HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Amsterdam Hostel

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 68%

Location 82%

Safety 73%

Staff 74%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

We do not accept stag parties in the hotel. Stag parties will be refused upon arrival.

There is a cash-only deposit of 5 per per person. You get this back if you return your key on the day of check-out and if you check out on time.

For dorms, there's a maximum age of 35.

You must confirm your booking before 12 noon on the day of arrival. Even if you filled in a different arrival time you must call us before 12 noon to reconfirm your reservation. We reserve the right to cancel in case we don't hear anything from you by then! Please note that if you will be arriving later than the time you listed in your booking, you must contact us by telephone so that we can hold your reservation. If we haven't heard from you beforehand and you're late, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. No-shows shall be charged the equivalent of one night's stay. We will charge this to the credit card you used to make the booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 68%

Location 82%

Safety 73%

Staff 74%

Value 74%

Showing 81-90 of 90 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent location. Walkable distance to most main attractions in Amsterdam. Also has a bar which has a popular happy hour, and a fairly cheap, yet decent, restaurant AND free breakfast. Enjoyed my stay thoroughly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your great review! Great to hear you've had a fantastic stay in Amsterdam and at our hotel!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was really friendly and the hostel is very close to central Amsterdam.

Disliked: It was not sufficiently clean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, plenty of atmosphere and easy to find

Disliked: Beds were not too comfortable

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your great review!

Remember us for your next visit to Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Breakfast good but dormitory quite noisy till night time since many young and teenagers were staying a lot. Beer happy time Heineken so cool. Room was quite hot. So we should open the window , mosquito a lot!

Disliked: Noisy, mosquito


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your stay at the Hans Brinker Hotel!

See you next time?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Th free breakfast in the morning is great with lots to choose from to eat.. Also the hostel is in a reasonably good location, 10/15 mins walk to city centre and closer to some attractions.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your review. Actually we are situated in the middle of centre (2 min walk to Leidseplein and in between of the famous canals).

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: central location, happy hour at the bar and long hours of the bar in the basement

Disliked: The hostel only provides the least necessary: in the rooms are only beds and lockers. There was not even a chair or some hooks in the bathroom to put your clothes.


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your review! We hope you've had a great stay in Amsterdam and at our hotel! Indeed we are a basic hotel, but we have everything you need for a stay in Amsterdam!

We hope to welcome you again soon at our hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: The hostel had pretty much everything you needed. They check your keys at the entrance so noone can get into the hostel without a key which made you feel safe. Free breakfast was really good. Lockers in the room was good. The bar has really cheap drink specials.

Disliked: The rooms were extremely basic. Free WiFi was only downstairs in the breakfast area.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Dana!

Thanks for your great review!!!

We hope to see you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It is big. The breakfast is good.

Disliked: No kitchen. Too noisy at night.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your review and we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hotel is in the city centre and includes breakfast, which at this cost is really great and nowhere else to find in Amsterdam.

Disliked: In the bathrooms could be hooks for towels. Since I traveled with my boyfriend I didn't like that we had separated beds and weren't able to push them together since the room was too small.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review! We hope you've had a great time in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: clean rooms, breakfast

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for your review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Check Availability