HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Heart Of Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 70%

Location 92%

Safety 78%

Staff 77%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.22USD

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed

The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in.

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 70%

Location 92%

Safety 78%

Staff 77%

Value 79%

Showing 71-57 of 57 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was nice right by the red light district.

Disliked: Security left much to be desired. Other guests were openly doing cocaine in my room late at night.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: What we liked the most about this place was its location. We could walk to dam square and Amsterdam Central Station and back to our room to change, and out again. It was in the heart of the red light district, so there were always people walking even at late hours of the night, thus giving us a feeling of safety considering we were two ladies.Also the breakfast for 3 euros was worthwhile. Eating out would cost us nothing less than 7-10 euros per person.We got to the hostel earlier than the check in time, so they allowed us to leave our luggage in their storage area until our rooms were ready.

Disliked: Although the location made it worhtwhile for us, the hostel did have some issues. Our room was extremely dimly lit. The hostel has no elevator, but lucky for us our room was on the main level. However, there was construction going on right outside our window which made it loud. Also noise travelled from other rooms upstairs and one of the nights guys were partying upstairs because Amsterdam won some game, making it seem at times as if the roof was going to fall on us. We were so tired most of the time though, that inspite of the noisiness we were able to sleep. The first day we had ants in one part of the room, but the guy at reception was able to get rid of them using bug spray.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: location

Disliked: the shower didn't drain properly. the room was noisy because it was right next to the street but that is expected for the location.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was in a good location close to many attractions and the train station. It was clean and the beds were nice and sturdy. Beds were made daily.

Disliked: It was a bit expensive, though the location was good. I lost a flashlight in the shelf beside my bed. It was hidden from plain sight and I had not used it when anybody else was around so somebody had to have the intention of looking through my personal belongings to find it. I suspect the cleaning staff took it as they did organize my shelf during the daily cleaning, but I could be wrong.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very easy to get around.

Disliked: The cleanliness wasn't brillient fresh towels everday but they disnt clean the bathroom while i was here. The room i stayed in was very dark.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Personal lockers and plug socket for each bunk. Great bathroom facilities and an incredible shower!

Disliked: Blackout curtains. They are just not for me. This would be a plus for a lot of people though.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Close to everything.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Decent beds and bed clothing. Clean bathroom.

Disliked: The ATMOSPHERE was TERRIBLE. Our bedroom was between the reception and a little patio with some empty/open rooms "under construction" where guys go to use drugs, start allucinating, talking disrespectfully and making A LOT OF NOISE. I finally got to sleep around 6 am when noise stopped. Yes, it is in the red light area but I consider hotels should have certain rules or at least mention that this kind of behavior is acceptable. The combination of dark blue and black colors does not help in the bedroom for having decent rest.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very central location, helpful staff. Nice spacious rooms. All themed which adds character

Disliked: In a eight bed dorm only one shower....made morning time very busy with everyone trying to use it.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Poor wifi, dim lighting

Check Availability