HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travel Hotel Amsterdam Hostel

Beursstraat 23, 1012JV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 62%

Location 97%

Safety 73%

Staff 70%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.43USD

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5%
Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 64%

Facilities 62%

Location 97%

Safety 73%

Staff 70%

Value 74%

Showing 51-60 of 110 reviews

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Bed done upfront. Man in reception told me that there is one place where you can eat breakfast for 1 euro before 10am. Free 2 computers in the common area.

Disliked: They did not mentioned that common area is tiny and with small window. They served hot boiling water if asked but charged 2 euros per coffee or tea bag- that is very expensive indeed!!!! Very tiny room and tiny toilet. Very small shower0 I had to stand in the shower to open the room door! Room extremely small no chair or table and I slept on the upper bunk bed so could not seat anywhere during the day (sitting in the common area was not very good idea as I was sleeping on the 5th floor). Bed had no rails and no trails to climb, was difficult to climb and go down the bed. Very laud in the common area. Very expensive, would not choose the place again.

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the price and location

Disliked: the toilet and bathrooms were dirty most of the time.the staff was not very helpful and wasn't willing to help me when i asked for directions in the city, nor when i asked to leave my luggage for the day right after i checked out!!!they were not very kind!

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Loved the location sure cant be beaten, the grasshopper right on your doorstep!!!

Disliked: 5th floor!!! I read the reviews and thought no they cant be that bad but trust me they are!! However it added to the fun but by the forth night it wasnt fun anymore after a long hard day in the coffee shops!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was great as it was 5 minutes from the central train station, and at the heart of all the night life

Disliked: The Lady on reception was quite rude to us when we queried the cost. Very poor customer service however this may just have been a one off.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: The stairs were very steep - a lift is definitely needed especially if you have to carry heavy luggage up the stairs. Two of the windows in the room did not open. The room was ridiculously hot and you should not be charging people to use a fan. The plug sockets were in very awkward places and there weren't really enough. The bins were not emptied which resulted in a very very messy room by the end of the week. Very rude staff.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I loved the location! It was walking distance to everything and easy to find. the staff were also very nice and helpful despite the fact that they were very busy.

Disliked: our room was on the top floor and it was unbelievably hot. I am not sure if this is something that can be changed or if it is just the way it is but it was very uncomfortable. oh and a mat for the bathroom floor would be very useful so that it isnt soaking wet after everyone has taken a shower.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is really in Montmartre (not just close or nearby) and is really close to Lamarck-Coulaincourt metro station.

Disliked: It's a too quiet hostel, it's just to sleep, there's no a good or common area like a bar or a tv room or something else.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: 2 minutes walk from the train station. Good mattresses, good showers

Disliked: Really tiny rooms, few toilets and showers per floor. No elevators. 5th floor, under roof, very hot in july. All noise from hallways in the rooms.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really close to central amsterdam station, really easy to find.

Disliked: Room was horribly cramped, the place had no character.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location is great, staff are friendly and are always available at the lobby. Internet is reliable where it covers.

Disliked: the narrow stairs, as usual. and the WiFi did not cover our room which is in the 5th floor.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability