HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Heart Of Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 75%

Location 91%

Safety 83%

Staff 74%

Value 80%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.57USD

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed

The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in.

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 68%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 75%

Location 91%

Safety 83%

Staff 74%

Value 80%

Showing 61-61 of 61 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, just on the strip of the red light district and very close to major attractions.

Disliked: My iPod was stolen and there are some very creepy people

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Las habitaciones eran muy limpias y los problemas que tuvimos (porque estábamos en una parte que estaban remodelado y se nos corto el agua y la electricidad unos minutos) fueron resueltos de manera muy expeditiva. El desayuno no estaba incluido pero era accesible y muy abundante.

Disliked: La habitación tenía poca luz. Puntualmente nuestra habitación era fría porque no le llegaba la calefacción.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good rooms, new facilities, good lockers, great staff, red light district right out the front door.

Disliked: Nothing, toilet blocked in first room and we were offered a new room for the second night. Good service!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was nice right by the red light district.

Disliked: Security left much to be desired. Other guests were openly doing cocaine in my room late at night.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: What we liked the most about this place was its location. We could walk to dam square and Amsterdam Central Station and back to our room to change, and out again. It was in the heart of the red light district, so there were always people walking even at late hours of the night, thus giving us a feeling of safety considering we were two ladies.Also the breakfast for 3 euros was worthwhile. Eating out would cost us nothing less than 7-10 euros per person.We got to the hostel earlier than the check in time, so they allowed us to leave our luggage in their storage area until our rooms were ready.

Disliked: Although the location made it worhtwhile for us, the hostel did have some issues. Our room was extremely dimly lit. The hostel has no elevator, but lucky for us our room was on the main level. However, there was construction going on right outside our window which made it loud. Also noise travelled from other rooms upstairs and one of the nights guys were partying upstairs because Amsterdam won some game, making it seem at times as if the roof was going to fall on us. We were so tired most of the time though, that inspite of the noisiness we were able to sleep. The first day we had ants in one part of the room, but the guy at reception was able to get rid of them using bug spray.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: location

Disliked: the shower didn't drain properly. the room was noisy because it was right next to the street but that is expected for the location.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was in a good location close to many attractions and the train station. It was clean and the beds were nice and sturdy. Beds were made daily.

Disliked: It was a bit expensive, though the location was good. I lost a flashlight in the shelf beside my bed. It was hidden from plain sight and I had not used it when anybody else was around so somebody had to have the intention of looking through my personal belongings to find it. I suspect the cleaning staff took it as they did organize my shelf during the daily cleaning, but I could be wrong.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very easy to get around.

Disliked: The cleanliness wasn't brillient fresh towels everday but they disnt clean the bathroom while i was here. The room i stayed in was very dark.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Personal lockers and plug socket for each bunk. Great bathroom facilities and an incredible shower!

Disliked: Blackout curtains. They are just not for me. This would be a plus for a lot of people though.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Close to everything.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability