HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

79.0% Overall Rating

794 out of 927 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Christina Kraus thinks…

"Well it was a nice idea having those theme rooms, but we were in the lord of the rings room and gollum was looking at us all night... not sure if thats good or bad... i liked the lockers. and if you…"

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
43.12 USD

Hostel 88.6% 1107 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
44.28 USD

Hostel 90.2% 316 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
63.25 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
31.50 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1298 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
17.71 USD

Hostel 71.4% 1143 reviews
Hostel Croydon
13.92 USD

Hostel 67.1% 412 reviews
Central Station Hostel
18.96 USD

Hostel 72.0% 196 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

794 out of 927 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 697 of 828 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rudy Salibi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 May 2012 Rudy would recommend this property

Liked: Best hotel u can find in the area concerning price vs quality. The people are very friendly :)

Disliked: The building is a bit old from the outside, but a lot of renovation work is being done now, and it's looking good.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Yes, it is in the Red Light District, but this also gives it a central location near many of the sights. The neighborhood seemed safe to me, even in the middle of the night and the location worked out well for seeing the sights.

Disliked: Saturday night the bar that is connected was a little loud until 1 or 2 am. I was able to sleep fine, but a light sleeper might want to avoid it on the weekends. Sunday night was quiet.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is better than some motels that I've stayed at before. The location is perfect - on the edge of the Red Light District. It looks like it may have been a part of the Red Light District at some point. The interior is extremely clean and has a very updated restroom. Towels are included and you can deposit 5Eu to get a key for your own hugggee locker. They also have two laptops for guest use.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ahmed Saad

Alone

Visiting friends or family

13 May 2012 Ahmed would recommend this property

Liked: it was in the middle of de wallen

Disliked: no air conditioner

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ruxi Xu

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 Ruxi would recommend this property

Liked: Near Dam Square and Red light Area. Good Location.

Disliked: Restaurants around are for tourists. Expensive and not quite good.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location. nice reception staff

Disliked: one of the guys who kept yelling at the man who came in everyday to change the sheets. he was rude and loud.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice rooms, good beds, interesting area around...

Disliked: If you are travelling alone as a girl you shouldnt go out late in the evening because its in the red light district. nevertheless its an interesting area and got a character

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i've never stayed in a hostel before so i was a little worried. in fact the heart of Amsterdam exceeded my expectations. the staff for one were very friendly and accommodating and the location was excellent. it was very clean too. i recommend this place to people staying and in fact i'll be staying there again later on in the year.

Disliked: if i was being picky it would be that the breakfast on offer wasn't too exciting but that was solved by nipping out for a full english round the corner.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Rebecca Day

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: the room we stayed it was not finished or themed; looked like a prison cell. We did not feel safe as there were massive windows/doors going out straight onto the red light district (we could see and hear people outside walking by) and the lockers didnt appear safe. I didn't find the hostel or staff very friendly or helpful and was overall very dissapointed with the stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Marko Horvat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 April 2012 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: The girl at the reception was very kind and helpful. The location is perfect and for this price is awsome.

Disliked: There were some drunk guests. The beds should have proper ladders to climb on top bed. The way it is now is a bit dangerous. Maybe this was the case in our room (ponk floyd the wall 13)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Neal Colgan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

09 April 2012 Neal would recommend this property

Liked: Central, clean, secure. Nice beds and storage. Hostel nice temperature and good showers. Enjoyed my stay and would come back.

Disliked: Not very much other than i found it a little expensive to stay.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the comfy linen and towells. being right in the red light district was definitly an expereince. free wifi always a plus.

Disliked: The bathrooms really needed a better clean and lighting. There were renovations going on at the time so front reception security could be better given the location right in the red light district. Had the biggest stoner weirdo in our room, but I guess you can never predict that!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2012

Liked: You are right in the red light next to all the action.

Disliked: You put down a 5 dollar deposit for a locker key and the guy working hands me a flimsy piece of paper for it and never tells me to keep it. Then days later I return the key and they say it isn't possible to give me my five euros because I don't have that little receipt! The guy working was very unhelpful about it. I returned the key so as far as I'm concerned they owe me 5 euros.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cheap.

Disliked: Terrible energy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for your money

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really liked the atmosphere of the hostel and the interior design of the rooms. The location is perfect cause it's close to everything u need to see and to experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Rafal Staleski

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 Rafal would recommend this property

Liked: its location, facilities and services (all basic needs fulfilled- secure lockers, no curfew, breakfasts), very good relation between price and offer/location

Disliked: Some minor things not working (door lock in toilet, fluorescent light in bathroom) - but my fault I forgot to raise it at reception. I cannot say I didn't like it but it would be nice to have breakfasts served in separate room (maybe they are just preparing it in the basement ?).

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

adam nicholson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2012 adam would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is located in the middle of the red light district. The beds were clean and the staff were very helpful. I really liked this hostel, just the bathroom let it down.

Disliked: The toilet and shower were located together in a VERY small place. It is difficult to dress in that space. Maybe some more time cleaning the bathroom is needed as it always smelt bad. But hey, it's Amsterdam so maybe that was the room mates making a mess every night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Hammonds

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

21 February 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: great loaction- in red light and close to central train station

Disliked: n/a

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location, right in the red light district. Walking distance from Dam square and almost all attractions

Disliked: breakfast not included in rate even though the hotel website made it sound like it was. The assignment of beds in the shared rooms was not really enforced, so there were people in our beds when we arrived. Not a huge deal we just took the open ones, however it was a little confusing at first.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location! Easy to find. Beds were really nice with lovely duvets. Towels provided. Nice lockers. Clean and relatively quiet.

Disliked: No real common area to hang out. If you want to use your laptop, you have to do so in the lobby and the wifi is hit and miss. Also, they're undergoing a lot of construction so you wake up around 8am to pounding and drills.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kira Odling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Kira would recommend this property

Liked: I highly recommend this place for anyone backpacking. The location is great, right in central Amsterdam, close to all the tourist attractions. The inside is very modern and the bedrooms and bathrooms were cleaned everyday which was brilliant.

Disliked: It is a little hard to find the first time if you are coming from the train station, but that's mainly because the street signs are a bit whack!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tim Stollberg

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

30 January 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed there with 7 Friends and we all enjoyed the stay really much, because the hostel was so Central!When we came in we were surprised how nice the location looked like! Also the room was very clean and exciting, because of its unic appearance (Clockwork Orange was the theme). Also it was very quiet up there and we felt very safety! Everyone was surprised how comfortable it was to lay on the beds there, which also were clean and big enough!

Disliked: The shower looked quiet bad, because it was a bit dirty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

JEAT LIANG TANG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2012 JEAT LIANG would recommend this property

Liked: it is beside or in the red light district. but the hostel is nice, meet really nice people there.

Disliked: no really a safe place cause it is beside the red light district but things has pro and cons. a lot of pimp and people trying to sell drugs to you.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location right in the red light district with walking distance to all tourist attractions

Disliked: Very unfriendly and unhelpful staff