HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travel Hostel Amsterdam Amsterdam Hostel

Beursstraat 23, 1012JV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 62%

Location 97%

Safety 69%

Staff 62%

Value 71%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Iron / Ironing Board"
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Microwave
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wake-up calls
  • WiFi

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.26USD

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5%
Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.
The hostel reserves the right to charge a 50€ fine if guests are smoking inside the rooms.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 63%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 62%

Location 97%

Safety 69%

Staff 62%

Value 71%

Showing 31-40 of 105 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was very helpful and friendly. Excellent location.

Disliked: I didn't really having to buzz to get in at the end of the night. Good for security I guess though.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They had written our reservation down incorrectly (only held one bed, when we had reserved 2) but the girl at the desk was very apologetic and helpful. We ended up being split between two rooms but it could have ended much more poorly.

Disliked: I was in a six person room with a bathroom in the room, but because people were sleeping at different times I didn't get to take advantage of it and had to use the hall bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only one thing is ok about this place - it is located very close to the centre, old city and the central railway station

Disliked: Room for 4 persons is extremely cramped. Wifi is working periodically only on the groundfloor, not working at all on other floors...Receptionist is a barman at the same time, so when somebody is checking-in you can't get a coffee, it could take even 20-30 min... there are no lockers in a rooms and if you have some valuables you can't leave them in a room, cause there is an info on a stickers on a wall that admistrators of this hotel are not responsible for valuables which are stolen, or lost. There is no kitchen and no food you could buy....That place shouldn't be a hotel **, it is just a hostel, usual and not comfortable.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its location is good, near the central station and the city center. I went everywhere by foot. The price was ok comparing with other hostels. There's a bar on the first floor.

Disliked: The rooms are too small, the bathrooms even more! The shower drain was backed-up and there was a flood on the bathroom floor. Everything looked dirty and I think the staff doesn't even change the bed linen before the guests get there. They only have luggage room for those who just came, so if you check-out it's like you were never a guest.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was central and convenient to get to, bar to drink at, pool table was cool, very affordable, had discount voucher stand at reception for museums, tours etc, free wifi in bar area and computer to use

Disliked: Top bunk didn't have a ladder so had to use secret spider man skills to climb up, dried blood on blankets, shower wasn't ventilated and therefore smelled awful and slightly mouldy, receptionist was nice but was a bit confrontational at times (swearing at people and screaming), couldn't leave bags at the hostel when we were checking out - apparently they have a policy where people can only leave bags when checking in,

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The only aspect I like was the location.

Disliked: The rooms were disgusting. The sheets had clearly not been washed, there were things smeared on the walls, I heard rats scampering in the celling. The staff was incredibly rude. When I asked to cancel my reservation for the next two nights the lady at the front desk yelled at me and told me she wasn't going to deal with my problems. Worst Hostel I've ever stayed at.

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The billard table and the computers

Disliked: The aircondition didnt work, It did stink in every room,You couldnt fully open the windowsNo wifi in the rooms

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Closeness to center

Disliked: Worst receptionist I have ever met! I never want to come again.

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: The position, close to Cerntal Station and Dam

Disliked: We were at the 5th floor, with really small stairs, almost impossibile to go up with luggages. When we arrived there were worker man in our room using our bathroom. No hot water (only cold water on 31st of January...), and anyway the bathroom was too small to be used. We were in a room of 6 and the didn't have neither a second key to give us.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location

Disliked: The staff is very busy. She didn't sleep. Made a face when we ask for hot water, but when someone wants to buy a beer she put a smile on her face. Hypocrite.

Check Availability