We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

78.1% Overall Rating

803 out of 937 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/01/2015)

"The Heart of Amsterdam Hostel was absolutely great. It was in a perfect location to get anywhere, about a 10 minute walk from all touristy things and right on the red light district which meant it was near to loads of…"

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
37.11 USD

Hostel 90.4% 1117 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
38.11 USD

Hostel 88.9% 318 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
54.44 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
32.66 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
34.73 USD

Hostel 93.4% 1323 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
21.77 USD

Hostel 78.5% 1159 reviews
Hostel Croydon
16.33 USD

Hostel 69.4% 423 reviews
Central Station Hostel
21.76 USD

Hostel 76.1% 208 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.1%

Overall Rating

803 out of 937 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
71.2%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 703 of 838 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Lots of building works going on all around, near impossible to even get into the hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a good place i dont have any problem

Disliked: the cleanning guy is rude

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the red light district (literally a minute from the sex shops, shows, erotic and hemp/hash museums!) - close to Central Station and Damstraat, which was a big plus - but with individual lockers and keycode to access rooms it was safe and secure (and red light district is not unsafe anyway). Easy to locate, free wireless internet was much appreciated, plastic cups and towel placed at each bed, clean linens and comfy bed, and I believe sheets were changed daily or at least straightened out. Hairdryers, adapters, lockers, and other things could all be rented out with a deposit, not paid for, which was really nice. Showers and sink had soap, tissues, and toilet paper, and the rooms were clean. All the basics were there and clean! Locker storage closet was helpful to use after I checked out. I appreciated the staff helping to come fix the locker when it would not open with my key - thank you! (However, overall not the most helpful - see below)

Disliked: The bathrooms (in a 10-12 mixed dorm) were far too small to contain a toilet and shower, and the area with the sink was too big - would be nice if there were some sort of small changing area closed off in the room with the sink to allow more space and privacy to change (with some sort of room partition/divider). There were two toilet/shower combo stalls which was nice, but each day the floor under the toilet was flooded from the shower, and there was not nearly enough room to change in there. The showers flooded a bit - need to be wiped up more frequently (I agree with another comment that even a bathmat to soak up the water would be helpful). Construction going on I think so it was a little loud and parts of it seemed unfinished. Facilities were very basic - not much lounge space except for one room in front. The biggest issue was that the bedroom and bathrooms were SO DARK!!!! The overhead lights in the room and bathrooms was not sufficient to see, and I was constantly having trouble finding my own things in the room and the locker - because much of the rooms are black, there isn't as much light. Installing more lights/lamps or providing small flashlights to guests even would help. Also, while I appreciated the rooms being cleaned daily, the cleaning staff thought I was checking out and just threw away a towel and expensive toiletries I had brought - keep them in a storage closet for a day or so in case anyone comes to claim them. The woman at the front desk gave me 5 euros extra for compensation which I appreciated, and I'm glad they cleaned, but it would have been nice to save found items for a bit just in case. Also one man at the desk had a bit of an attitude at times. Staff could have been more helpful/nicer - they didn't go out of their way to be very welcoming, just kind of doing the basics of their job and not much more - ex. did not provide any more useful info than what was asked. Offer more hostel activities! I think there was a pub crawl but wasn't even really told about it. For what I paid to stay, would have been nice for free breakfast to be included too - price was a bit steep overall ($53 euros nightly for a weekend in the biggest mixed room).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and safe.

Disliked: hard to meet other travellers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Simon Hughes

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011

Liked: The hostel is really about as central as it could possibly be.

Disliked: I was paying €44 a night for what I thought was really not a lot. I've seen that all the other hostels in Amsterdam are expensive too though so that's probably to be expected. My biggest complaint was the bathrooms. The first night I stayed in an 8 person dorm which only had one bathroom. The bath and the toilet weren't separated either so that increased waiting times. The bathroom itself was dirty. There were always puddles of water, I also feel there were some simple common sense things that were missing; things like hooks to hang your towel on, or a bath mat. This would only cost them a few euros but they're still not there. The second dorm I was in had 12 beds and 2 bathrooms which was a little better. The bathroom was still dirty though and incredibly small. It just seems like they've tried to cram in too much to try to get the maximum amount of beds they can. Also, there's some building work going on there over summer. They say the workers start at 9am, but don't be surprised to hear men smashing iron girders with sledge hammers as hard as they can at 8am in the morning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011

Liked: Dark Rooms

Disliked: Very loud noise coming from working on the hostel at 7am in the morning. They change the security code to the bedroom doors 3 times during the stay without telling us.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property makes it really easy to get anywhere, and after a few drinks and trips to the coffeeshops, real easy to get back. Just ask the cute receptionist for a map and where things are when you arrive :)

Disliked: Not many bad things to say. If I "must" say something the bathrooms are kind of small, but the shower itself is large. Overall, not a bad place to crash and wake up the next day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place for staying in Amsterdam

Disliked: Neighbourhood

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: not clean and not quiet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great hostel had no complaints what so ever about, is right in the RLD is very clean and has good security. highly recommended.

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: old bulding

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Giedre Zitkauskaite

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2011

Liked: The location is good, literally a 5 minutes walk from the Dam Square. The themed rooms look interesting, although the theme expands only as far as a title for a room and a matching painting on the door. A nice touch - clean towels daily.

Disliked: The bathroom was pretty dirty all the time, because there was no mat, so the floor got anytime somebody used a shower; badly ventilated, with a constant stench inside; and poorly lit. Also there is something strange about the booking system, because we booked two beds, but they were in different corners of the room, not next to each other; I went to ask about it and met another girl with the same issue and the receptionist couldn't seem to care less.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Imogen forrest

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

24 June 2011 Imogen would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, great location, new bathrooms, really clean

Disliked: Room had a damp problem! Clothes seemed always cold & damp. Bathroom smelt of piss and mould even when just cleaned.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

modather mustafa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2011

Liked: location

Disliked: fun places

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2011

Liked: It had an alright location, and they tried to keep the atmosphere cool.

Disliked: It was dirty, I felt like my room could be broken into at any moment, and it was not that fun.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

BURAK YILMAZ

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 BURAK would recommend this property

Liked: location is good.

Disliked: company isnt professional!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Cameron Sadler

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

09 June 2011 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: its is literally directly in the red light district so there is plenty of places to waste your money. but it was quite fun and our stay in Amsterdam wasn't bad/

Disliked: when we got there i thought that we were going to leave due to the location and the very sketchy atmosphere, but once we got settled in the trip went great.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, right in heart of redlight area

Disliked: on arrival the toilet in the room hadnt been cleaned,

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Michael Craig

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and location! Quick walks to lots of important and fun things to do.

Disliked: Construction was going on at the time, so it got a little loud, but it was otherwise alright. Considering the cost, I think breakfast should have been complimentary.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samuel Daley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 June 2011 Samuel would recommend this property

Liked: The location is great and the staff are friendly

Disliked: Nothing really. the bathrooms could be a bit bigger, but the shower was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and a room with a view!

Disliked: Bunks are pretty close to each other in the 8 mixed room

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Staff, cleanliness and the access to the room on 3rd floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and have individual lockers and reading light!

Disliked: The bridge in front of it was under reconstruction!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: steps

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Fareed Ashraf Khan

Alone

Business / conference

21 May 2011 Fareed Ashraf would recommend this property

Liked: Good valur for money

Disliked: ,,.