We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

79.0% Overall Rating

794 out of 927 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/09/2014)

Christina Kraus thinks…

"Well it was a nice idea having those theme rooms, but we were in the lord of the rings room and gollum was looking at us all night... not sure if thats good or bad... i liked the lockers. and if you…"

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.80

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
35.94 USD

Hostel 87.9% 1108 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
37.95 USD

Hostel 90.2% 316 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
63.25 USD

Apartment 82.2% 41 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
31.63 USD

Guesthouse 62.6% 225 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
20.11 USD

Hostel 91.5% 1298 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
12.02 USD

Hostel 71.8% 1145 reviews
Hostel Croydon
12.02 USD

Hostel 68.1% 413 reviews
Central Station Hostel
16.43 USD

Hostel 72.0% 196 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.0%

Overall Rating

794 out of 927 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
80.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 697 of 828 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 27 | 28   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, filled all the necessities, cool themed rooms.

Disliked: Too expensive!! Rooms were very dark and kind of gloomy.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to meet people as a lone traveller. Clean fresh towels provided free daily. Clean, comfy (but hazardous to clamber into!) beds and clean bathrooms with hot strong showers. Stayed in an eight bed dorm, with a mix of other lone travellers, which was nice in order to meet people. Certainly a good place for a party in Amsterdam! Great location for taking a safe, late night stroll around the red lights, food, coffee shops and all. Really close walking distance from the central station (even though I arrived late at night it felt very safe, as long as being offered 'special services' does not bother you.)

Disliked: Not a place for a quiet night of sleep...certainly not for prudes, as it looks out onto the red light district in all it's seedy glory!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location, Patio out back with beer in the vending and a friendly place to meet other travelers

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just on the strip of the red light district and very close to major attractions.

Disliked: My iPod was stolen and there are some very creepy people

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Chris Wu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was in a good location close to many attractions and the train station. It was clean and the beds were nice and sturdy. Beds were made daily.

Disliked: It was a bit expensive, though the location was good. I lost a flashlight in the shelf beside my bed. It was hidden from plain sight and I had not used it when anybody else was around so somebody had to have the intention of looking through my personal belongings to find it. I suspect the cleaning staff took it as they did organize my shelf during the daily cleaning, but I could be wrong.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ben Foster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms, new facilities, good lockers, great staff, red light district right out the front door.

Disliked: Nothing, toilet blocked in first room and we were offered a new room for the second night. Good service!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Las habitaciones eran muy limpias y los problemas que tuvimos (porque estábamos en una parte que estaban remodelado y se nos corto el agua y la electricidad unos minutos) fueron resueltos de manera muy expeditiva. El desayuno no estaba incluido pero era accesible y muy abundante.

Disliked: La habitación tenía poca luz. Puntualmente nuestra habitación era fría porque no le llegaba la calefacción.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was nice right by the red light district.

Disliked: Security left much to be desired. Other guests were openly doing cocaine in my room late at night.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sana Ghansar

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Sana would recommend this property

Liked: What we liked the most about this place was its location. We could walk to dam square and Amsterdam Central Station and back to our room to change, and out again. It was in the heart of the red light district, so there were always people walking even at late hours of the night, thus giving us a feeling of safety considering we were two ladies. Also the breakfast for 3 euros was worthwhile. Eating out would cost us nothing less than 7-10 euros per person. We got to the hostel earlier than the check in time, so they allowed us to leave our luggage in their storage area until our rooms were ready.

Disliked: Although the location made it worhtwhile for us, the hostel did have some issues. Our room was extremely dimly lit. The hostel has no elevator, but lucky for us our room was on the main level. However, there was construction going on right outside our window which made it loud. Also noise travelled from other rooms upstairs and one of the nights guys were partying upstairs because Amsterdam won some game, making it seem at times as if the roof was going to fall on us. We were so tired most of the time though, that inspite of the noisiness we were able to sleep. The first day we had ants in one part of the room, but the guy at reception was able to get rid of them using bug spray.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Kevin Brandimarte

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 May 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the shower didn't drain properly. the room was noisy because it was right next to the street but that is expected for the location.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy to get around.

Disliked: The cleanliness wasn't brillient fresh towels everday but they disnt clean the bathroom while i was here. The room i stayed in was very dark.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

David Hodkinson

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Personal lockers and plug socket for each bunk. Great bathroom facilities and an incredible shower!

Disliked: Blackout curtains. They are just not for me. This would be a plus for a lot of people though.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013

Liked: Decent beds and bed clothing. Clean bathroom.

Disliked: The ATMOSPHERE was TERRIBLE. Our bedroom was between the reception and a little patio with some empty/open rooms "under construction" where guys go to use drugs, start allucinating, talking disrespectfully and making A LOT OF NOISE. I finally got to sleep around 6 am when noise stopped. Yes, it is in the red light area but I consider hotels should have certain rules or at least mention that this kind of behavior is acceptable. The combination of dark blue and black colors does not help in the bedroom for having decent rest.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to everything.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

fiona barclay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 March 2013 fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, helpful staff. Nice spacious rooms. All themed which adds character

Disliked: In a eight bed dorm only one shower....made morning time very busy with everyone trying to use it.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Poor wifi, dim lighting

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: The theamed rooms were very unusual but good.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ali Dogan Erdogmus

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 March 2013 Ali Dogan would recommend this property

Liked: location is amazing, just middle of the red light district. rooms are clean and hot at he winter. bathroom and water is nice. free wifi, free towel.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Cheng

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the theme! The place was based off of movies, so each room was named after a different film. The internet was good and so was the overall place.

Disliked: The water in the showers was too hot or too cold. The hostel is also right next to the Red Light District, so be aware of the girls in the windows!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rich Venezia

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Rich would recommend this property

Liked: I was actually really nervous to stay at this hostel after reading some of the reviews, but I thought it was great! Beds were comfy, I was upgraded from a 12-bed to an 8-bed for nothing, staff were friendly enough, shower was clean, new towels everyday... Really not bad at all. Also, the shelf and outlet right above the headboard of the bed were SUPER helpful.

Disliked: Staying RIGHT in the heart of the Red Light District is a bit of a shock, so prepare yourself for that. Also, no kitchen or real common room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good for youngsters looking for a cheap, clean hostel in the Red Light District. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Our room was very dark

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean hostel right by Dam Square with helpful staff!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Conroy

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2013 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: great location for cofeeshops etc. right in the centre of old amsterdam. great vibe and surreal nightlife

Disliked: the stairs is very steep! haha

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Rooms were comfitable and had plenty of space

Disliked: It was very noisey - this could be because of the location, it was central which was great, but that meant that there was alot of people walking outside and their noice just travelled into our room (we were on the top floor and it was still very very noisey).

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very central and close to main station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.