We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

77.1% Overall Rating

810 out of 946 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/05/2015)

"Loved how close it was to absolutely everything. Had good security and was nice to have outlets per bed. Bathroom was large which was nice."

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.28

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
41.02 USD

Hostel 93.9% 1133 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
32.81 USD

Hostel 89.8% 321 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
54.69 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
42.66 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
45.83 USD

Hostel 88.8% 1335 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
18.59 USD

Hostel 80.3% 1167 reviews
Hostel Croydon
10.94 USD

Hostel 63.9% 431 reviews
Central Station Hostel
16.40 USD

Hostel 78.5% 215 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/06/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/06/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.1%

Overall Rating

810 out of 946 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
81.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 711 of 847 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shuru chang

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2014 shuru would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.cheap breakfast and good.

Disliked: Nothing have to complain

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jeremy shepherd

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

11 April 2014 jeremy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good clean beds and very clean bathrooms.

Disliked: N/a

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 February 2014

Liked: I dont think I liked anything about this property.

Disliked: It is very unsecure. A guy walked off the street and into my room, he thought I was sleeping and when I looked around he had his arm in my locker where my laptop was located. Upon realising he was caught he ran out the room. I later discovered that my trainers were missing and another laptop had been stolen from a different room! I wouldnt recommend this place to my anyone. Very unfriendly and unpleasant staff doesnt make things any better.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Martin McCormack

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: The colour scheme inside was awesome, Very clean inside. Top marks

Disliked: N/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right in the middle of the Red Light District, fairly clean, comfortable beds

Disliked: the staff were not particularly welcoming or helpful

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff super friendly and pleasant.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Erica Johnston

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Erica would recommend this property

Liked: It was everything we were expecting for the money we paid. It was in a great location for touring and easily found, the heating levels were good, the beds and sheets were clean and towels were provided for showering. Not forgetting free wifi, ample hot water and good water pressure, locker facilities and a generous breakfast spread for only three euros - well worth it.

Disliked: The stairs are a bit steep and narrow, which is a bit of a drawback when one is returning from exploring the city's nightlife!! Otherwise I have no other dislikes

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

31 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and it was clean.

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff were friendly, everything just as expected.

Disliked: The batrooms are not very spacious. And the doors squeeking were driving us mad.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Saimonas Grabauskas

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

18 September 2013 Saimonas would recommend this property

Liked: location, staff helpful, nice room

Disliked: outside in the hostel is closed from 23 til 9 in morning, didnt like that

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2013

Liked: It is hard to recall anything redeeming about this property, but they did provide clean sheets and a towel.

Disliked: In a recent trip abroad I stayed at over 11 hostels and this was by far the worst. The staff was not friendly. The bathrooms looked like they had not been cleaned more than once every few months and the rooms were so disgustingly hot it was impossible to sleep. The windows would not even open more than a few inches to let in fresh air. We took the 655 am train to our next destination just to get out of the room!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

01 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, lots of fun, easy to meet other travellers (people hanging out in the back of the hostel smoking, or in front of the hostel... also smoking), relatively clean (the shower was a little clogged, but beds & bathroom clean), in the red light district, wouldn't recommend staying here for people who want quiet or peaceful

Disliked: No smoking inside, not many seats outside in the back (where everyone hangs out, had to sit on floor), construction outside woke us up at 8am on weekdays (very very loud)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jesse Kershaw

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

15 July 2013 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: This place is et up for the traveller looking for a good time. In the middle of the RLD. There is going to be a bit of noise outside and other guests are going to be enjoying all that is on offer. The rooms are cleaned daily and each bed has a locker.

Disliked: No fan in room meant it got very hot inside

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is 3 minutes walking to Dam Square.

Disliked: Construction on the canal. (City workers start so fraking early, don't plan on sleeping past 7 AM.)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, filled all the necessities, cool themed rooms.

Disliked: Too expensive!! Rooms were very dark and kind of gloomy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet people as a lone traveller. Clean fresh towels provided free daily. Clean, comfy (but hazardous to clamber into!) beds and clean bathrooms with hot strong showers. Stayed in an eight bed dorm, with a mix of other lone travellers, which was nice in order to meet people. Certainly a good place for a party in Amsterdam! Great location for taking a safe, late night stroll around the red lights, food, coffee shops and all. Really close walking distance from the central station (even though I arrived late at night it felt very safe, as long as being offered 'special services' does not bother you.)

Disliked: Not a place for a quiet night of sleep...certainly not for prudes, as it looks out onto the red light district in all it's seedy glory!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, Patio out back with beer in the vending and a friendly place to meet other travelers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just on the strip of the red light district and very close to major attractions.

Disliked: My iPod was stolen and there are some very creepy people

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Chris Wu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a good location close to many attractions and the train station. It was clean and the beds were nice and sturdy. Beds were made daily.

Disliked: It was a bit expensive, though the location was good. I lost a flashlight in the shelf beside my bed. It was hidden from plain sight and I had not used it when anybody else was around so somebody had to have the intention of looking through my personal belongings to find it. I suspect the cleaning staff took it as they did organize my shelf during the daily cleaning, but I could be wrong.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Foster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, new facilities, good lockers, great staff, red light district right out the front door.

Disliked: Nothing, toilet blocked in first room and we were offered a new room for the second night. Good service!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Las habitaciones eran muy limpias y los problemas que tuvimos (porque estábamos en una parte que estaban remodelado y se nos corto el agua y la electricidad unos minutos) fueron resueltos de manera muy expeditiva. El desayuno no estaba incluido pero era accesible y muy abundante.

Disliked: La habitación tenía poca luz. Puntualmente nuestra habitación era fría porque no le llegaba la calefacción.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was nice right by the red light district.

Disliked: Security left much to be desired. Other guests were openly doing cocaine in my room late at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sana Ghansar

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Sana would recommend this property

Liked: What we liked the most about this place was its location. We could walk to dam square and Amsterdam Central Station and back to our room to change, and out again. It was in the heart of the red light district, so there were always people walking even at late hours of the night, thus giving us a feeling of safety considering we were two ladies. Also the breakfast for 3 euros was worthwhile. Eating out would cost us nothing less than 7-10 euros per person. We got to the hostel earlier than the check in time, so they allowed us to leave our luggage in their storage area until our rooms were ready.

Disliked: Although the location made it worhtwhile for us, the hostel did have some issues. Our room was extremely dimly lit. The hostel has no elevator, but lucky for us our room was on the main level. However, there was construction going on right outside our window which made it loud. Also noise travelled from other rooms upstairs and one of the nights guys were partying upstairs because Amsterdam won some game, making it seem at times as if the roof was going to fall on us. We were so tired most of the time though, that inspite of the noisiness we were able to sleep. The first day we had ants in one part of the room, but the guy at reception was able to get rid of them using bug spray.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kevin Brandimarte

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 May 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the shower didn't drain properly. the room was noisy because it was right next to the street but that is expected for the location.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to get around.

Disliked: The cleanliness wasn't brillient fresh towels everday but they disnt clean the bathroom while i was here. The room i stayed in was very dark.