HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Heart Of Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 72%

Location 93%

Safety 82%

Staff 77%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Cable TV
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 3.40USD

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed

The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in.

Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable.

We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 70%

Cleanliness 76%

Facilities 72%

Location 93%

Safety 82%

Staff 77%

Value 83%

Showing 191-57 of 57 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good location, very central and easy to get to

Disliked: Not exactly the freindliest of hostels - but was a good place to use as a base

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is excellent, especially for the price! It's located just a few minutes walk away from Dam Square and close to pubs, shops and coffee shops. The rooms were nice and modern with comfy beds and each bunk had it's own locker, shelf, plug socket and light which was very handy. We were provided with fresh towels and the beds were changed each day so overall it was nice and clean.

Disliked: The rooms were quite dark. They were painted black and if you were on a bottom bunk especially there was very little light despite having a personal light next to your bed. Another downfall would be that there are no self-catering areas so we had to eat out everyday.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean, nice chill-out area, and although I never partook of the breakfast it looked like good value for money if you're a carnivore.

Disliked: The door to our room didn't close properly and was left open a couple of times so the slamming wouldn't wake the whole building. Didn't appreciate the prostitute being brought into the room by the other bunkmates...but that's really not the fault of the stablishment...

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I was a little nervous about staying here after reading some bad reviews but we found the hostel pretty much perfect! It was clean, safe and in the ideal location! No complaints!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good location

Disliked: ..

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good Location. Right at the right light district.

Disliked: Crazy prices!!! I paid around 45 euros for one night in a room with 12 persons! Only one bathroom for everyone! Be attend, they also add a tax to the main price!

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was friendly - nothing out of the ordinary. Free internet. Comfy beds. Awesome location.

Disliked: Just too expensive.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff were very helpful, and the free walking tours were great! Fede was our guide and he knew a lot about the city!

Disliked: nothing it was fine.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Newish facilities, friendly staff.

Disliked: I had my passport, laptop and camera stolen from here. This was because the safe in my room wasn't working. Somebody from outside came in a went through my bag and there was no way of finding out who. The security wasn't very good. I did find the staff helpful after it happened, though.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jul 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location in the heart of the red light district (basically were everything happens in Amsterdam!). Staff were very helpful and kind, even when i lost a certain document to get my refund back they still gave it to me anyway!

Disliked: Directions could be better (my advice is to ask for help and find a tourist/hostel info place and ask for directions, it is what i had to do). It was safe to a degree, i did not like the fact that i told my friends from another hostel to come to my hostel and knock on my door. They did not get checked by staff and even they were surprised they could roam about without any questions, not bad seeming i knew them but imagine if it was a random trying to do stuff to you! Non the less stay here! It is really good!

Check Availability