HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Amsterdam

Hostel

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 76%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 80%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

Please note that you have to inform the Hostel of your arrival time before 12 am.
If you fail to do that your reservation might be cancelled.Please confirm your booking by phone.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 80%

Facilities 76%

Location 88%

Safety 83%

Staff 80%

Value 79%

Showing 61-70 of 95 reviews

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I liked the area, full of cool trendy shops and cafes. The hotel is clean but very basic. The bar has a good atmosphere and the barman was friendly.

Disliked: I found the reception staff (two different girls) to be a bit odd - I can't say if they were just tired/stoned or just plain rude. They did the job but I couldnt say they were welcoming or friendly, a smile doesnt cost a lot! People have told me that the Dutch are not overly friendly to tourists but I did not find this to be true anywhere we stayed or visited except for this hotel which is a shame. My only real complaint is that wifi is not available in the rooms, only the bar, this is very inconvenient.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

We have free wifi at out bar, restaurant and our underground club.

We hope you'll think about us when planning a next visit to Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location

Disliked: Check out time

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks! We do have the best location in Amsterdam :)!

See you soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was pretty convenient around 15 minutes walk from the city centre. Included breakfast, private bathrooms. The room was quite clean.

Disliked: There is very basic lobby/eating room/bar. Also, it's hard to get any information from the receptionists about the interesting spots in Amsterdam not because they are not helpful or willing to advise you - they're simply very busy with the check-ins.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!!

Thanks for your review.

Actually we are situated in the middle of the city centre (between the canals and within a 5 min walk to entertainment area Leidseplein). About our receptionists: during checkin and checkout time it can be really busy at reception. If you would like recommendations about Amsterdam you can go to the bar for questions and information.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent value...

Disliked: Shower very tiny & check in time was correctly mentioned in website, as it says before 12pm , when we came 10am they told us to wait until12pm....

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review! Sorry about the arrival time issue: during high season it can be really busy so the rooms sometimes take longer to clean than usual.

We hope to see you again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good atmosphere. Cheap drink. Great fun

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your great review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals

Liked: Large with working lifts

Disliked: Little cold at night

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

thanks for your review!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Clean rooms, Small toilets

Disliked: Common toilets very dirty

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

hi,

Thanks for your review. Our bathrooms get cleaned every day, but it can be that our guests can get the place messy after cleaning (when you share a dorm with other people).

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is really good :)

Disliked: I didn't feel safe to leave my suitcase there :(

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! Thanks for your review! We do have a secured luggage room!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: A great location, helpful staff and lovely rooms

Disliked: Lack of windows , bathroom was often smelly and unclean

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! thanks for your review! Every rooms has windows, but they can't be opened really wide due to safety rules. Our bathrooms get cleaned every day, but when you share a dorm with other they can get the place dirty after cleaning.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the properties location, restraunt, staff

Disliked: no air conditioning in rooms and window only opens slightly

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi! thanks for your review!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Check Availability