HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

81.8% Overall Rating

789 out of 920 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

ATINA CHANG thinks…

"Literally in the HEART of Amsterdam, in the Red Light District. You can see brothels from the window if you're on the street side. GREAT staff, better than I expected!"

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.03

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
44.33 USD

Hostel 86.1% 1094 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
40.30 USD

Hostel 91.4% 312 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
67.17 USD

Apartment 82.1% 39 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
38.96 USD

Guesthouse 66.1% 221 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
50.91 USD

Hostel 89.9% 1285 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
33.58 USD

Hostel 78.1% 1129 reviews
Hostel Croydon
40.30 USD

Hostel 62.3% 393 reviews
Central Station Hostel
38.94 USD

Hostel 71.8% 180 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

789 out of 920 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
77.6%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 692 of 821 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2011

Liked: Very clean, nice chill-out area, and although I never partook of the breakfast it looked like good value for money if you're a carnivore.

Disliked: The door to our room didn't close properly and was left open a couple of times so the slamming wouldn't wake the whole building. Didn't appreciate the prostitute being brought into the room by the other bunkmates...but that's really not the fault of the stablishment...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marie-Claire Vallely

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 September 2011 Marie-Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, especially for the price! It's located just a few minutes walk away from Dam Square and close to pubs, shops and coffee shops. The rooms were nice and modern with comfy beds and each bunk had it's own locker, shelf, plug socket and light which was very handy. We were provided with fresh towels and the beds were changed each day so overall it was nice and clean.

Disliked: The rooms were quite dark. They were painted black and if you were on a bottom bunk especially there was very little light despite having a personal light next to your bed. Another downfall would be that there are no self-catering areas so we had to eat out everyday.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Niels Sørensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2011 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly - nothing out of the ordinary. Free internet. Comfy beds. Awesome location.

Disliked: Just too expensive.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Madeline Fox

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Madeline would recommend this property

Liked: I was a little nervous about staying here after reading some bad reviews but we found the hostel pretty much perfect! It was clean, safe and in the ideal location! No complaints!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Axel Gottberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Axel would recommend this property

Liked: good location

Disliked: ..

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Narmina Feyzullayeva

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011

Liked: Good Location. Right at the right light district.

Disliked: Crazy prices!!! I paid around 45 euros for one night in a room with 12 persons! Only one bathroom for everyone! Be attend, they also add a tax to the main price!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, decent 3 Euro breakfast and the BEST location

Disliked: A bit noisy at night, but nothing that can't be overcome with a set of earplugs :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were very helpful, and the free walking tours were great! Fede was our guide and he knew a lot about the city!

Disliked: nothing it was fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Whittingham

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: 3 euro breakfast, very freindly atmospheric place, the location could not be better, "heart" of the red light distric, very safe :)

Disliked: No AC, only one fan to cool a room of 10 people therefore at night it was not great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luis Bassani

Alone

Partying / nightlife

15 August 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Organized and clean.

Disliked: Noise on the streets.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011

Liked: Newish facilities, friendly staff.

Disliked: I had my passport, laptop and camera stolen from here. This was because the safe in my room wasn't working. Somebody from outside came in a went through my bag and there was no way of finding out who. The security wasn't very good. I did find the staff helpful after it happened, though.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Simon Buckley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011

Liked: Great location in the heart of the red light district (basically were everything happens in Amsterdam!). Staff were very helpful and kind, even when i lost a certain document to get my refund back they still gave it to me anyway!

Disliked: Directions could be better (my advice is to ask for help and find a tourist/hostel info place and ask for directions, it is what i had to do). It was safe to a degree, i did not like the fact that i told my friends from another hostel to come to my hostel and knock on my door. They did not get checked by staff and even they were surprised they could roam about without any questions, not bad seeming i knew them but imagine if it was a random trying to do stuff to you! Non the less stay here! It is really good!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ryan French Macdougall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: it was pefectly locqted in the red light district, and the people who were stqying there were all freindly for the most part. The staff was helpful but i wouldnt say they went above and beyond:

Disliked: The bathroom in our room did not smell pleasently and that was a constqnt through out the three nights we were there.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Dana Istler

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Dana would recommend this property

Liked: We were a group, the room fit us nicely. Staff was helpful when needed.

Disliked: There was a lot of construction going on, which made the outside cluttered/dirty. Our room didnt have any windows... personally I felt slightly stuffy.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Lots of building works going on all around, near impossible to even get into the hostel.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a good place i dont have any problem

Disliked: the cleanning guy is rude

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in the red light district (literally a minute from the sex shops, shows, erotic and hemp/hash museums!) - close to Central Station and Damstraat, which was a big plus - but with individual lockers and keycode to access rooms it was safe and secure (and red light district is not unsafe anyway). Easy to locate, free wireless internet was much appreciated, plastic cups and towel placed at each bed, clean linens and comfy bed, and I believe sheets were changed daily or at least straightened out. Hairdryers, adapters, lockers, and other things could all be rented out with a deposit, not paid for, which was really nice. Showers and sink had soap, tissues, and toilet paper, and the rooms were clean. All the basics were there and clean! Locker storage closet was helpful to use after I checked out. I appreciated the staff helping to come fix the locker when it would not open with my key - thank you! (However, overall not the most helpful - see below)

Disliked: The bathrooms (in a 10-12 mixed dorm) were far too small to contain a toilet and shower, and the area with the sink was too big - would be nice if there were some sort of small changing area closed off in the room with the sink to allow more space and privacy to change (with some sort of room partition/divider). There were two toilet/shower combo stalls which was nice, but each day the floor under the toilet was flooded from the shower, and there was not nearly enough room to change in there. The showers flooded a bit - need to be wiped up more frequently (I agree with another comment that even a bathmat to soak up the water would be helpful). Construction going on I think so it was a little loud and parts of it seemed unfinished. Facilities were very basic - not much lounge space except for one room in front. The biggest issue was that the bedroom and bathrooms were SO DARK!!!! The overhead lights in the room and bathrooms was not sufficient to see, and I was constantly having trouble finding my own things in the room and the locker - because much of the rooms are black, there isn't as much light. Installing more lights/lamps or providing small flashlights to guests even would help. Also, while I appreciated the rooms being cleaned daily, the cleaning staff thought I was checking out and just threw away a towel and expensive toiletries I had brought - keep them in a storage closet for a day or so in case anyone comes to claim them. The woman at the front desk gave me 5 euros extra for compensation which I appreciated, and I'm glad they cleaned, but it would have been nice to save found items for a bit just in case. Also one man at the desk had a bit of an attitude at times. Staff could have been more helpful/nicer - they didn't go out of their way to be very welcoming, just kind of doing the basics of their job and not much more - ex. did not provide any more useful info than what was asked. Offer more hostel activities! I think there was a pub crawl but wasn't even really told about it. For what I paid to stay, would have been nice for free breakfast to be included too - price was a bit steep overall ($53 euros nightly for a weekend in the biggest mixed room).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and safe.

Disliked: hard to meet other travellers

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Simon Hughes

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011

Liked: The hostel is really about as central as it could possibly be.

Disliked: I was paying €44 a night for what I thought was really not a lot. I've seen that all the other hostels in Amsterdam are expensive too though so that's probably to be expected. My biggest complaint was the bathrooms. The first night I stayed in an 8 person dorm which only had one bathroom. The bath and the toilet weren't separated either so that increased waiting times. The bathroom itself was dirty. There were always puddles of water, I also feel there were some simple common sense things that were missing; things like hooks to hang your towel on, or a bath mat. This would only cost them a few euros but they're still not there. The second dorm I was in had 12 beds and 2 bathrooms which was a little better. The bathroom was still dirty though and incredibly small. It just seems like they've tried to cram in too much to try to get the maximum amount of beds they can. Also, there's some building work going on there over summer. They say the workers start at 9am, but don't be surprised to hear men smashing iron girders with sledge hammers as hard as they can at 8am in the morning.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2011

Liked: Dark Rooms

Disliked: Very loud noise coming from working on the hostel at 7am in the morning. They change the security code to the bedroom doors 3 times during the stay without telling us.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of this property makes it really easy to get anywhere, and after a few drinks and trips to the coffeeshops, real easy to get back. Just ask the cute receptionist for a map and where things are when you arrive :)

Disliked: Not many bad things to say. If I "must" say something the bathrooms are kind of small, but the shower itself is large. Overall, not a bad place to crash and wake up the next day.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place for staying in Amsterdam

Disliked: Neighbourhood

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: not clean and not quiet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Was a great hostel had no complaints what so ever about, is right in the RLD is very clean and has good security. highly recommended.

Disliked: .

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping

05 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: old bulding