We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

77.0% Overall Rating

805 out of 940 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/01/2015)

"The Heart of Amsterdam Hostel was absolutely great. It was in a perfect location to get anywhere, about a 10 minute walk from all touristy things and right on the red light district which meant it was near to loads of…"

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
37.06 USD

Hostel 91.9% 1123 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
43.49 USD

Hostel 89.0% 319 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
54.36 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
48.92 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
42.29 USD

Hostel 91.8% 1329 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
19.57 USD

Hostel 80.9% 1161 reviews
Hostel Croydon
21.74 USD

Hostel 68.3% 424 reviews
Central Station Hostel
16.30 USD

Hostel 78.6% 210 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.0%

Overall Rating

805 out of 940 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
72.0%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
69.6%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 705 of 841 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and good location. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The water was not running and the staff couldn't handle it quickly and properly..

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's easy to find, is cleaned each morning, doesn't really have a communal atmosphere but when all you're after is a cheap bed for the night... It's right at the top of one of the main Red Light District streets so is quite noisy at night but nothing ear plugs don't resolve. It's perfectly good though and if I were to go back to Amsterdam for a weekend, I'd stay here again.

Disliked: Only one key to the dorm is a bit weird - I was first in so had the key but one of the staff members must have locked the door meaning I had to get up to let the others into the room. Seems a strange system.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

18 June 2012

Liked: It is in a reasonable location in the Red light district - quite a good area to go out. Beds fine.

Disliked: All painted black and was incredibly dark! Massively overpriced when I stayed - (saturday night 49euros for an unpleasant 6 bed dorm) I would not stay here again.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is convenient, right at the red light street and 15 minutes' walk to train station.

Disliked: Dark, narrow stair and staff not very friendly and unhelpful.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Mackay

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

07 June 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Nice comfy beds, very clean room had private bathroom with great shower. Visited on a stag wknd, hostel perfect location just a 2 minute walk to dam square. Plenty places for breakfast if the continental isn't for you, still looked good.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Satu VAHTERISTO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 May 2012 Satu would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Hard to climb to the top bed :D

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Serena Parsons

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Serena would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful; always happy to answer any questions. The rooms were spacious enough and beds very clean & comfy. In a BRILLIANT location, right in the centre of town.

Disliked: Our bathroom was dark & dingy (no windows either), but was cleaned to a good standard.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rudy Salibi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2012 Rudy would recommend this property

Liked: Best hotel u can find in the area concerning price vs quality. The people are very friendly :)

Disliked: The building is a bit old from the outside, but a lot of renovation work is being done now, and it's looking good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Yes, it is in the Red Light District, but this also gives it a central location near many of the sights. The neighborhood seemed safe to me, even in the middle of the night and the location worked out well for seeing the sights.

Disliked: Saturday night the bar that is connected was a little loud until 1 or 2 am. I was able to sleep fine, but a light sleeper might want to avoid it on the weekends. Sunday night was quiet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is better than some motels that I've stayed at before. The location is perfect - on the edge of the Red Light District. It looks like it may have been a part of the Red Light District at some point. The interior is extremely clean and has a very updated restroom. Towels are included and you can deposit 5Eu to get a key for your own hugggee locker. They also have two laptops for guest use.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmed Saad

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 May 2012 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: it was in the middle of de wallen

Disliked: no air conditioner

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ruxi Xu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 Ruxi would recommend this property

Liked: Near Dam Square and Red light Area. Good Location.

Disliked: Restaurants around are for tourists. Expensive and not quite good.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. nice reception staff

Disliked: one of the guys who kept yelling at the man who came in everyday to change the sheets. he was rude and loud.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice rooms, good beds, interesting area around...

Disliked: If you are travelling alone as a girl you shouldnt go out late in the evening because its in the red light district. nevertheless its an interesting area and got a character

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i've never stayed in a hostel before so i was a little worried. in fact the heart of Amsterdam exceeded my expectations. the staff for one were very friendly and accommodating and the location was excellent. it was very clean too. i recommend this place to people staying and in fact i'll be staying there again later on in the year.

Disliked: if i was being picky it would be that the breakfast on offer wasn't too exciting but that was solved by nipping out for a full english round the corner.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rebecca Day

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: the room we stayed it was not finished or themed; looked like a prison cell. We did not feel safe as there were massive windows/doors going out straight onto the red light district (we could see and hear people outside walking by) and the lockers didnt appear safe. I didn't find the hostel or staff very friendly or helpful and was overall very dissapointed with the stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marko Horvat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2012 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at the reception was very kind and helpful. The location is perfect and for this price is awsome.

Disliked: There were some drunk guests. The beds should have proper ladders to climb on top bed. The way it is now is a bit dangerous. Maybe this was the case in our room (ponk floyd the wall 13)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Neal Colgan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 April 2012 Neal would recommend this property

Liked: Central, clean, secure. Nice beds and storage. Hostel nice temperature and good showers. Enjoyed my stay and would come back.

Disliked: Not very much other than i found it a little expensive to stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the comfy linen and towells. being right in the red light district was definitly an expereince. free wifi always a plus.

Disliked: The bathrooms really needed a better clean and lighting. There were renovations going on at the time so front reception security could be better given the location right in the red light district. Had the biggest stoner weirdo in our room, but I guess you can never predict that!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012

Liked: You are right in the red light next to all the action.

Disliked: You put down a 5 dollar deposit for a locker key and the guy working hands me a flimsy piece of paper for it and never tells me to keep it. Then days later I return the key and they say it isn't possible to give me my five euros because I don't have that little receipt! The guy working was very unhelpful about it. I returned the key so as far as I'm concerned they owe me 5 euros.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cheap.

Disliked: Terrible energy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for your money

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really liked the atmosphere of the hostel and the interior design of the rooms. The location is perfect cause it's close to everything u need to see and to experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rafal Staleski

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Rafal would recommend this property

Liked: its location, facilities and services (all basic needs fulfilled- secure lockers, no curfew, breakfasts), very good relation between price and offer/location

Disliked: Some minor things not working (door lock in toilet, fluorescent light in bathroom) - but my fault I forgot to raise it at reception. I cannot say I didn't like it but it would be nice to have breakfasts served in separate room (maybe they are just preparing it in the basement ?).