We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

80.6% Overall Rating

793 out of 926 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Christina Kraus thinks…

"Well it was a nice idea having those theme rooms, but we were in the lord of the rings room and gollum was looking at us all night... not sure if thats good or bad... i liked the lockers. and if you…"

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.88

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
44.14 USD

Hostel 87.4% 1105 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
19.42 USD

Hostel 91.0% 314 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
97.11 USD

Apartment 81.8% 40 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
32.37 USD

Guesthouse 65.6% 224 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
38.72 USD

Hostel 92.6% 1296 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
20.72 USD

Hostel 72.2% 1138 reviews
Hostel Croydon
18.13 USD

Hostel 65.4% 408 reviews
Central Station Hostel
28.47 USD

Hostel 74.3% 193 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.6%

Overall Rating

793 out of 926 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
84.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
81.6%
Refine your results Showing 697 of 827 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Suzane Santoro

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013 Suzane would recommend this property

Liked: Perto do centro, duas quadras do museu de cera e da rua de compras, limpo com banheifo no guarto. pessoal agradavel, todas as camas tinham tomada separada... recomendo

Disliked: ao tem pontos negativos

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, reasonably priced, nice beds and linens.

Disliked: Stayed in the triple room... Wifi wouldn't reach it, and there was this stupid deodorizer machine in the bathroom that was as noisy as a gun going off. Not big deals though, hostel was nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Ziaber

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

26 January 2013 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Location! Absolutely perfect for an A'dam weekend.

Disliked: Nothing really comes to my mind here. It was all alright.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful staff. Very friendly and on top of everything. The outlet for my bed was broken so I couldn't charge my mobile and when I told the woman at the front desk the problem was immediately being taken care of. Literally minutes later there was a guy in the room fixing it. Amazed at how quickly they resolved any problems.

Disliked: Bit confusing to find my room as I was on the top floor, but I worked it out easy enough. Staff had no trouble explaining how to find it the first night anyway.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sunil Behera

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

11 January 2013 Sunil would recommend this property

Liked: The location, the staff, the cleanliness and the shower!

Disliked: Even though rooms are non smoking, some people were smoking in the room. Just wish they install smoke alarms or do some checking to ensure the non smoking rue is strictly followed.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ben Hoselton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 January 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: So just be aware that this hostel is in the Red Light District. Being in Amsterdam, this actually puts it in the middle of tourist attraction, but just don't be surprised to find sex shops and dancing women (some of which are incredibly attractive!) all around you. It's in a good location in that it is in the heart of the city without being far from the train station.

Disliked: I've certainly stayed in worse, but it wasn't the nicest or cleanest hostel I've stayed in either. It has a slight seedy feel to it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sebastien durand

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 January 2013 sebastien would recommend this property

Liked: near train station

Disliked: whores everywhere when you go out...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Madden

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is themed by movies!! The reception area is called the Box Office and we stayed in a dorm themed with Clockwork Orange! The rooms were clean and tidy and the bathroom was awesome for a hostel , more like a hotel! The rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels provided. Each bunk has a built in bedside with power socket and light. Beds were actually comfy too. The location is a couple streets from Dam Square in the heart of the Red Light District - perfect! Would definitely stay there again

Disliked: There was not a power socket in the bathroom, little bit annoying.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2013

Liked: The lockers were ok, beds were reasonable and it was fairly close to the station/main town

Disliked: Lockers were too narrow to fit a small backpack in. the room was poorly lit and dingy. no kitchen, no common room. Breakfast was 3 euro and finished at 10am SHARP to the point that u were actually kicked out of the foyer where breakfast was held right on 10! pathetic when there is no common area to go to. Bathroom was pretty dirty, people smoked constantly in the room and the staff didnt care. it didnt have a 'cool' movie vibe at all, a few tacky paintings is hardly a theme. impossible to meet anyone here

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Mark Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

02 January 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location in centre of light district, so it was easy to find and get around. The staff seemed friendly enough.

Disliked: The rooms were ok, but not very clean. Woke up to find vomit in one of the showers, that had been nicely stewing overnight! Also my phone was stolen from my bag in the locked room. So i guess security is a bit of an issue!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very well located, in the heart of the red light district

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

29 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location, helpful staff, private rooms with different themes, excellent for groups of 8. Beds were comfortable, and room was cleaned daily.

Disliked: Sooo many stairs. :)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leonardo Buonsenno

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 Leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice beds and perfeclty located.

Disliked: The staff

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Elliott

Alone

City break

16 December 2012 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: It was stylish and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jess Woolfrey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012 Jess would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noise from room mates

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Roman Kravets

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2012 Roman would recommend this property

Liked: Good location in RLD! U can rich everithing in central city by foot! And I have good price in dorm - 12Є per night!

Disliked: Completly unclean! Dust is everywhere! They say thay that "breakfast is included", but U shot pay 3Є ?!?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bence György Labossa

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

24 November 2012 Bence György would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, friendly staff, clean room and bathroom. Good for young groups, friends etc.

Disliked: Bence György left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Isabella Carrazza

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 November 2012 Isabella would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, in the heart of the Red Light district, a few steps from the Dam square and about 10 minutes by foot from the central station. I loved the decoration inspired by films and stayed at the The Wall themed room, loved the decoration (I'm crazy about PF) and the space of the room.

Disliked: Isabella left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the cinema themes

Disliked: small stairs

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Patricia Eijkemans

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 November 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: The Heart of Amsterdam it's an interesting hostel to stay at, the rooms are spacious, the bathroom was clean and the shower was powerful. Just how I like it'!

Disliked: It is convenient having a smoking area but it can sometimes disturb other people. It should be located somewhere else, not next to people's room and a bit bigger.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

catalina reyes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 catalina would recommend this property

Liked: Best location!!!

Disliked: Dark and dirty!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jodie Kitchen

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2012 Jodie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is situated in the very centre of the Red light district and is very easy to find and venture away from to see other city attractions.

Disliked: Builders worked behind the wall of our room from as early as 6am and our belongings werent very safe, even in lockers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Towfiq Islam

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Towfiq would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly as described and in an amazing location for young people. As my friend tony the tiger says, 'it's great'.lol

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

michael carr

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 michael would recommend this property

Liked: it was right in the heart of everything that i wanted to do

Disliked: michael left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel location is very central. If you are new in amsterdam you can choose this hotel because its very close to main places such as the Dam square, red light and many coffee shops.

Disliked: The bed was not very comfortable. I stayed at the second floor of the bed and it isn't secured to fell down. There wasn't any bars to the left or the right. So if you will stay on the second floor and come to hostel drunk or high, you might fell down in the middle of the night.. The toilets was cleaned everyday but the smell of the liquid detergent was awful that every time I enter the toilet it smelled like mixture of the shit and the detergent. I think the cleaning staff should change the detergent with a lavanta flavour or smthing else. The stairs are very sloppy. If you have a heavy bag with you its a bit difficult to climb upstairs. The stairs are like a maze and very perpendicular.