HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Heart Of Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 70%

Location 92%

Safety 78%

Staff 77%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.19USD

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed

The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in.

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 74%

Facilities 70%

Location 92%

Safety 78%

Staff 77%

Value 79%

Showing 201-58 of 58 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff were very helpful, and the free walking tours were great! Fede was our guide and he knew a lot about the city!

Disliked: nothing it was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Newish facilities, friendly staff.

Disliked: I had my passport, laptop and camera stolen from here. This was because the safe in my room wasn't working. Somebody from outside came in a went through my bag and there was no way of finding out who. The security wasn't very good. I did find the staff helpful after it happened, though.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location in the heart of the red light district (basically were everything happens in Amsterdam!). Staff were very helpful and kind, even when i lost a certain document to get my refund back they still gave it to me anyway!

Disliked: Directions could be better (my advice is to ask for help and find a tourist/hostel info place and ask for directions, it is what i had to do). It was safe to a degree, i did not like the fact that i told my friends from another hostel to come to my hostel and knock on my door. They did not get checked by staff and even they were surprised they could roam about without any questions, not bad seeming i knew them but imagine if it was a random trying to do stuff to you! Non the less stay here! It is really good!

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Lots of building works going on all around, near impossible to even get into the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location in the red light district (literally a minute from the sex shops, shows, erotic and hemp/hash museums!) - close to Central Station and Damstraat, which was a big plus - but with individual lockers and keycode to access rooms it was safe and secure (and red light district is not unsafe anyway). Easy to locate, free wireless internet was much appreciated, plastic cups and towel placed at each bed, clean linens and comfy bed, and I believe sheets were changed daily or at least straightened out. Hairdryers, adapters, lockers, and other things could all be rented out with a deposit, not paid for, which was really nice. Showers and sink had soap, tissues, and toilet paper, and the rooms were clean. All the basics were there and clean! Locker storage closet was helpful to use after I checked out.I appreciated the staff helping to come fix the locker when it would not open with my key - thank you! (However, overall not the most helpful - see below)

Disliked: The bathrooms (in a 10-12 mixed dorm) were far too small to contain a toilet and shower, and the area with the sink was too big - would be nice if there were some sort of small changing area closed off in the room with the sink to allow more space and privacy to change (with some sort of room partition/divider). There were two toilet/shower combo stalls which was nice, but each day the floor under the toilet was flooded from the shower, and there was not nearly enough room to change in there. The showers flooded a bit - need to be wiped up more frequently (I agree with another comment that even a bathmat to soak up the water would be helpful). Construction going on I think so it was a little loud and parts of it seemed unfinished. Facilities were very basic - not much lounge space except for one room in front.The biggest issue was that the bedroom and bathrooms were SO DARK!!!! The overhead lights in the room and bathrooms was not sufficient to see, and I was constantly having trouble finding my own things in the room and the locker - because much of the rooms are black, there isn't as much light. Installing more lights/lamps or providing small flashlights to guests even would help.Also, while I appreciated the rooms being cleaned daily, the cleaning staff thought I was checking out and just threw away a towel and expensive toiletries I had brought - keep them in a storage closet for a day or so in case anyone comes to claim them. The woman at the front desk gave me 5 euros extra for compensation which I appreciated, and I'm glad they cleaned, but it would have been nice to save found items for a bit just in case.Also one man at the desk had a bit of an attitude at times. Staff could have been more helpful/nicer - they didn't go out of their way to be very welcoming, just kind of doing the basics of their job and not much more - ex. did not provide any more useful info than what was asked.Offer more hostel activities! I think there was a pub crawl but wasn't even really told about it. For what I paid to stay, would have been nice for free breakfast to be included too - price was a bit steep overall ($53 euros nightly for a weekend in the biggest mixed room).

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: it is a good place i dont have any problem

Disliked: the cleanning guy is rude

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: clean and safe.

Disliked: hard to meet other travellers

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: it was pefectly locqted in the red light district, and the people who were stqying there were all freindly for the most part. The staff was helpful but i wouldnt say they went above and beyond:

Disliked: The bathroom in our room did not smell pleasently and that was a constqnt through out the three nights we were there.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Dark Rooms

Disliked: Very loud noise coming from working on the hostel at 7am in the morning. They change the security code to the bedroom doors 3 times during the stay without telling us.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is really about as central as it could possibly be.

Disliked: I was paying €44 a night for what I thought was really not a lot. I've seen that all the other hostels in Amsterdam are expensive too though so that's probably to be expected.My biggest complaint was the bathrooms. The first night I stayed in an 8 person dorm which only had one bathroom. The bath and the toilet weren't separated either so that increased waiting times. The bathroom itself was dirty. There were always puddles of water, I also feel there were some simple common sense things that were missing; things like hooks to hang your towel on, or a bath mat. This would only cost them a few euros but they're still not there. The second dorm I was in had 12 beds and 2 bathrooms which was a little better. The bathroom was still dirty though and incredibly small. It just seems like they've tried to cram in too much to try to get the maximum amount of beds they can.Also, there's some building work going on there over summer. They say the workers start at 9am, but don't be surprised to hear men smashing iron girders with sledge hammers as hard as they can at 8am in the morning.

Check Availability