We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

78.9% Overall Rating

815 out of 951 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2015)

"The location is amazing, right in the centre of the red light district and only a five minute walk to Dam Square. The bedding and rooms are clean and every person gets a light a d plug point to charge phones."

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
41.65 USD

Hostel 93.3% 1136 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
33.32 USD

Hostel 91.0% 322 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
55.53 USD

Apartment 81.9% 42 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
43.31 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 227 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
44.31 USD

Hostel 89.4% 1340 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
25.54 USD

Hostel 75.8% 1175 reviews
Hostel Croydon
27.77 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews
Central Station Hostel
24.42 USD

Hostel 79.1% 224 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

815 out of 951 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
81.6%
Value
73.6%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 714 of 852 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen is required

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luis Fernando Kolinger

23 April 2010

Liked: The staff is not halpful. The place is clean and nice. The location is really good, in middle of Red Lights Destrict

Disliked: Luis Fernando left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was well located right on the centre of the red light district. room were nice apart from the ones downstairs . there was a girls working at the reception from poland not so nice but the guys working at the reception over night were really nice people and very helpful. hotel was clean and safe. but i think there is room for improvement . Only 2 laptops for internet access. breakfast was okay for the price of 3 euros. like also the fact that they give clean towels every day. overall i enjoyed my staying meanly because of the location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ben Tapp

22 April 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location and novelty movie themed unique rooms but more expensive than some nicer rooms in the city.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location jusr near red light area and cheap price. i recommend this hostel to all of u who travel to amsterdam! the staff are very nice and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun place in the center of red zone but safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rocio organista galiano

09 April 2010 rocio would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the location, cleanliness and decoration of the hostel

Disliked: rocio left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Antonio Jesús Vaquero del Rosal

31 March 2010

Liked: The location is really good, just in the red light district. Theres only one key for room so you can imagine how it goes to get in there... The breakfast is very basic, nothing special and charge you 3€ more. I would recommend it but just in case The Youth Hostel is completely full, cause this one is the best of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Antonio Jesús left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, great people at the hostel, but staff we're generally very unprofessional and argumentative about getting things fixed in the room (ie. lights not working). Was not happy with the service provided by most employees, one lady was great though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mingxiao Fu

27 March 2010 Mingxiao would recommend this property

Liked: It is so good at this price and place!

Disliked: Mingxiao left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to both dam square and relatively close to train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Caceres Burgos

24 March 2010 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: exelente hostel!!!!!

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jade Boyd

18 March 2010 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked The Heart of Amsterdam, and on my next visit I will definately be staying there again. I loved the staff and atmophere and the rooms were great aswell for a hostel. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone! Worth the money!!

Disliked: Jade left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gennaro Simone

13 March 2010 Gennaro would recommend this property

Liked: particolarità delle camere, posizione

Disliked: Gennaro left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + Location was very good, right in the red light district and two streets behind Dam square. We (2 girls, 1 guy) felt safe during day and night. + 3 private bedroom on the upper level of the hotel. We had our own beds and own bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. Very nice and clean. Mind the steeps steps before getting to the upper level. We managed it, even with our heavy luggage. Totally worth it. - no breakfast at the moment we were there, but we got discount for that. At the corner there is a nice place to get some coffee and stuff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of Amsterdam - which actually means Red Light District, but girls doesn't to be affraid - it's more funny then scary to come back to the hostel around all that red windows. I wasn't affraid to walk there in the night - streets are full of people.The breakfast was great value - but they are going to stop serving it. Also staff was quite helpful.It was nice that there is bathroom separately for every room (so no lines in the morning), but ours was floated all the time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 February 2010

Liked: The whole place smells like weed, but what do you expect? Fantastic location, it's right on the main drag of the red light district, not too far a walk from the central train station. Beds okay, there's a TV in the room, but the bathroom was always gross. Breakfast included, you have it in the lobby. No individual keys, just one for the dorm so last one out drops it off at reception (not an ideal system, but something we've come across before).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Was able to take a nap in the middle of the day, not too noisy. Met cool people at night and the breakfast was decent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 February 2010

Liked: Breakfast was excellent, I have to admit, and it was impressive that we got clean towel every day. THe hostel is at the best possible location. Practically it IS in the red light district.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The whole place is as pictured. We stayed in the apocalypse now, themed room which had a tv and lockers for each bed and it's own bathroom, which was clean and fairly well kept. The cleaner came in everyday and made our beds and gave us clean towels. The free breakfast was perfect, lots of bread, cereal and cheese and meats, with endless supplies of tea and coffee. If you aren't fazed by the red light district this location is ideal most things are within walking distance, we didn't even need to take trams. Thought this was a great place to stay for a few nights and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of it

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalie Berger

05 February 2010 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: THE GOOD: The rooms were very clean, the water pressure is incredible (although the water wasn't the hottest), the bathrooms are modern, the rooms are cleaned daily, new towels are provided daily, the bed set-up (with reading light, shelf, wall socket behind every bed) is excellent, location is very convenient, and the freebies: free wifi, free internet ( there's a laptop in the lobby you can use), free linen, free towels, free breakfast and free printing (just email them and they'll happily print them for you). The lockers in the room lock electronically (you get a little key).THE NOT-SO-GOOD: even though it was early Feb and early in the week, it was very noisy. We had a bunch of really loud people up at all hours shouting, laughing and playing music in the room next to us and the paper thin walls meant we heard everything. There are lockers in the room, but they cost €5 (plus a €5 deposit) which I would have liked to know beforehand AND they are ridiculously long and narrow (useless unless you've got a suitcase; no chance of any backpacks fitting). Also, there's only one key per room, so the last person to leave the room has to lock up and drop it off at the desk (actually it didn't cause any problems; plus, there's always someone at the front desk if someone does walk off with it by accident). I stayed in a private room on the last night and beyond not having to share it, there were no additional perks, so unless privacy is a big deal for you or there are three of you, the shared rooms are better value.

Disliked: Nathalie left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely themed rooms, smelt a bit like cigarette at sometimes, prob due to the thin rooms, but overall a good place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.