HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travel Hostel Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Beursstraat 23, 1012JV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 59%

Location 97%

Safety 66%

Staff 59%

Value 69%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Microwave
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.24USD

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5%
Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.
The hostel reserves the right to charge a 50€ fine if guests are smoking inside the rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 61%

Cleanliness 61%

Facilities 59%

Location 97%

Safety 66%

Staff 59%

Value 69%

Showing 71-80 of 103 reviews

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping

Liked: The location is the only positive attribute.

Disliked: The place is really nasty in general. I was in a 10 person room with one toilet and two showers. The toilet area looked and smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. I chose not to shower as I was just there for one night. I was skeptical with how clean the beds were, but they appeared to be ok. I just wouldn't stay here if you have a better choice. It's not even worth it's cheap price.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: property was in the heart of Amsterdam, very close to all of the major coffee shops and attractions such as madame Tussaud, The famous ice bar and many more. the hotel is basic however the staff are helpful at all times and make sure my stay was the best it could be. the rooms were clean and towels are provided just call reception and they will bring them to your room. i would definitely stay in this Hotel again.

Disliked: the stairs are very steep however this isn't the hotel's fault as well as the church bells at 8am every morning. the windows don't open out so you couldn't really see much of the street. i slept peacefully every night. then private bathroom was very small.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location

Disliked: Small, but perfect for a night or two just passing through

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Close to the station and center of Amsterdam

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: 10 bed dorm was clean as was its en suite bathroom. Location is very close to the Central train station and only 6 or so minutes to walk. Good wifi in the lobby.

Disliked: The lounge is also the bar so not a very inviting atmosphere if you just want to chill out in the evening. My room had a toilet/shower and a shower. Just 1 toilet was not enough for everyone, especially if the 2 showers were being used, as was the case in the morning. The toilet in the lounge/bar had really sticky floors which I didn't want to think too much about.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It was a bed for the night while we went out to explore the city, there was nothing to complain about. The property does exactly what it says on the tin. Right in the middle of all the action. Can get a bit loud at night, but who goes to Amsterdam to sleep?!Room was fine, linen was fine, cleaner than I expected after reading previous reviews too.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: - proximity to Amsterdam Central Train station (5 min away)- near lots of Amsterdam's main attractions- reception opens 24/7, no lock out- safe & clean place

Disliked: - the receptionist at check-in seemed overwhelmed --> was unfriendly- doors squeaking,- church bell ringing every 1/2 hour from 9 am,- Wifi not working on the 4th floor (where I stayed)

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is good, very close to the central station and the city center.

Disliked: Too small and not enough space in the room. Very noisy outside when people walk around or walk upstairs and downstairs. Only one washroom and one shower on each floor and to be shared for the whole floor people

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Internet only in lobbyNo elevator (you can be on the 5th floor)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability