HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travel Hotel Amsterdam Hostel

Beursstraat 23, 1012JV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 62%

Location 98%

Safety 74%

Staff 70%

Value 76%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.37USD

Important Information

Our bed rates are excluding breakfast and 5% city tax. Starting from January 2013 the city tax will be 5.5%
Your reservation is guaranteed with valid credit card details. We check the validity of your card by trying to get an authorization 7 days prior to arrival. This means we will freeze the costs of the first night on your card. If authorization cannot be obtained, we will contact you right away. If we do not receive a reaction from you, when we did not get authorization for your credit card, then your reservation cannot be guaranteed.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 66%

Cleanliness 65%

Facilities 62%

Location 98%

Safety 74%

Staff 70%

Value 76%

Showing 21-30 of 110 reviews

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping

Liked: Proximity to city attractions and transport.

Disliked: The laguage that I left under supervision of the reception staff when I had to wait for my room to be cleaned, was opened.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Central location.

Disliked: Unfriendly staff. Very cramped dorms. Free wifi only available in foyer and parts of the bar - such a slow connection is almost unusable.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Central position, kindness of staff, atmosphere, pub in the hostel (even if it hasn't a lot of choices).It's a good hostel for few nights.

Disliked: Dirty, narrow rooms. 40€ has been frozen in my credit card as key money, without knowing that.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I liked that it had a bar, and the drinks where cheap also the location was fairly central.

Disliked: There where mice running around and a we found one dead on the stair case, the bath room door was dodgy. Also the fire alarm kept on going off, once it went off in the middle of the night and took about 10minuets to turn off.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location

Disliked: WiFi not all over the place

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Sheet and blanket were not changed

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff was very helpful and friendly. Excellent location.

Disliked: I didn't really having to buzz to get in at the end of the night. Good for security I guess though.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They had written our reservation down incorrectly (only held one bed, when we had reserved 2) but the girl at the desk was very apologetic and helpful. We ended up being split between two rooms but it could have ended much more poorly.

Disliked: I was in a six person room with a bathroom in the room, but because people were sleeping at different times I didn't get to take advantage of it and had to use the hall bathroom.

Customer would recommend this property

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Only one thing is ok about this place - it is located very close to the centre, old city and the central railway station

Disliked: Room for 4 persons is extremely cramped. Wifi is working periodically only on the groundfloor, not working at all on other floors...Receptionist is a barman at the same time, so when somebody is checking-in you can't get a coffee, it could take even 20-30 min... there are no lockers in a rooms and if you have some valuables you can't leave them in a room, cause there is an info on a stickers on a wall that admistrators of this hotel are not responsible for valuables which are stolen, or lost. There is no kitchen and no food you could buy....That place shouldn't be a hotel **, it is just a hostel, usual and not comfortable.

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Its location is good, near the central station and the city center. I went everywhere by foot. The price was ok comparing with other hostels. There's a bar on the first floor.

Disliked: The rooms are too small, the bathrooms even more! The shower drain was backed-up and there was a flood on the bathroom floor. Everything looked dirty and I think the staff doesn't even change the bed linen before the guests get there. They only have luggage room for those who just came, so if you check-out it's like you were never a guest.

Check Availability