We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Heart of Amsterdam

Hostel | Oudezijds Achterburgwal 120, Amsterdam, Netherlands 1012DT

82.4% Overall Rating

821 out of 958 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/06/2015)

"The location is amazing, right in the centre of the red light district and only a five minute walk to Dam Square. The bedding and rooms are clean and every person gets a light a d plug point to charge phones."

Read all Heart of Amsterdam reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

*The hotel reserves the right to pre-authorize credit cards 10 days prior to arrival. In case of declined credit card your reservation is not guaranteed The city tax will increase to 5.5% from 1st January 2013, and need to pay on arrival upon check-in. Customers can cancel their reservation free of charge up to 2 days before arrival (local time 0:00 o’clock). Payments made to HostelBookers are non-refundable. We accept groups of maximum 20 people. Reservation comes with more than 20 people, the hotel reserves right to cancel the reservation and no refund for deposit. Thus, please contact hotel first before you book for a larger group.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Amsterdam

The Bulldog Hotel Amsterdam
42.07 USD

Hostel 90.1% 1141 reviews
Amsterdam Cribs B&B
33.65 USD

Hostel 90.6% 323 reviews
Ultraviolet studios
56.09 USD

Apartment 81.9% 42 reviews
Maggy's Guesthouse
39.26 USD

Guesthouse 59.8% 231 reviews
St. Christopher's Inn-The Winston
35.79 USD

Hostel 85.6% 1348 reviews
The White Tulip Hostel
22.44 USD

Hostel 73.3% 1184 reviews
Hostel Croydon
20.19 USD

Hostel 63.4% 435 reviews
Central Station Hostel
22.43 USD

Hostel 76.0% 228 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

821 out of 958 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Heart of Amsterdam'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 719 of 859 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | … | 28 | 29   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: laptops with internet, location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorm rooms are great and even have tv! Dorm ensuite is excellent with fantastic shower. Good lockers but a little too small for luggage. Free wifi in room is great. Each bed has personal power point and bed light.But why only one key for the room? Means anyone can just walk in at night. This is ridiculous! Install key cards ASAP!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price, was more than 5 minutes walking from central station though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and relaxed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

26 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not too plush to want to stay in, which is the whole point of going to Amsterdam!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen is required

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Luis Fernando Kolinger

23 April 2010

Liked: The staff is not halpful. The place is clean and nice. The location is really good, in middle of Red Lights Destrict

Disliked: Luis Fernando left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel was well located right on the centre of the red light district. room were nice apart from the ones downstairs . there was a girls working at the reception from poland not so nice but the guys working at the reception over night were really nice people and very helpful. hotel was clean and safe. but i think there is room for improvement . Only 2 laptops for internet access. breakfast was okay for the price of 3 euros. like also the fact that they give clean towels every day. overall i enjoyed my staying meanly because of the location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Ben Tapp

22 April 2010 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Great central location and novelty movie themed unique rooms but more expensive than some nicer rooms in the city.

Disliked: Ben left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location jusr near red light area and cheap price. i recommend this hostel to all of u who travel to amsterdam! the staff are very nice and helpful!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun place in the center of red zone but safe

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rocio organista galiano

09 April 2010 rocio would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the location, cleanliness and decoration of the hostel

Disliked: rocio left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Antonio Jesús Vaquero del Rosal

31 March 2010

Liked: The location is really good, just in the red light district. Theres only one key for room so you can imagine how it goes to get in there... The breakfast is very basic, nothing special and charge you 3€ more. I would recommend it but just in case The Youth Hostel is completely full, cause this one is the best of Amsterdam.

Disliked: Antonio Jesús left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms, great people at the hostel, but staff we're generally very unprofessional and argumentative about getting things fixed in the room (ie. lights not working). Was not happy with the service provided by most employees, one lady was great though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mingxiao Fu

27 March 2010 Mingxiao would recommend this property

Liked: It is so good at this price and place!

Disliked: Mingxiao left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to both dam square and relatively close to train station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Caceres Burgos

24 March 2010 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: exelente hostel!!!!!

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jade Boyd

18 March 2010 Jade would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked The Heart of Amsterdam, and on my next visit I will definately be staying there again. I loved the staff and atmophere and the rooms were great aswell for a hostel. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone! Worth the money!!

Disliked: Jade left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gennaro Simone

13 March 2010 Gennaro would recommend this property

Liked: particolarità delle camere, posizione

Disliked: Gennaro left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: + Location was very good, right in the red light district and two streets behind Dam square. We (2 girls, 1 guy) felt safe during day and night. + 3 private bedroom on the upper level of the hotel. We had our own beds and own bathroom with shower, sink and toilet. Very nice and clean. Mind the steeps steps before getting to the upper level. We managed it, even with our heavy luggage. Totally worth it. - no breakfast at the moment we were there, but we got discount for that. At the corner there is a nice place to get some coffee and stuff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right in the centre of Amsterdam - which actually means Red Light District, but girls doesn't to be affraid - it's more funny then scary to come back to the hostel around all that red windows. I wasn't affraid to walk there in the night - streets are full of people.The breakfast was great value - but they are going to stop serving it. Also staff was quite helpful.It was nice that there is bathroom separately for every room (so no lines in the morning), but ours was floated all the time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 February 2010

Liked: The whole place smells like weed, but what do you expect? Fantastic location, it's right on the main drag of the red light district, not too far a walk from the central train station. Beds okay, there's a TV in the room, but the bathroom was always gross. Breakfast included, you have it in the lobby. No individual keys, just one for the dorm so last one out drops it off at reception (not an ideal system, but something we've come across before).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean. Was able to take a nap in the middle of the day, not too noisy. Met cool people at night and the breakfast was decent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.