HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel Amsterdam Hostel

Kerkstraat 136-138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 68%

Location 82%

Safety 73%

Staff 74%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Nightclub
  • Postal Service
  • Restaurant
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Towels Included
  • Vending Machines

Important Information

We do not accept stag parties in the hotel. Stag parties will be refused upon arrival.

There is a cash-only deposit of 5 per per person. You get this back if you return your key on the day of check-out and if you check out on time.

For dorms, there's a maximum age of 35.

You must confirm your booking before 12 noon on the day of arrival. Even if you filled in a different arrival time you must call us before 12 noon to reconfirm your reservation. We reserve the right to cancel in case we don't hear anything from you by then! Please note that if you will be arriving later than the time you listed in your booking, you must contact us by telephone so that we can hold your reservation. If we haven't heard from you beforehand and you're late, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. No-shows shall be charged the equivalent of one night's stay. We will charge this to the credit card you used to make the booking.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Amsterdam?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 75%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 68%

Location 82%

Safety 73%

Staff 74%

Value 74%

Showing 61-70 of 88 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: This hostel is fun, good value and in a great position.

Disliked: Nothing major.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It was relatively cheap and the location was within walking distance. To be fair, amsterdam is easy enough to walk from anywhere, but I would definitely recommend somewhere closer to this side of town, it's got cheaper food and it's more trendy I would say. The lockers in the room were good for passports etc, but won't fit a whole bag in. The reception staff were really helpful and the free breakfast has enough options to keep you going. Free luggage room was also good.

Disliked: The rooms are quite small, thin walls and the bathroom is small. The wifi is a bit cumbersome and doesn't reach the rooms but it works well enough in the bar/common room. Not much of an atmosphere at all but within the rooms people are friendly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review. Our hotel indeed is located in the middle of Amsterdam, just a few minutes away from the Leidseplein (entertainment area) and Museumplein (Museum area).

Our rooms are small but have everything you need during a stay in Amsterdam, including ensuite bathrooms.

We hope to see you again the next time you're visiting Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Most affordable property for this time of year. Great for a bed and a shower, but quite an old building and its facilities. Did the job!

Disliked: Didn't really dislike anything; my locker was broken but I just used my partners instead.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review! Great to hear you've had a fantastic stay in Amsterdam and at our hotel!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's close to most turistic places! Room is very cozy and the food is really tasty!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your review!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Excellent place,

Disliked: just wish they didn't make you leave for so long for cleaning and I wish check in was earlier.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your review!

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

49% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
49% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: I liked the area, full of cool trendy shops and cafes. The hotel is clean but very basic. The bar has a good atmosphere and the barman was friendly.

Disliked: I found the reception staff (two different girls) to be a bit odd - I can't say if they were just tired/stoned or just plain rude. They did the job but I couldnt say they were welcoming or friendly, a smile doesnt cost a lot! People have told me that the Dutch are not overly friendly to tourists but I did not find this to be true anywhere we stayed or visited except for this hotel which is a shame. My only real complaint is that wifi is not available in the rooms, only the bar, this is very inconvenient.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

We have free wifi at out bar, restaurant and our underground club.

We hope you'll think about us when planning a next visit to Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Location

Disliked: Check out time

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks! We do have the best location in Amsterdam :)!

See you soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location was pretty convenient around 15 minutes walk from the city centre. Included breakfast, private bathrooms. The room was quite clean.

Disliked: There is very basic lobby/eating room/bar. Also, it's hard to get any information from the receptionists about the interesting spots in Amsterdam not because they are not helpful or willing to advise you - they're simply very busy with the check-ins.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!!

Thanks for your review.

Actually we are situated in the middle of the city centre (between the canals and within a 5 min walk to entertainment area Leidseplein). About our receptionists: during checkin and checkout time it can be really busy at reception. If you would like recommendations about Amsterdam you can go to the bar for questions and information.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent value...

Disliked: Shower very tiny & check in time was correctly mentioned in website, as it says before 12pm , when we came 10am they told us to wait until12pm....

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi,

Thanks for your review! Sorry about the arrival time issue: during high season it can be really busy so the rooms sometimes take longer to clean than usual.

We hope to see you again soon!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good atmosphere. Cheap drink. Great fun

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!

Thanks for your great review! We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at our hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker

Check Availability