HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Amsterdam Hostel

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 73%

Location 90%

Safety 77%

Staff 78%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

We do not accept stag parties in the hotel. Stag parties will be refused upon arrival.

There is a cash-only deposit of 5 per per person. You get this back if you return your key on the day of check-out and if you check out on time.

For dorms, there's a maximum age of 35.

You must confirm your booking before 12 noon on the day of arrival. Even if you filled in a different arrival time you must call us before 12 noon to reconfirm your reservation. We reserve the right to cancel in case we don't hear anything from you by then! Please note that if you will be arriving later than the time you listed in your booking, you must contact us by telephone so that we can hold your reservation. If we haven't heard from you beforehand and you're late, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. No-shows shall be charged the equivalent of one night's stay. We will charge this to the credit card you used to make the booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 73%

Location 90%

Safety 77%

Staff 78%

Value 78%

Showing 71-80 of 81 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, clean and friendly staff. The hostel was a lot of fun and very easy to meet others.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: for the money very good

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Location, breakfast and services provided.

Disliked: The worst thing about this stay was the other guests. I often wondered if the fact that this was supposed to be "The Worst" allowed other guests to behave their worst.Also I would advise, if possible, that you take your own towels, as the ones provided are extremely small. But if you're backpacking I guess that doesn't matter so much ;)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Very close to nightlife and vibrant parts of the city. Friendly staff and plenty on offer to do and see. Rooms were great size with clean sheets and hot water. You cannot fault this hostel.

Disliked: Club in the basement of the hostel could do with a bit of an update. Not very enticing and always quiet. No real atmosphere.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This hostel is fun, good value and in a great position.

Disliked: Nothing major.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was relatively cheap and the location was within walking distance. To be fair, amsterdam is easy enough to walk from anywhere, but I would definitely recommend somewhere closer to this side of town, it's got cheaper food and it's more trendy I would say. The lockers in the room were good for passports etc, but won't fit a whole bag in. The reception staff were really helpful and the free breakfast has enough options to keep you going. Free luggage room was also good.

Disliked: The rooms are quite small, thin walls and the bathroom is small. The wifi is a bit cumbersome and doesn't reach the rooms but it works well enough in the bar/common room. Not much of an atmosphere at all but within the rooms people are friendly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review. Our hotel indeed is located in the middle of Amsterdam, just a few minutes away from the Leidseplein (entertainment area) and Museumplein (Museum area).

Our rooms are small but have everything you need during a stay in Amsterdam, including ensuite bathrooms.

We hope to see you again the next time you're visiting Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Most affordable property for this time of year. Great for a bed and a shower, but quite an old building and its facilities. Did the job!

Disliked: Didn't really dislike anything; my locker was broken but I just used my partners instead.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review! Great to hear you've had a fantastic stay in Amsterdam and at our hotel!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's close to most turistic places! Room is very cozy and the food is really tasty!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your review!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Excellent place,

Disliked: just wish they didn't make you leave for so long for cleaning and I wish check in was earlier.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your review!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I liked the area, full of cool trendy shops and cafes. The hotel is clean but very basic. The bar has a good atmosphere and the barman was friendly.

Disliked: I found the reception staff (two different girls) to be a bit odd - I can't say if they were just tired/stoned or just plain rude. They did the job but I couldnt say they were welcoming or friendly, a smile doesnt cost a lot! People have told me that the Dutch are not overly friendly to tourists but I did not find this to be true anywhere we stayed or visited except for this hotel which is a shame. My only real complaint is that wifi is not available in the rooms, only the bar, this is very inconvenient.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

We have free wifi at out bar, restaurant and our underground club.

We hope you'll think about us when planning a next visit to Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Check Availability