior is acceptable. The combination of dark blue and black colors does not help in the bedroom for having decent rest.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very central location, helpful staff. Nice spacious rooms. All themed which adds character

Disliked: In a eight bed dorm only one shower....made morning time very busy with everyone trying to use it.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Poor wifi, dim lighting

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The theamed rooms were very unusual but good.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: location is amazing, just middle of the red light district. rooms are clean and hot at he winter. bathroom and water is nice. free wifi, free towel.

Disliked: none

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability