HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Heart Of Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 74%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 74%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.51USD

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed

The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in.

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 69%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 74%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 74%

Value 81%

Showing 41-50 of 54 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: X

Disliked: X

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Great location, great atmosphere. Lockers were safe and secure as was the room. Showers worked fine and for a first hostel experience it was all I could have asked for.

Disliked: Bigger smoking area would have been nice, apart from that everything was great.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: great location close to everything, helpful staff and very clean rooms, would come back to stay here again.

Disliked: it would be nice to have a bar in the hotel.

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the only thing i feel positive abt this hostel is that they change the bed daily.

Disliked: 1. everywhere is too dark, the wall, the toliet, ceiling are black. the whole hostel is dark even in daytime and even turn on the light aldy. the reason why they use black is to hide the dirty.2. totally cant understand why many ppl said the satff are friendly. its not ture. 3. no fan and no air con in room.4.people smoke on ground, rooms at first floor affected so much and you can't close the window due no air condition5.toilet is tooo small OMG6.water (i am not sure its water or any other fluid ) drop from ceiling, not a water drop but water fall~!!! OMG~!! then i used the rabbish bin to catch the water fall immediately~!!7.no lift8.the beds are not stable and firm, when people climb up to the upper bed, it creates a super loud noise!!! super loud noise also come from the toilet door, room door when you open and close them.9.one tissue box a day in a 12 ppl room. =..=10. the room card or the room lock lose function easily. at the begining, i thought only my room card doesnt work, but others do not work as well.11. wifi doesnt work temporily.


The property's response is

We appricate all reviews to help us improving.For unexpected temporary problems,we apologized &fixed immediately.However,it's better to read hotel info where NO lift/NO aircon is mentioned ALREADY(local 14-20degrees June). For SUPER sensitive person, please do NOT book shared dorm, if you cannot stand the possible inconvenience caused by others in normal way. We refill room supplyment anytime when needed instead of putting dozen of tissue boxes in the room. ................(500 letters limit)

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location.cheap breakfast and good.

Disliked: Nothing have to complain

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good clean beds and very clean bathrooms.

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I dont think I liked anything about this property.

Disliked: It is very unsecure. A guy walked off the street and into my room, he thought I was sleeping and when I looked around he had his arm in my locker where my laptop was located. Upon realising he was caught he ran out the room. I later discovered that my trainers were missing and another laptop had been stolen from a different room! I wouldnt recommend this place to my anyone. Very unfriendly and unpleasant staff doesnt make things any better.


The property's response is

When guests left the room door open while sleeping/leaving the room, and didn't want to rent the key to use FREE safety box for their property in a shared dormitory, unfortunately you just give opportunity to everyone and the hotel cannot watch up every step you take.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The colour scheme inside was awesome, Very clean inside. Top marks

Disliked: N/a

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location right in the middle of the Red Light District, fairly clean, comfortable beds

Disliked: the staff were not particularly welcoming or helpful

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Staff super friendly and pleasant.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability