HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Amsterdam Hostel

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 66%

Location 82%

Safety 73%

Staff 73%

Value 73%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

We do not accept stag parties in the hotel. Stag parties will be refused upon arrival.

There is a cash-only deposit of 5 per per person. You get this back if you return your key on the day of check-out and if you check out on time.

For dorms, there's a maximum age of 35.

You must confirm your booking before 12 noon on the day of arrival. Even if you filled in a different arrival time you must call us before 12 noon to reconfirm your reservation. We reserve the right to cancel in case we don't hear anything from you by then! Please note that if you will be arriving later than the time you listed in your booking, you must contact us by telephone so that we can hold your reservation. If we haven't heard from you beforehand and you're late, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. No-shows shall be charged the equivalent of one night's stay. We will charge this to the credit card you used to make the booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 72%

Facilities 66%

Location 82%

Safety 73%

Staff 73%

Value 73%

Showing 71-80 of 90 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent value...

Disliked: Shower very tiny & check in time was correctly mentioned in website, as it says before 12pm , when we came 10am they told us to wait until12pm....

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review! Sorry about the arrival time issue: during high season it can be really busy so the rooms sometimes take longer to clean than usual.

We hope to see you again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good atmosphere. Cheap drink. Great fun

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your great review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Large with working lifts

Disliked: Little cold at night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

thanks for your review!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean rooms, Small toilets

Disliked: Common toilets very dirty

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

hi,

Thanks for your review. Our bathrooms get cleaned every day, but it can be that our guests can get the place messy after cleaning (when you share a dorm with other people).

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is really good :)

Disliked: I didn't feel safe to leave my suitcase there :(

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for your review! We do have a secured luggage room!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A great location, helpful staff and lovely rooms

Disliked: Lack of windows , bathroom was often smelly and unclean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! thanks for your review! Every rooms has windows, but they can't be opened really wide due to safety rules. Our bathrooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a dorm with other they can get the place dirty after cleaning.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the properties location, restraunt, staff

Disliked: no air conditioning in rooms and window only opens slightly

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! thanks for your review!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was good and a lot of young people seemed to have booked the same hotel! Cool atmoshpere

Disliked: The room was far too hot! We metled away during the night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your review! The rooms can get warm during summer, especially now (it's really hot in Amsterdam at the moment). Did you check our underground club and happy hour at the bar??

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: the reception stuff are really helpful and friendly and the club area is a good place for fun at night

Disliked: the facility, especially the lockers are too old to use


The property's response is

HI!

Thanks for your review!

See you soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was good and it is very clean despite the advertising suggesting otherwise. The en-suite bathroom was a welcome addition

Disliked: The breakfast is very poor and staff at reception didn't seem particularly helpful and the hostel lacked any real character or atmosphere and offered little chance to meet anyone else in the hostel. Not particularly cheap or exciting.


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review! About our prices, we are in fact one of the cheapest hostels in Amsterdam. Our free continental breakfast includes everything you need: coffee, tea, bread, cheese, meat, sweets, fruit, cereals and pancakes.

greetings,

Hans Brinker

Check Availability