HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travel Hostel Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Beursstraat 23, 1012JV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 62%

Location 97%

Safety 69%

Staff 62%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Microwave
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.24USD

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5%
Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.
The hostel reserves the right to charge a 50€ fine if guests are smoking inside the rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 62%

Location 97%

Safety 69%

Staff 62%

Value 71%

Showing 61-70 of 105 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the location! It was walking distance to everything and easy to find. the staff were also very nice and helpful despite the fact that they were very busy.

Disliked: our room was on the top floor and it was unbelievably hot. I am not sure if this is something that can be changed or if it is just the way it is but it was very uncomfortable. oh and a mat for the bathroom floor would be very useful so that it isnt soaking wet after everyone has taken a shower.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is really in Montmartre (not just close or nearby) and is really close to Lamarck-Coulaincourt metro station.

Disliked: It's a too quiet hostel, it's just to sleep, there's no a good or common area like a bar or a tv room or something else.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: 2 minutes walk from the train station. Good mattresses, good showers

Disliked: Really tiny rooms, few toilets and showers per floor. No elevators. 5th floor, under roof, very hot in july. All noise from hallways in the rooms.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really close to central amsterdam station, really easy to find.

Disliked: Room was horribly cramped, the place had no character.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great, staff are friendly and are always available at the lobby. Internet is reliable where it covers.

Disliked: the narrow stairs, as usual. and the WiFi did not cover our room which is in the 5th floor.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Walls and pillows were dirty

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Too expensive for the overall experience. Room was not clean prior to my arrival.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: - Location : 5mn from central station- The room was surprisingly clean (beds and toilets) !- Near all accomodationsWe had last minute cancellations and we were supposed to have a private 8 bed room. They were very understanding and we took a private 5 bed room without extra charges or cancellation fee.I recommand this hostel to everyone !!

Disliked: - No Wifi in the room, you need to go to the lobby

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: location

Disliked: rat in the dorm

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping

Liked: The location is the only positive attribute.

Disliked: The place is really nasty in general. I was in a 10 person room with one toilet and two showers. The toilet area looked and smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks. I chose not to shower as I was just there for one night. I was skeptical with how clean the beds were, but they appeared to be ok. I just wouldn't stay here if you have a better choice. It's not even worth it's cheap price.

Check Availability